SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2845 (gathered neck peasant tops)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1234 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 224 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/09 1:05 AM
Last Updated:11/27/09 5:23 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JenniferBee said...
Another good one Belinda.
11/4/09 3:04 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Gorgeous top and great review. Can't wait to see a photo on you!
11/4/09 5:08 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great review. I've got this one somewhere and may have to pull it out again. What groovy fabric.
11/4/09 6:46 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty top, this is my favorite knit top, too.
11/4/09 7:45 AM
Quilt2Quilt said...
Very beautiful job.
11/4/09 8:04 AM
Amanda S. said...
What a cute little top!
11/4/09 8:25 AM
cindyann said...
I can see why it's a new favorite. The one reason I don't have this pattern is it's lack of sleeves. Now I see that shouldn't stop me. Love your version.
11/4/09 8:36 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
You tweaked this top perfectly! Very clever sleeve design--thanks for sharing that. Excellent review.
11/4/09 8:54 AM
marec said...
Love this top! Thanks for the cool tip about the opening for the ties.
11/4/09 9:02 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
I very much enjoyed your review. This pattern looks like a real winner; I'm pretty sure I'm going to have to buy it on the way home from work. I liked the addition of the sleeve, loved your fabric choice and enjoyed the well written description of your process. Thanks!
11/4/09 9:20 AM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful top and love your fabric. Looking forward to seeing it on you.
11/4/09 9:20 AM
sewbehind said...
I like everything you make and usually end up buying the patterns! Very nice, Belinda. I like the addition of the longer sleeve. Great work.
11/4/09 10:14 AM
lizagm said...
What a great top! I love your version
11/4/09 10:15 AM
mhk3boys said...
Wow! I really love your top!
11/4/09 10:34 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very pretty top!
11/4/09 11:45 AM
homejewel said...
I love your new top and see why it is a new favorite. The new sleeves really make it great! Maybe you can sell it to Kwik Sew :)
11/4/09 1:16 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Very cute...getting all new favorites for your new "body"? lol Great review as usual!!!
11/4/09 4:31 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
Thank you for this great review. I really like the way you write comments on your pattern pieces. I intend to copy this method.
11/5/09 9:36 AM
Barbara V said...
Great looking top. Your version is really nice!
11/5/09 9:42 AM
Lori V said...
Another great top.
11/25/09 6:13 AM
sewing for fun said...
Another great detailed review! I wish I could get hold of this pattern - been searching ebay and posted an ad here, but no luck. It is beautiful!
11/25/09 12:07 PM
Christas said...
Each one is very nice, but I love the newest one. That fabric is wonderful and makes such a pretty top!
11/25/09 12:26 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
I love this top too. The colors are great. It looks just lovely.
11/25/09 12:36 PM
sewbehind said...
Another lovely top! I will never get this OOP pattern now...;>)
11/25/09 6:16 PM
michalklimer said...
is is very pretty! I love it!
11/27/09 8:37 AM
Mrs.Moos said...
Dang it! Will you quit taunting those of us that can't find this pattern ANYWHERE other than to pay $25 to KwikSew for them to pull it out of their archives? Seriously, great job AS USUAL!
11/27/09 11:03 AM
Aixoise said...
You certainly achieved a great fit with your personalized alterations. This is a lovely, wearable top.
11/27/09 1:32 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
You look great! Lovely colour too. I love this top with sleeves, good on you for drafting your own. I borrowed sleeves from the KS wrap top pattern that has roughly the same number, so it came out around the same time. Lovely that the pivot and slide tech worked so well for you. How did you decide how much to add? I altered the conventional way, pivoting the dart along the neckline, then fiddled with the upper front length. It took a while. Congrats on figuring it out so fast! Wish you had been by my side when I sewed it!
11/28/09 2:36 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Katharine, for the FBA I just used my "usual amount". The same as I need for nearly all knit top patterns.
11/28/09 3:27 AM
glenj said...
I tried to buy this pattern today because of your recommendation ,but it is now out of print
11/28/09 5:46 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Like all 3 versions, Belinda. I have been taken to Frou Frou by my sis, yummy fabrics! Have you tried 06-2005-110? It is a woven BWOF top that some have made into knit tops and similarly has a bias lower front eased onto the bust. (v similar side view as your top) It may be more of a look for girls who need bust enhancement as it has gathers there.
11/29/09 7:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-116

photo
by: Merche

Review