Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: OOP2065 (Fabiani '60s Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 260 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:hilaryr
photo
About hilaryrstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/24/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/3/09 6:15 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
I remember this pattern. A friend made it, and it looked so terrific that I decided to give Vogue patterns a try.
11/3/09 6:18 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
11/3/09 6:56 AM
no7262 said...
It does look very nice! And you can tell that a lot of work went into it! Don't be so hard on yourself! Nora :)
11/3/09 6:57 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful. The pattern envelope picture looks like a knit -- definitely something thicker, hence the more visible topstitching. Plus a bright color may have something to do with it. I love your version though!
11/3/09 8:01 AM
Marji said...
It looks very elegant on your dressform. I have this pattern and have long had plans to make it. Thanks for your review. I've always seen this, in my minds eye, in a wool double knit. I think it would help with the heft needed at the bib to highlight the topstitching, and it could be made without much wearing ease in order to reduce the potential maternity look. I appreciate the information about the excess wearing ease negating the necessity of your bust alterations. Good information to have. I agree, a muslin (toile) is a must for this design. I hope you are able to enjoy wearing it.
11/3/09 8:01 AM
Elona said...
How nice to see a review of this intriguing old pattern. I've never seen it made up before. You know, it does look remarkably like the photo, I think. But I agree that it would be worthwhile to try it in wool double knit. Back in that period, I made DMIL a lot of Vogues using that fabric, which was easy to find then. As I recall, it was easy to work with, too.
11/3/09 11:03 AM
MaryDB said...
Very elegant dress, nice work.
11/3/09 12:24 PM
Puppy said...
It may have been difficult, but "I" think the outcome looks GREAT! And no, no, no, you don't need to be size 8 to look good in it (I was a size 10 when I wore those styles; not any more! Enjoy being size 10 and keep making those cool vintage clothes!
11/3/09 1:21 PM
Anne S said...
I love your dress!! I made it back in the 60's for a fashion show at my church. I found the fitting a bit of a task. I needed to add darts to it to make it look ok. Mine was a deep shade of yellow. Thanks for the memories
11/3/09 5:40 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress!
11/4/09 6:57 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Beautiful dress!
11/4/09 8:18 AM
Karine said...
Fabulous dress. I actually like yours better. Very classic.
11/4/09 9:18 AM
nicegirl said...
That is fabulous! Sounds like a lot of work, but hopefully as the pain of all that work fades your joy in the dress will increase.
11/4/09 11:35 AM
Christas said...
Very classy dress!
11/4/09 6:32 PM
senaSews said...
The dress is awesome. Wow, i love it!
11/5/09 3:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 2860
photo
Review by SewersCoop on 6/24/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4914
photo
Review by becca a on 11/11/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1664 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1664 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6925 Pattern
Burda 6925 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us