Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1091 (WSJ Marrakesh Pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1979 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 53 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/2/09 10:41 AM
Last Updated:11/2/09 6:17 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moushka said...
Usual great review, Debbie. The pants look fantastic on you. Your reviews are so inspiring to this 'curvy girl'. Thank you.
11/2/09 10:57 AM
pterion said...
Nice looking pants, beautifully made (as always). Thanks for the review!
11/2/09 11:10 AM
Mermie said...
These pants look great on you. Great review.
11/2/09 11:15 AM
sewbehind said...
These look great on you, Debbie. It's a nice change from jeans. I envy your warmer weather.
11/2/09 11:22 AM
Irene Q said...
As usual, great review - and great pants! Who know Hot Patterns would fit so well for "us"!
11/2/09 11:45 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Thanks for the reveiw on this pattern - one more I *need* to buy....sigh. Your pants turned out great!
11/2/09 12:08 PM
sew obsessed said...
Wow Debbie, great fit! The back looks fabulous! I just bought a copy of this one so this review will be very helpful. Thanks.
11/2/09 12:33 PM
Elona said...
Great looking pants, Debbie! This pattern seems to be a real winner (and can I borrow your rear view mirror?)
11/2/09 2:18 PM
cindyann said...
This patterns has really gotten my attention lately. Very nice pants, Debbie. I just love your colorful facings.
11/2/09 3:10 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
What a GOOD "bum view"!! YOU know what I mean, Debbie :)
11/2/09 4:06 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Yowza, you got your money's worth with this pattern. The rear-view fit is impeccable! You're really skilled at getting the fit right. Nice to have moved that fabric from inactive stash to regular rotation in the closet :)
11/2/09 5:04 PM
OP Gal said...
Amazing fit, Debbie. I've only sewn one HP pattern, but I'm anxious to try another. Your success with this one has got me pumped!
11/2/09 5:19 PM
PVA said...
Oh, Wow! Way Coooool! I made pants out of a rayon/linen blend & only did the pre-shrink deal once. Flood Pants! (8^() (pout!) Ah well, live & learn.
11/2/09 6:48 PM
no7262 said...
They really look great! Nora :)
11/2/09 6:48 PM
michellep74 said...
I'm wearing my (still-to-be-reviewed) version of these pants today. LOVE this pattern. Your version looks great!
11/2/09 6:55 PM
stretch queen said...
I want your mirror :) Pants look great and it is good to see the pants on someone other than the cover model. They look great on you, they may look great on me.
11/2/09 6:56 PM
Nancy K said...
That is one good looking rear end Debbie! A really great flattering fit. There is nothing like a pair of washed linen pants for warm weather.
11/2/09 7:52 PM
Deepika said...
Those pants look awesome Debbie.
11/2/09 9:45 PM
emelle said...
very nice and informative review too...thanks
11/2/09 10:13 PM
Barbara V said...
Great looking pants, Debbie. Lovely fabric and nice details. Thanks for highlighting the Sandra Betzina fly construction. I will look that up.
11/3/09 0:02 AM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE your pants, Debbie, and I had not even noticed this pattern before. Now I feel like I MUST havew it, and I know another lady who will feel the same way (Karendee). What makes them so nice is the FIT: not so baggy as to appear sloppy, and yet STILL loose enough AND chic. By the way, why don't you send me that mirror of yours. I think I have a GREATER NEED for it than you do!
11/3/09 0:56 AM
katie lynne said...
As usual, a super duper review, Debbie! I've been wondering about this pattern. Thank you very much for the Curvy Girl comment. I'm in the same pattern range (actually more like self-basting), and I find it very hard not to get sucked into buying patterns that I think I can alter enough to make fit me. (I'm in denial that I don't look like I did in my 30s!) I'm with you about the comfort zone aspect--especially regarding pants! These pants are fabulous. I'm going to have to make some in linen; that sounds so luxurious.
11/3/09 2:01 AM
JudyP said...
Great pants, Debbie! I love this style of pants in the hot weather. The fit looks perfect!
11/3/09 6:57 AM
Rebecca D said...
You look great in these pants, just great. Thanks for such a helpful review.
11/3/09 7:01 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Thanks for the review. Awesome - as usual ;-)
11/3/09 7:04 AM
Pam Padilla said...
The photos are very helpful.
11/3/09 9:30 AM
Mufffet said...
Nice pants! Thanks for the review of this pattern - it does look comfy. I love your pockets.
11/3/09 10:26 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
These look awesome...I'm tempted to bite the bullet even more now! Dangit!
11/3/09 10:55 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
You do such wonderful reviews and such meticulous work, like the fun print on the inside of the waistband and fly. Thank you for sharing with all of us once again. These look great on you!
11/5/09 0:47 AM
Meredith P said...
Love seeing such beautiful sewing. These look great on you, Debbie. I've got my pattern, just waiting for time.
11/11/09 11:23 AM
Margaret said...
Very informative review! Great fit & I love the pockets!
11/11/09 12:19 PM
loti said...
I also live in So Florida and I think they look great for our weather. Good job!
12/27/09 11:10 PM
Lou05 said...
As a curvy girl I especially appreciate your review which is very helpful. They look great.
4/23/10 11:51 PM
radollrose said...
Is there a review higher than "very helpful", because this one deserves more! Thank you so much for all this information. My sister (a fellow curvy girl) is getting back into sewing and wants to try this pattern. With all of your hints, I think she can do it!!
4/13/11 6:33 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Self Drafted Pattern 197911-1004
photo
Review by Mimsy Boro... on 9/21/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1301 Robson Coat
photo
Review by Nelliethem... on 3/30/14
Read Review

McCalls 6733 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6733 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1678 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1678 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us