Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Drafted from RTW: 000002 (Jeans drafted from RTW) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 378 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Twinset
photo
Friend of PR
About Twinsetstarstarstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 9/15/07
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 124 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/29/09 4:00 AM
Last Updated:11/29/09 4:03 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
Wow! They look great! You did an amazing job of making this jeans! I am contemplating starting my first pair today! I really don't have the skills, but I'm going to gove it a whirl anyway! Nora :)
11/29/09 8:15 AM
Catbird said...
I am dizzy with admiration. These are impeccable. And so inspiring. I've got two favorite jeans that I've been in the process of copying but I keep laying them aside for other sewing projects that take my fancy. Now I'm inspired to get them done. The detail about the difference in the cut of the Jalie vs. the Italian jeans is so interesting -- I think that's a hallmark of the European cut that has a slimming effect. And using similar fabric to the original is so critical, but you were able to make the necessary adjustments to end up with that perfect fit. Your daughter's comment made me laugh. I do like the new width of the leg, so I think she helped you out with her honesty! Lucky you -- now you have two high end jeans patterns to play with. These are ouststanding.
11/29/09 8:55 AM
CarolynGM said...
These look like you plunked down $$$ for them. Great job.
11/29/09 9:42 AM
carolynw said...
Another great fit - these look like $$$$ jeans!!
11/29/09 9:46 AM
Barbara V said...
I'm so impressed with your jean making talent! These are fabulous as are the others that you have sewn and these even made from RTW. They fit perfectly and you look great in them!
11/29/09 9:53 AM
Christas said...
These are absolutely PERFECT! They look like very expensive jeans..... so impressive!
11/29/09 10:02 AM
Elke said...
Great looking jeans and you have a perfect fit!
11/29/09 12:12 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Congrats on a great job. Your pants look like very high-end RTW. Wish I had your shape. Thanks for the review.
11/29/09 3:02 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
re the "jeans growing" problem...could you cut the waistband on the straight of grain, reinforce it with interface, so at least that part doesn't expand after a few hours of wear?
11/29/09 9:19 PM
CatherineStar said...
Thanks for the excellent tip about having a pattern made of a favorite pair of Jeans! Makes so much since. Also, like you, I have apprehension about making my first pair of pants. With your recommendation of the Jalia Jeans pattern I feel very motivated to jump in and do it. Thank you.
12/30/09 7:51 PM
Barbara R said...
Love the jeans! I once read a tip on how to keep jeans from stretching so much. I haven't tried it yet myself. Basically if I recall correctly, the suggestion was to not prewash the fabric before cutting! Or if you would normally wash and dry twice, just do so once. Make the jeans, leaving extra length, and wash and dry again before hemming. Now they should be more snug when you put them on, so when they inevitably stretch while wearing, they will stretch to a size that is more like what you are aiming for. I would think this tip would work especially work when the fabric contains lycra. And there is also Claire Schaeffer's couture tip on pre-stretching (via ironing) the knee area of pants before laying out the pattern, so that area won't stretch out so much while wearing as well. HTH!
1/3/10 7:33 PM
Hilary said...
These are fan-TAS-tic!!! What an incredible job sewing these you did~the fit (& flare!) is perfect, too. Well done! (I love your vintage Singer, too!! what a steal!!)
1/14/10 1:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

No Pattern Used long scarf long scarf
photo
Review by Rosie who... on 9/27/05
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 104 Pattern
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Indygo Junction IJ730
photo
Review by Minnasews on 1/29/12
Read Review

McCalls 4963 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 4963 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2401 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
McCalls 2401 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $13.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us