Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 3216 (one seam pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 7834 times 37 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/01 3:30 PM
Last Updated:9/22/02 12:51 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Thanks for the elastic tip - is the 4" rule used with all types of elastic ? How about with the LH Brussels skirt? I wish I had been able to watch the Sew Perfect series - I think I have read that it is no longer running - what a shame that I learned about it too late!
1/12/02 6:56 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika - are you long waisted? I tried this pattern and the crotch was too low.
1/13/02 3:56 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
not sure what you mean Glo. The crotch is a teeny bit low for me but its comfortable so I like it that way. Its very easy to alter the crotch, if you have the Sewing pants that fit book by singer it will show you how. Otherwise I can xerox a few pages which I found helpful and mail them to you.
1/13/02 5:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've already fixed the problem by taking about 1-1/2" off the waist edge and resetting the elastic. I didn't make a casing the second time around but used a method similar to yours described above, excepting I stitched through the elastic edge. There's no worry about the elastic rolling this way. Debbie - 4" works with most elastics. Try pinning it around your waist and leaving it there for a while to see if it feels the way you want it.
1/13/02 10:00 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I just made a second pair in rayon using the shortened crotch alteration from my first pair in knit. Now the crotch rides too high. I will add the length back in by adding a separate waistband to replace the fabric I removed. I'd caution anyone making this pattern to fit it separately for knits vs. wovens.
3/20/02 9:38 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I just wanted to add that I made this pattern again in cotton interlock and it fit the same way for me. I wanted the pants to be low waisted so I chopped off 3 inches from the top and it worked great! I have used this pattern 4 times now.
4/15/02 0:33 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This is my favorite pattern that I have ever sewed with. I have made so many pants from this pattern that I have lost count . It fit me right out of the envelope with no adjustments.
4/16/02 6:46 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mini, this is one pattern which I absolutely am in love with! and now that I have altered it to be low waisted I love it even more (if that's possible ;-) ). My next version will be in khakhi linen with pocket a la Stretch and Sew.
4/16/02 8:04 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, thanks for the description of this elastic casing method. I tried it and I liked it!
4/18/02 11:48 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
For a beginner, it's hard to sift through all the patterns to see what will work well and is simple to sew. Thanks for all the tips!
9/22/02 4:22 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
So now you got DH feeding your addiction. Smooth move! He's has great taste. That's a beautiful fabric.
9/23/02 9:09 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
He he! Rennie, he went to malaysia without me with his family so I guess he 'missed me' and brought loads of gfits for me. Never got so many gifts before in our 3 years of marriage. I did not like the fabric at first glance but the finished pants look great. I wore them the other day and people were really noticing them. Don't know if its because they look good or bad ;-)
9/23/02 10:14 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Both versions look fabulous on you. Wow! This pattern is one I need to try. Is it still in print?
9/24/02 6:21 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Tina, yes the pattern is still in print.
9/24/02 9:55 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Gosh - I sure do love Asian textiles....that fabric is stunning!
9/25/02 10:53 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Phyllis after this successful attempt, I am encouraged to try merging east with west in my future garments. They do look interesting.
9/25/02 12:06 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I bought this pattern today at Jo anns and am anxious to make a pair of linen pants out of it thanks for the reviews
10/12/02 9:54 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've been playing with a Kwik Sew legging one-seam pattern, modifying it for different purposes. Are these one-seams straight down from the hip? Or do they taper at all? If they are straight (and they appear to be) are they ever too baggy in the ankles relative to the hips? I guess it depends on the ratio of the two measurements on your body...
11/6/02 10:01 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
e_e_thomas said...
Do you think this would be a good first pattern? I'm putting together a "New Sewer's Sewing Kit" as a Christmas present, and thought of including this pattern ....
11/20/02 12:24 PM
carolynDaly said...
Love the tip on the elastic but where can I get the pattern? Because now I want it bad!!
3/23/04 5:50 PM
Deepika said...
Carolyn, Burda patterns are available in Joann stores. Let me know if you can't find it, this is one of my favorite patterns. I'd be happy to buy it for you and mail it.
3/23/04 7:01 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for the Sandra Betzina technique and for the KS link. I printed it and this review and will follow your suggestions, as I embark on my first pair of pants. Do you think wool jersey would be a good fabric choice for this pattern?
1/23/05 1:32 PM
Deepika said...
Penelope, I've made this pattern in all sorts of wovens and many knits, but not wool jersey but only because I dont find wool jersey comfortable (its scratchy to me). I see no reason why you cant make it in that.
1/24/05 6:54 AM
ushi said...
Thank you! That was the pattern I was looking for!
7/27/06 9:52 AM
patsijean said...
Great pants. The grean fabric from Malaysia is beautiful and makes a wonderful pair of pants. I like the border at the hem.
8/26/06 0:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Green Pepper 401
photo
Review by cleverkitt... on 6/7/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1786 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1786 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8020 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 8020 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Indygo Junction IJ733
photo
Review by SewLil on 7/31/08
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Juliana Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Juliana Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us