SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1023 (MISSES' COAT)

4 more reviews
Viewed 532 times 
Reviewed by:Monica Ann
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Monica Annstar
OH USA
Member since: 10/27/08
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/09 11:04 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
It is gorgeous! I know what you mean about handstitching...:-)
11/7/09 11:18 AM
bluenines said...
lovely coat, I to know what you mean about handstitching. great job on the bound botton holes, they are something that i have not even begun to do!
11/7/09 11:48 AM
Beek said...
Great jacket. You'll wear this over and over. So versatile.
11/7/09 2:32 PM
Monica Ann said...
Thanks Marec, Bluenines and Beek for your lovely comments.
11/7/09 4:25 PM
lyndle said...
Wow! I'm so impressed by people who call themselves beginners and sew coats. This looks great! Love the buttons and the bound buttonholes too. Congratulations!
11/7/09 6:43 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Wow factor on any number of things... Great coat, you met a challenge head on: new stuff techniques fabric the BndBtnHoles... I am most impressed. You will stand tall in this one! I am most anxious to see you next project... Bravo ! well done!
11/8/09 10:08 AM
Karine said...
Beautiful coat! Love the style. I'd hardly call you a beginner - padstitching, bound buttonholes, gussets. Great job.
11/8/09 10:30 AM
Monica Ann said...
Karine and Nancy - your words are such an inspiration. Thank you.
11/8/09 8:03 PM
yorkshire lass said...
That is absolutely lovely. And it looks so warm and cosy. Well done on the bound buttonholes, they are such a challenge to do, especially in such a thick fabric.
11/28/09 4:20 PM
Monica Ann said...
Thanks, Yorkshirelass
11/29/09 3:39 PM
NancyAnn2 said...
I have the pattern but am hesitating over the buttonholes and the thickness of my fabric.
1/31/10 7:39 AM
Tina Rathbone said...
Monica Ann, how brave of you to tackle this as your first jacket! :) I just added it to my pattern stash: it looks so very "Madmen". ;) Where's my riding boots? :) Well done.
2/7/10 0:43 AM
Peggy L said...
Impressive! I cut this out about 2 years ago and it has been "maturing":) I just got it out to try and finish for this season. Yours is great and this is not a beginner project!
11/17/10 11:42 AM
Monica Ann said...
The material I used was terribly thick - double sided camel hair. I don't recommend for this, however, it would be good to underline if you are using for an outside coat. I do love 60s clothes and yes indeed it has that "madmen" look. Okay - so not such a begnner project...but it was fun. Thanks again everybody.
11/18/10 9:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Vogue Patterns 1164 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Knippie Idee Magazine 06-2010-22:sports jacket

photo
by: aaltje

Review
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now