Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8407 thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1091 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/09 10:22 AM


See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuickFade said...
This is really a lovely skirt. Even though the pattern you used is out of print, there are many other patterns with a similar effect. I appreciate your styling of this garment with the wrap top and boots. Your outfit is inspiring because it is at the same time feminine, businesslike, upscale, bohemian, comfortable (if the boots are), authoritative, nonintimidating, washable, usable in all seasons (replacing the boots with sandals in summer) and appropriate for all ages. I really love it! I am nearly fifty, but I've never wanted to look frumpy, and most people think I'm a little younger. Balancing age-appropriateness with a desire for comfort and a youthful, stylish preference, this outfit has it all. The top can be used well with jeans as well. I have patterns similar to this and am now inspired to sew them up and put them to work. Thanks for this review! I'm going to try to make an outfit similar to yours except in my colors and no spiked heels. The heels look great, but if I can't walk a mile in a shoe, it's not for me. Wish I could figure out what would look good though besides the spiked boots. Yours look just right. Oh, also, I think this style (both skirt pattern and the whole outfit) would look good on a lot of different shapes and sizes. Kudos! Question: How important do you feel it is for this skirt to be constructed with a natural fiber fabric? I assume the wool's ability to flex and stretch vertically on the bias contributes to the lovely drape of this skirt. I'm always tempted to make a first version in cheap Walmart fabrics, but I know it's never going to look as nice as the version I make from the suitings I get from michaelsfabrics.com. Agreed or maybe not?
11/5/09 10:45 AM
Heatherrique said...
Beautiful ensemble, Barbara! You created a look that is chic, classic, and versatile. The top, skirt, boots, and every detail is showstopping!
11/5/09 10:57 AM
maidathome said...
I agree with everything the first commenter said. This a fabulous outfit and you look like you could go anywhere in it. Love love love the skirt.
11/5/09 11:05 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Love your outfit. Thanks for sharing it with us. I'm now kicking myself for passing up this pattern.
11/5/09 11:12 AM
Barbara V said...
Thank you for your comments! PopoAgie, regarding your question on fabric type, I notice there is not a word on the pattern envelope or instruction page for fabric suggestions, but I would think any type of light to medium weight fabric with soft hand and fluid feel would give good results. True confession on the boots - I've had them for several years, really love them, but can not "walk a mile" in them. For that I will change to lower heeled boots!
11/5/09 11:45 AM
Nan Kay said...
Great skirt and a really good look. Your wardrobe is coming together beautifully.
11/5/09 12:07 PM
marec said...
I loved the top the first time I saw it and now love it more paired with this beautiful skirt. You are an inspiration :-) (no pressure, huh?)
11/5/09 12:14 PM
Ann Smith said...
Barbara, stunning outfit. I love it. I have this pattern but haven't used it yet. I must. I see the fabric suggestions on the envelope are crepe and light weight denim. Your stretch twill is probably very similar to those.
11/5/09 12:46 PM
DorothyK said...
Stunning. This outfit is beautiful, but the skirt would look great with so many things, including a nice, cuddly sweater. You are such an inspiration. I'm going t have to make this skirt!
11/5/09 4:10 PM
Beek said...
Cute skirt. I have an old Vogue skirt pattern that is very similar to this. So flattering.
11/5/09 4:36 PM
Christas said...
Your wardrobe is so amazing. Everything is flawlessly sewn in the perfect style and fabrics. I love each garment you make. This skirt is so pretty! Do you ever make a wadder?!
11/5/09 4:57 PM
Amanda S. said...
This skirt is really pretty on you! I love all the interesting construction lines.
11/5/09 5:57 PM
Renren said...
This skirt and top are just so elegant and beautiful. I notice the colors of the fall foliage are still holding nicely and it makes the perfect backdrop for your outfit!
11/5/09 8:11 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Very nice!! :) PopoAgie is right -- even though this one is OOP, there are other skirts with similar "swish," and it's great to see how nicely a skirt with this shape can fit and drape. Thanks for the review.
11/5/09 9:33 PM
Raye Ann said...
lovely, Barbara! I have this pattern but have never made it up. I keep imagining it in some type of velvet.... but now maybe I will keep a stretch wool in mind.
11/5/09 11:59 PM
Fran S said...
Barbara, this is lovely on you! I have the pattern as well and hope mine turns out as nicely. I do have one question -- since your fabric is soft and has some stretch, did you tape the facings at the waist at all? I wasn't sure if the waist would stretch out at all without tape.
11/6/09 6:28 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you all for the comments. Fran S, I did not tape the waist area, but that is a good idea. I wore the skirt out last night and didn't notice any stretching or find it around my ankles which proves that it does work without tape, at least with my fabric.
11/7/09 10:49 AM
magoe6217 said...
Lovely, graceful skirt Barbara. Another winner. For those of you who fell in love with this skirt, as I did, you can order it on PR, and with a discount for members :-))
11/8/09 12:04 PM
digs57 said...
Wow, y'know, I love this look so much I went back 30 pages (!!!!) to find this skirt review again (thank you, B!). What a surprise: ever so happy to see it's not OOP after all!!!!
11/26/09 9:04 PM
digs57 said...
oops, duplicate - no idea how!
11/26/09 9:50 PM
Dris said...
I like your fabric choice and detail work. What is a "triple stitch"? Thanks!
12/31/09 11:42 AM
Barbara V said...
Dris, the triple stitch is a utility stitch offered on many sewing machines. Its function is for durability in attaching sleeves, sewing inseams, etc. Also in sewing stretch fabrics because of its forward/reverse/forward motion and finally for decorative stitching as was my use. For my fabric it was easier to use the triple stitch with regular thread in lieu of normal single stitching with topstitiching thread. Thank you all for your comments!
1/1/10 10:42 PM
Cultured Purl said...
Barbara~ it was YOUR mini wardrobe that inspired me to start working on one for myself for fall 2010( its April now so I am not expecting it in 4 weeks!) I think we have about the same body shape and may be about the same age ,so your style spoke to me~ I IMMEDIATELY fell in love with this skirt and it said BUY THIS PATTERN NOW before it goes OOP! I am a returning seamstress and have to get my skills back up there,, but I wanted you to know that I LOVED everything you made and that you inspired me to start keeping a notebook with fabric swatches , same as I did when we were building our home~ Always there and in my purse at the ready,,so no bad fabric purchases! Thanks for the ideas! You look fabulous in this skirt!
4/30/10 9:19 AM
Barbara V said...
celticfiddler, Thank you for your very kind and complimentary words which creates motivation and reminder for me to continue with the larger picture of incorporating wardrobe planning with sewing. It is really "PatternReview.com" that is at the heart of all this with such wonderful opportunities for members to participate, learn and share the knowledge and fun! Thank you! Barbara
5/1/10 12:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Butterick 5267 Tote Bags
photo
Review by genericear... on 9/21/09
Read Review

New Look 6433 Pattern
New Look 6433 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9497 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 9497 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6057
photo
Review by Jaloma on 2/8/13
Read Review

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 651 Pattern
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us