SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1023 (MISSES' COAT)

4 more reviews
Viewed 537 times 
Reviewed by:Monica Ann
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Monica Annstar
OH USA
Member since: 10/27/08
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/09 11:04 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Monica Ann said...
The material I used was terribly thick - double sided camel hair. I don't recommend for this, however, it would be good to underline if you are using for an outside coat. I do love 60s clothes and yes indeed it has that "madmen" look. Okay - so not such a begnner project...but it was fun. Thanks again everybody.
11/18/10 9:47 AM
Peggy L said...
Impressive! I cut this out about 2 years ago and it has been "maturing":) I just got it out to try and finish for this season. Yours is great and this is not a beginner project!
11/17/10 11:42 AM
Tina Rathbone said...
Monica Ann, how brave of you to tackle this as your first jacket! :) I just added it to my pattern stash: it looks so very "Madmen". ;) Where's my riding boots? :) Well done.
2/7/10 0:43 AM
NancyAnn2 said...
I have the pattern but am hesitating over the buttonholes and the thickness of my fabric.
1/31/10 7:39 AM
Monica Ann said...
Thanks, Yorkshirelass
11/29/09 3:39 PM
yorkshire lass said...
That is absolutely lovely. And it looks so warm and cosy. Well done on the bound buttonholes, they are such a challenge to do, especially in such a thick fabric.
11/28/09 4:20 PM
Monica Ann said...
Karine and Nancy - your words are such an inspiration. Thank you.
11/8/09 8:03 PM
Karine said...
Beautiful coat! Love the style. I'd hardly call you a beginner - padstitching, bound buttonholes, gussets. Great job.
11/8/09 10:30 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Wow factor on any number of things... Great coat, you met a challenge head on: new stuff techniques fabric the BndBtnHoles... I am most impressed. You will stand tall in this one! I am most anxious to see you next project... Bravo ! well done!
11/8/09 10:08 AM
lyndle said...
Wow! I'm so impressed by people who call themselves beginners and sew coats. This looks great! Love the buttons and the bound buttonholes too. Congratulations!
11/7/09 6:43 PM
Monica Ann said...
Thanks Marec, Bluenines and Beek for your lovely comments.
11/7/09 4:25 PM
Beek said...
Great jacket. You'll wear this over and over. So versatile.
11/7/09 2:32 PM
bluenines said...
lovely coat, I to know what you mean about handstitching. great job on the bound botton holes, they are something that i have not even begun to do!
11/7/09 11:48 AM
marec said...
It is gorgeous! I know what you mean about handstitching...:-)
11/7/09 11:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 7520 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
New Look 6102

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now