SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3635 

4 more reviews
Viewed 417 times 
Reviewed by:spiphany
photo

 
 
About spiphanystar
GERMANY
Member since: 10/31/09
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/09 11:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireEmily said...
My goodness, what gorgeous work! I LOVE your stays. The tapestry fabric is just lovely. Really beautiful.
11/8/09 4:37 PM
arianamaniacs said...
It's beautiful! I hope you get some use out of it, despite your fitting issues. BTW, I know some people actually sew one line for the boning, slide the bone next to the channel, and then sew the other channel side shut. Then your boning channels will be straight, and never be too small. It is also period correct to have front lacing. Even if your dress opens over your corset, you can add a stomacher over the front lacing.
11/8/09 5:46 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
11/8/09 6:20 PM
Kayseri said...
Beautifully done and I love your fabric
11/8/09 6:51 PM
cboots said...
Wow! Impressive project; I certainly can't tell from looking at it that you fiddled around with it so much; it looks great!
11/8/09 9:13 PM
spiphany said...
Thank you! @ arianamaniacs: Interesting idea, I'm not sure whether that method would work for me, since whenever I try to sew alongside ridges (even with a zipper foot) I end up with the machine jumping around wildly and crazy zigzag stitching. I'm sure there's a way to do it, but I haven't mastered it yet. This pattern calls for diagonal boning in the center front panels, which I think would make front lacing a bit challenging, but I suppose the boning placement would be easy enough to modify.
11/9/09 4:04 AM
misscreativist said...
The fabric choice is really nice and the green colour is simply lovely. The bottom edge has been finished really well with its curved tabs. I'd like to try Butterick's stays pattern as well (4254, I think it is.). Yes, the trouble with corset/stays Big 4 patterns is they always seem to need a lot of adjustment...
11/9/09 5:03 AM
misscreativist said...
The fabric choice is really nice and the green colour is simply lovely. The bottom edge has been finished really well with its curved tabs. I'd like to try Butterick's stays pattern as well (4254, I think it is.). Yes, the trouble with corset/stays Big 4 patterns is they always seem to need a lot of adjustment...
11/9/09 5:10 AM
merryshannon said...
Gorgeous -- I think that using the lining and interfacing layers for the boning channels instead of the outer fabric layer actually shows off the pretty tapestry more, without distracting stitching lines! And the shape you've achieved is just beautiful... LOVE that gracefully tapered little waist!!
11/9/09 12:31 PM
Saiklor said...
Can you explain what you mean by "1/2" cable ties for the boning" do you really mean zip-ties/pull-ties? Did you cut off the ends? How did you get them long enough, or did you splice together shorter ones? Would you recommend featherweight 3/8" boning for this pattern? Thanks in advance!
1/24/10 11:22 PM
spiphany said...
Yes, I mean the ribbed plastic strips used for securing cables and signs and other miscellaneous objects. They are available in various sizes and widths, try the appliance section of the hardware store for the long, heavy duty kind. I used mostly 14" ties, snipped off the knobs, trimmed them to the desired length, and filed the ends smooth. (For the very back the 14" ties weren't long enough so I ended up buying some 36" ones as well). At 1/8" thick they're a bit bulkier than 'real' plastic boning would be.

I don't know why feather-weight boning wouldn't work (the pattern only calls for rigeline after all), it depends on how rigid you want the end result to be. Be warned that if you want to bone it fully you need quite a lot of boning -- I'm guessing I used at least 10 yards. However, you could probably also get away with partially boning it, provided that you make sure to place the bones where it would be likely to wrinkle otherwise.
2/12/10 5:31 AM

SoVintage said...
STUNNING! I have not tackled a corset yet, it is in my "to do" list someday!
10/31/10 3:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Vogue Patterns 8743

photo
by: rmusic1

Review
Vogue Patterns 8701

photo
by: sarahark

Review
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Buy Now