SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1090 (Uptown Downtown Knit Dress)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1272 times 
Reviewed by:Michelle L
photo

 
 
About Michelle Lstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 1/20/08
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 45 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/09 8:49 PM
Last Updated:11/20/09 8:47 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
chunter said...
Thanks for putting all your versions (and the different results/challenges for each fabric) in one review. Super helpful! (and cute!)
1/21/10 10:07 AM
Diane E said...
How cool that you've already made three of these dresses; they all turned out so well. I really like the way you pegged the skirt in your second and third dresses. Great job!
11/21/09 1:04 AM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Very nice job(s) on this dress. I'm with everyone else - you have convinced me! I need to get this pattern!
11/20/09 12:24 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! All your dresses are sensational and fit you so nicely! They are much bettern than on the envelope!
11/11/09 6:41 PM
Meredith P said...
I like all your versions very much. Glad to know that actual rib is not required. It's impossible to find, and I personally don't like it. Perhaps it has casual T shirt connotations for me. Certainly looks promising that it's so fast to put together!
11/11/09 11:19 AM
katie lynne said...
You've cinched the deal for me--now I'm smitten after having passed over this pattern. I especially like your long sleeved look--looks fabulously cozy. You've done a beautiful job and it suits you so well. I also had wondered about bra-straps showing--I HATE having to constantly rearrange a piece of clothing. I have a suggestion to consider regarding matching rib knit. I really like the look as illustrated for the elbow length sleeve version on the pattern envelope with the matching rib used at the hem band. Since you've demonstrated that you can make do with self fabric instead of a rib knit, how about vertically embellishing the self fabric to give the impression of the vertical lines in a rib knit? That little bit of ribbing really makes it for me. What do you think? Anyway, you've got a winner!
11/10/09 9:30 PM
Ann B. said...
Thank you for the review, it is complete, informative and entertaining. I just made the long sleeved version with what may be the same fabric and color of your muslin. I agree, it will be a cozy dress for winter. I do covet that sweater-dress.
11/10/09 12:42 PM
Michelle L said...
Rebecca, there is no danger of bra straps showing. I do like the ballet neck, I think it keeps it from being truly just a giant sweatshirt. I may go back and whack off those cuffs and shorten those sleeves a couple of inches and put them back on. I suspect that without the pull of the lycra, the sweater knit is allowing the neckline to be a bit wider than it really is as well. I could always serge a band of elastic to it the same way that you do with the waist to pull it back up. I may go back and do that.
11/10/09 7:12 AM
Rebecca D said...
This new version does look cozy and boy are those sleeves long! The neckline is very wide, are you having any issues with bra straps threatening to show?
11/10/09 6:46 AM
michababy said...
How cute are you! This is awesome, I love it and it is SO flattering on you.
11/9/09 9:47 PM
Barbara V said...
Pretty dress! So nice when a muslin turns into a useable garment.
11/9/09 9:40 PM
Vicky J said...
Your dress looks great! And I like your "dressed down" look with the jeans jacket. I have the pattern and 2 pieces of fabric just waiting... Good to know that self-fabric works, cuz I couldn't find coordinated ribbing either.
11/9/09 8:03 PM
jonesyb said...
I think I need this pattern now! Great job! :)
11/9/09 7:14 PM
carnelian said...
I think you're quite right about the bottom band. There is wit and sporty style in the sweatshirt shape which is well worth your time spent experimenting with the proportions. Shorter and without a belt, perhaps?
11/9/09 1:29 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Great dress! I definitely see the HP style in your version. Excellent job.
11/9/09 1:14 PM
michellep74 said...
Really cute dress! I just bought this pattern--your version looks great on you!
11/9/09 1:08 PM
AuntieShel said...
Your dress is so cute and you have sold me on the started at 7, wearing at 11. (Don't think that would happen with me, but it's a good motivator!)
11/9/09 12:03 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
great dress, I love it on you. And it's always so great to have something you can sew up in a few hours!
11/9/09 11:09 AM
librarylady said...
It looks great. Thanks for reviewing this... mine is now moving to the cutting board!
11/9/09 9:47 AM
RLL said...
Very cute and has to be very comfortable. Hummm, comfortable and cute...cant beat that.
11/9/09 9:04 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
Alright...that's it! I'm buying this pattern today! Trudy's vids almost convinced me but now you've done it....LOL! This is really cute on you! Love it!
11/9/09 8:10 AM
Rebecca D said...
I was keeping my fingers crossed when I saw this review, thinking 'Let it be Highly Recommend, let it be Highly Recommend.' And it was! It looks great on you and thanks for the good info about the bottom band. This is just about next on the list for me.
11/9/09 7:46 AM
Nancy K said...
It looks great on you! I just got mine yesterday and can't wait to finish my wardrobe to make it.
11/9/09 7:35 AM
Paris75008 said...
Congratulations on being the first reviewer of this pattern. I bought it almost as soon as it came out and was waiting for someone else to review it before embarking on it myself. You've done a lovely job and the dress looks absolutely fabulous on you. OK, I'm convinced. This project just moved up to the top of the to do list. I wonder if the impression of the band pulling in the bottom of the skirt in the HP illustrations is because they used a rib knit for the bands?
11/9/09 5:37 AM
Renren said...
I've been intrigued by this pattern ever since seeing Trudy's youtube videos. You've gotten a great-looking, easy-wearing dress.
11/9/09 0:33 AM
Time4me said...
You did a great job on this dress. Thanks for the great review! I have this one in my stash and it just moved up the line.
11/9/09 0:17 AM
emelle said...
thanks for posting...I always wonder about those HP that ask for rib knit as a separate fabric.....and if you could use the crossgrain of the body knit....looks like you can, and good thing, becuase I have already bought the pattern...those pesky youtube clips, don't you know?
11/8/09 11:42 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great review! Nice job with dress. Good to know its quick sew!
11/8/09 10:03 PM
katlew03 said...
A great basic, go-with everything dress that turned out really nice. I'll have to check this one out.
11/8/09 9:04 PM
cboots said...
Thanks for a thorough review! I have been thinking about getting this pattern and wondering if anyone else had tried it yet. It certainly looks easy to do after watching Trudy's videos! This one is going on my wish list for sure. You did a really nice job on it; it looks great.
11/8/09 9:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-119

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Butterick 5584

photo
by: Futuralon

Review
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

More Info
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

More Info