Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3635 thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 410 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:spiphany
photo
About spiphanystar
GERMANY
Member since: 10/31/09
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/09 11:13 AM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireEmily said...
My goodness, what gorgeous work! I LOVE your stays. The tapestry fabric is just lovely. Really beautiful.
11/8/09 4:37 PM
arianamaniacs said...
It's beautiful! I hope you get some use out of it, despite your fitting issues. BTW, I know some people actually sew one line for the boning, slide the bone next to the channel, and then sew the other channel side shut. Then your boning channels will be straight, and never be too small. It is also period correct to have front lacing. Even if your dress opens over your corset, you can add a stomacher over the front lacing.
11/8/09 5:46 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
11/8/09 6:20 PM
Kayseri said...
Beautifully done and I love your fabric
11/8/09 6:51 PM
cboots said...
Wow! Impressive project; I certainly can't tell from looking at it that you fiddled around with it so much; it looks great!
11/8/09 9:13 PM
spiphany said...
Thank you! @ arianamaniacs: Interesting idea, I'm not sure whether that method would work for me, since whenever I try to sew alongside ridges (even with a zipper foot) I end up with the machine jumping around wildly and crazy zigzag stitching. I'm sure there's a way to do it, but I haven't mastered it yet. This pattern calls for diagonal boning in the center front panels, which I think would make front lacing a bit challenging, but I suppose the boning placement would be easy enough to modify.
11/9/09 4:04 AM
misscreativist said...
The fabric choice is really nice and the green colour is simply lovely. The bottom edge has been finished really well with its curved tabs. I'd like to try Butterick's stays pattern as well (4254, I think it is.). Yes, the trouble with corset/stays Big 4 patterns is they always seem to need a lot of adjustment...
11/9/09 5:03 AM
misscreativist said...
The fabric choice is really nice and the green colour is simply lovely. The bottom edge has been finished really well with its curved tabs. I'd like to try Butterick's stays pattern as well (4254, I think it is.). Yes, the trouble with corset/stays Big 4 patterns is they always seem to need a lot of adjustment...
11/9/09 5:10 AM
merryshannon said...
Gorgeous -- I think that using the lining and interfacing layers for the boning channels instead of the outer fabric layer actually shows off the pretty tapestry more, without distracting stitching lines! And the shape you've achieved is just beautiful... LOVE that gracefully tapered little waist!!
11/9/09 12:31 PM
Saiklor said...
Can you explain what you mean by "1/2" cable ties for the boning" do you really mean zip-ties/pull-ties? Did you cut off the ends? How did you get them long enough, or did you splice together shorter ones? Would you recommend featherweight 3/8" boning for this pattern? Thanks in advance!
1/24/10 11:22 PM
spiphany said...
Yes, I mean the ribbed plastic strips used for securing cables and signs and other miscellaneous objects. They are available in various sizes and widths, try the appliance section of the hardware store for the long, heavy duty kind. I used mostly 14" ties, snipped off the knobs, trimmed them to the desired length, and filed the ends smooth. (For the very back the 14" ties weren't long enough so I ended up buying some 36" ones as well). At 1/8" thick they're a bit bulkier than 'real' plastic boning would be.

I don't know why feather-weight boning wouldn't work (the pattern only calls for rigeline after all), it depends on how rigid you want the end result to be. Be warned that if you want to bone it fully you need quite a lot of boning -- I'm guessing I used at least 10 yards. However, you could probably also get away with partially boning it, provided that you make sure to place the bones where it would be likely to wrinkle otherwise.
2/12/10 5:31 AM

SoVintage said...
STUNNING! I have not tackled a corset yet, it is in my "to do" list someday!
10/31/10 3:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Self Drafted Pattern 106177-1002 jeans
photo
Review by geraldine on 10/23/08
Read Review

New Look 6889 Pattern
New Look 6889 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 130436-1001
photo
Review by NicholeMc on 8/17/08
Read Review

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us