Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1023 (MISSES' COAT) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 529 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Monica Ann
photo
Friend of PR
About Monica Annstar
OH USA
Member since: 10/27/08
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/09 11:04 AM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
It is gorgeous! I know what you mean about handstitching...:-)
11/7/09 11:18 AM
bluenines said...
lovely coat, I to know what you mean about handstitching. great job on the bound botton holes, they are something that i have not even begun to do!
11/7/09 11:48 AM
Beek said...
Great jacket. You'll wear this over and over. So versatile.
11/7/09 2:32 PM
Monica Ann said...
Thanks Marec, Bluenines and Beek for your lovely comments.
11/7/09 4:25 PM
lyndle said...
Wow! I'm so impressed by people who call themselves beginners and sew coats. This looks great! Love the buttons and the bound buttonholes too. Congratulations!
11/7/09 6:43 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Wow factor on any number of things... Great coat, you met a challenge head on: new stuff techniques fabric the BndBtnHoles... I am most impressed. You will stand tall in this one! I am most anxious to see you next project... Bravo ! well done!
11/8/09 10:08 AM
Karine said...
Beautiful coat! Love the style. I'd hardly call you a beginner - padstitching, bound buttonholes, gussets. Great job.
11/8/09 10:30 AM
Monica Ann said...
Karine and Nancy - your words are such an inspiration. Thank you.
11/8/09 8:03 PM
yorkshire lass said...
That is absolutely lovely. And it looks so warm and cosy. Well done on the bound buttonholes, they are such a challenge to do, especially in such a thick fabric.
11/28/09 4:20 PM
Monica Ann said...
Thanks, Yorkshirelass
11/29/09 3:39 PM
NancyAnn2 said...
I have the pattern but am hesitating over the buttonholes and the thickness of my fabric.
1/31/10 7:39 AM
Tina Rathbone said...
Monica Ann, how brave of you to tackle this as your first jacket! :) I just added it to my pattern stash: it looks so very "Madmen". ;) Where's my riding boots? :) Well done.
2/7/10 0:43 AM
Peggy L said...
Impressive! I cut this out about 2 years ago and it has been "maturing":) I just got it out to try and finish for this season. Yours is great and this is not a beginner project!
11/17/10 11:42 AM
Monica Ann said...
The material I used was terribly thick - double sided camel hair. I don't recommend for this, however, it would be good to underline if you are using for an outside coat. I do love 60s clothes and yes indeed it has that "madmen" look. Okay - so not such a begnner project...but it was fun. Thanks again everybody.
11/18/10 9:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Self Drafted Pattern 32004-1000
photo
Review by my horse on 12/31/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Clutch Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Clutch Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6702 Knit Top
photo
Review by spice30 on 5/27/08
Read Review

Vogue 1296 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1296 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6090 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
New Look 6090 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us