SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1129 (MISSES' JACKET)

11 more reviews
Viewed 500 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 291
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 271
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/3/09 1:17 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
homejewel said...
Thank you so much for this very detailed review. It was very helpful and tells me where I need to mentally prepare before tackling this project. I love this jacket and because of my height will have to do quite a bit of modifications to the pattern. I will definitely be rereading this review again before I start on mine. Thank you again for all the effort and pictures!
11/3/09 1:49 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Love your coat and the color too. I wish I had used a lighter fabric. I am so glad I am not the only one who thought this wasn't easy. The procedures yes not the multiple steps. Just show me what your are doing next.
11/3/09 1:58 PM
Tailypo said...
Thank you for this incredibly detailed and thoughtful review. I love your results and intend to print this out when I take on this jacket!
11/3/09 2:03 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"Yikes!! "Highly recommended for master seamstresses", I say!! Would LOVE to see it "on" ya!!
11/3/09 2:13 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Great review . . . this one is in my "to do" pile, and your comments and recommendations are very much appreciated!
11/3/09 6:33 PM
marec said...
Great coat and terrific review!
11/3/09 9:05 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Thank you so much for sharing this sewing/fitting experience! Your new coat is lovely and I know you will enjoy wearing it. Your generosity in preparing this thorough review is very much appreciated!!!
11/4/09 6:00 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow, fantastic review. I make some of the similar pattern adjustments you make due to my being short. I have and want to make this pattern. I will be using your helpful review. Your coat is lovely, beautiful color. Please consider taking a photo and posting with you wearing.
11/4/09 7:04 AM
WJean said...
Thank you so much for this detailed and understandable review on a pattern that I requested for review. Your review with the inclusion of altered pattern pieces is one of the most helpful that I've read. While I appreciate all reviews and the effort to contribute and assist other sewist I do hope your inclusion of the altered pattern pieces is the beginning of a new trend for this site. As we know a lot of our problems constructing garments is found in the inability to effectively alter a pattern, and I cannot emphasize how encouraging your detailed review is. Oh, I almost forgot ;-> your coat is very pretty. I plan to make this coat after reading your review, as I do (finally admitted to it) need another dress coat. Off to check my fabric stash....
11/4/09 12:23 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks, everyone, for your very kind comments! Sweetiebop, I love your coat! I'm taking the online jeans class so Vogue 8202 might be next, but it is taking me a long time to get the fit right. Linda, I had several reviews to write and wanted to have SOME kind of photo for them, but I agree, a photo on me would be better and I will try to get one soon! Thanks again!!
11/4/09 12:55 PM
NJcowgirl said...
Awesome review. Thank you.
1/15/13 2:14 PM
loishendry said...
GREAT review and lovely coat. I too appreciated all the detail you added. I have just cut my coat out.
4/27/13 7:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Buy Now
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now