SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2845 (gathered neck peasant tops)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1236 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 225 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/09 1:05 AM
Last Updated:11/27/09 5:23 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yummymummy38 said...
Like all 3 versions, Belinda. I have been taken to Frou Frou by my sis, yummy fabrics! Have you tried 06-2005-110? It is a woven BWOF top that some have made into knit tops and similarly has a bias lower front eased onto the bust. (v similar side view as your top) It may be more of a look for girls who need bust enhancement as it has gathers there.
11/29/09 7:19 AM
glenj said...
I tried to buy this pattern today because of your recommendation ,but it is now out of print
11/28/09 5:46 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Katharine, for the FBA I just used my "usual amount". The same as I need for nearly all knit top patterns.
11/28/09 3:27 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
You look great! Lovely colour too. I love this top with sleeves, good on you for drafting your own. I borrowed sleeves from the KS wrap top pattern that has roughly the same number, so it came out around the same time. Lovely that the pivot and slide tech worked so well for you. How did you decide how much to add? I altered the conventional way, pivoting the dart along the neckline, then fiddled with the upper front length. It took a while. Congrats on figuring it out so fast! Wish you had been by my side when I sewed it!
11/28/09 2:36 AM
Aixoise said...
You certainly achieved a great fit with your personalized alterations. This is a lovely, wearable top.
11/27/09 1:32 PM
Mrs.Moos said...
Dang it! Will you quit taunting those of us that can't find this pattern ANYWHERE other than to pay $25 to KwikSew for them to pull it out of their archives? Seriously, great job AS USUAL!
11/27/09 11:03 AM
michalklimer said...
is is very pretty! I love it!
11/27/09 8:37 AM
sewbehind said...
Another lovely top! I will never get this OOP pattern now...;>)
11/25/09 6:16 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
I love this top too. The colors are great. It looks just lovely.
11/25/09 12:36 PM
Christas said...
Each one is very nice, but I love the newest one. That fabric is wonderful and makes such a pretty top!
11/25/09 12:26 PM
sewing for fun said...
Another great detailed review! I wish I could get hold of this pattern - been searching ebay and posted an ad here, but no luck. It is beautiful!
11/25/09 12:07 PM
Lori V said...
Another great top.
11/25/09 6:13 AM
Barbara V said...
Great looking top. Your version is really nice!
11/5/09 9:42 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
Thank you for this great review. I really like the way you write comments on your pattern pieces. I intend to copy this method.
11/5/09 9:36 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Very cute...getting all new favorites for your new "body"? lol Great review as usual!!!
11/4/09 4:31 PM
homejewel said...
I love your new top and see why it is a new favorite. The new sleeves really make it great! Maybe you can sell it to Kwik Sew :)
11/4/09 1:16 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very pretty top!
11/4/09 11:45 AM
mhk3boys said...
Wow! I really love your top!
11/4/09 10:34 AM
lizagm said...
What a great top! I love your version
11/4/09 10:15 AM
sewbehind said...
I like everything you make and usually end up buying the patterns! Very nice, Belinda. I like the addition of the longer sleeve. Great work.
11/4/09 10:14 AM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful top and love your fabric. Looking forward to seeing it on you.
11/4/09 9:20 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
I very much enjoyed your review. This pattern looks like a real winner; I'm pretty sure I'm going to have to buy it on the way home from work. I liked the addition of the sleeve, loved your fabric choice and enjoyed the well written description of your process. Thanks!
11/4/09 9:20 AM
marec said...
Love this top! Thanks for the cool tip about the opening for the ties.
11/4/09 9:02 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
You tweaked this top perfectly! Very clever sleeve design--thanks for sharing that. Excellent review.
11/4/09 8:54 AM
cindyann said...
I can see why it's a new favorite. The one reason I don't have this pattern is it's lack of sleeves. Now I see that shouldn't stop me. Love your version.
11/4/09 8:36 AM
Amanda S. said...
What a cute little top!
11/4/09 8:25 AM
Quilt2Quilt said...
Very beautiful job.
11/4/09 8:04 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty top, this is my favorite knit top, too.
11/4/09 7:45 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great review. I've got this one somewhere and may have to pull it out again. What groovy fabric.
11/4/09 6:46 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Gorgeous top and great review. Can't wait to see a photo on you!
11/4/09 5:08 AM
JenniferBee said...
Another good one Belinda.
11/4/09 3:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-117

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

More Info
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

More Info