Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1023 (MISSES' COAT) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 529 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Monica Ann
photo
Friend of PR
About Monica Annstar
OH USA
Member since: 10/27/08
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/09 11:04 AM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
It is gorgeous! I know what you mean about handstitching...:-)
11/7/09 11:18 AM
bluenines said...
lovely coat, I to know what you mean about handstitching. great job on the bound botton holes, they are something that i have not even begun to do!
11/7/09 11:48 AM
Beek said...
Great jacket. You'll wear this over and over. So versatile.
11/7/09 2:32 PM
Monica Ann said...
Thanks Marec, Bluenines and Beek for your lovely comments.
11/7/09 4:25 PM
lyndle said...
Wow! I'm so impressed by people who call themselves beginners and sew coats. This looks great! Love the buttons and the bound buttonholes too. Congratulations!
11/7/09 6:43 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Wow factor on any number of things... Great coat, you met a challenge head on: new stuff techniques fabric the BndBtnHoles... I am most impressed. You will stand tall in this one! I am most anxious to see you next project... Bravo ! well done!
11/8/09 10:08 AM
Karine said...
Beautiful coat! Love the style. I'd hardly call you a beginner - padstitching, bound buttonholes, gussets. Great job.
11/8/09 10:30 AM
Monica Ann said...
Karine and Nancy - your words are such an inspiration. Thank you.
11/8/09 8:03 PM
yorkshire lass said...
That is absolutely lovely. And it looks so warm and cosy. Well done on the bound buttonholes, they are such a challenge to do, especially in such a thick fabric.
11/28/09 4:20 PM
Monica Ann said...
Thanks, Yorkshirelass
11/29/09 3:39 PM
NancyAnn2 said...
I have the pattern but am hesitating over the buttonholes and the thickness of my fabric.
1/31/10 7:39 AM
Tina Rathbone said...
Monica Ann, how brave of you to tackle this as your first jacket! :) I just added it to my pattern stash: it looks so very "Madmen". ;) Where's my riding boots? :) Well done.
2/7/10 0:43 AM
Peggy L said...
Impressive! I cut this out about 2 years ago and it has been "maturing":) I just got it out to try and finish for this season. Yours is great and this is not a beginner project!
11/17/10 11:42 AM
Monica Ann said...
The material I used was terribly thick - double sided camel hair. I don't recommend for this, however, it would be good to underline if you are using for an outside coat. I do love 60s clothes and yes indeed it has that "madmen" look. Okay - so not such a begnner project...but it was fun. Thanks again everybody.
11/18/10 9:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

McCall's 3733
photo
Review by Chris Kell... on 1/5/06
Read Review

McCalls 5731 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )
McCalls 5731 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Geneva Designs apron
photo
Review by donaleen on 5/22/11
Read Review

SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XL-3L)
SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XL-3L)

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marlo Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marlo Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us