SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Drafted from RTW> 000002 (Jeans drafted from RTW)

4 more reviews
Viewed 381 times 
Reviewed by:Twinset
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Twinsetstarstarstarstar
QC Canada
Member since: 9/15/07
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 131 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/29/09 4:00 AM
Last Updated:11/29/09 4:03 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
These are fan-TAS-tic!!! What an incredible job sewing these you did~the fit (& flare!) is perfect, too. Well done! (I love your vintage Singer, too!! what a steal!!)
1/14/10 1:59 PM
Barbara R said...
Love the jeans! I once read a tip on how to keep jeans from stretching so much. I haven't tried it yet myself. Basically if I recall correctly, the suggestion was to not prewash the fabric before cutting! Or if you would normally wash and dry twice, just do so once. Make the jeans, leaving extra length, and wash and dry again before hemming. Now they should be more snug when you put them on, so when they inevitably stretch while wearing, they will stretch to a size that is more like what you are aiming for. I would think this tip would work especially work when the fabric contains lycra. And there is also Claire Schaeffer's couture tip on pre-stretching (via ironing) the knee area of pants before laying out the pattern, so that area won't stretch out so much while wearing as well. HTH!
1/3/10 7:33 PM
CatherineStar said...
Thanks for the excellent tip about having a pattern made of a favorite pair of Jeans! Makes so much since. Also, like you, I have apprehension about making my first pair of pants. With your recommendation of the Jalia Jeans pattern I feel very motivated to jump in and do it. Thank you.
12/30/09 7:51 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
re the "jeans growing" problem...could you cut the waistband on the straight of grain, reinforce it with interface, so at least that part doesn't expand after a few hours of wear?
11/29/09 9:19 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Congrats on a great job. Your pants look like very high-end RTW. Wish I had your shape. Thanks for the review.
11/29/09 3:02 PM
Elke said...
Great looking jeans and you have a perfect fit!
11/29/09 12:12 PM
Christas said...
These are absolutely PERFECT! They look like very expensive jeans..... so impressive!
11/29/09 10:02 AM
Barbara V said...
I'm so impressed with your jean making talent! These are fabulous as are the others that you have sewn and these even made from RTW. They fit perfectly and you look great in them!
11/29/09 9:53 AM
carolynw said...
Another great fit - these look like $$$$ jeans!!
11/29/09 9:46 AM
CarolynGM said...
These look like you plunked down $$$ for them. Great job.
11/29/09 9:42 AM
Catbird said...
I am dizzy with admiration. These are impeccable. And so inspiring. I've got two favorite jeans that I've been in the process of copying but I keep laying them aside for other sewing projects that take my fancy. Now I'm inspired to get them done. The detail about the difference in the cut of the Jalie vs. the Italian jeans is so interesting -- I think that's a hallmark of the European cut that has a slimming effect. And using similar fabric to the original is so critical, but you were able to make the necessary adjustments to end up with that perfect fit. Your daughter's comment made me laugh. I do like the new width of the leg, so I think she helped you out with her honesty! Lucky you -- now you have two high end jeans patterns to play with. These are ouststanding.
11/29/09 8:55 AM
no7262 said...
Wow! They look great! You did an amazing job of making this jeans! I am contemplating starting my first pair today! I really don't have the skills, but I'm going to gove it a whirl anyway! Nora :)
11/29/09 8:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Simplicity 2812

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Burda 2843

photo
by: sfshaza

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

More Info
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

More Info