Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2009-114 (LBD with bias skirt) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 509 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/9/09 8:35 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda S. said...
Ooh, I love it! It has a totally effortless style to it, especially with the great coat you've paired it with. I'm confused about the sleeves, though. I thought that tunic had long sleeves. Did you simply shorten them or use a different pattern?
11/9/09 9:06 PM
Birgitte said...
Amanda, I shortened the sleeves 2" like I did on the tunic, and then added elastic. And thanks, it feels super easy and comfy to wear.
11/9/09 9:37 PM
CynthiaSue said...
total day to-night-dress. the pictures can't do it justice, silk wool and charmeuse-omigosh I bet it's so luxurious! love the throw it on and go style!
11/9/09 11:34 PM
marec said...
Very breezy LBD...excellent look!
11/10/09 1:21 AM
Fran G said...
Your outfit is so chic and forever stylish. Your choice of fabrics and styles combine to create the most luxurious garments. Although I would never dare to attempt this bias project your review contains a wealth of information..thanks!!
11/10/09 6:57 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful LBD, your new pattern is a perfect combination.
11/10/09 7:27 AM
Catbird said...
It's even more astounding than usual to see you turn out a creation like this with your current schedule at the Pasadena Playhouse. Such a thrilling time, but you must be in hyper-mega-overdrive! This dress looks like heaven to wear. The side view shows off the beautiful shape and drape, and it looks stunning on you. What a perfect 'frankenpattern'! :-)) The boots are great. As always, I love the generous details you give us of the process and will bookmark this to refer back to. That overcoat is gorgeous -- I could see some pleating at the hem and sleeves, and it looks perfect with the dress. I wonder if you made that too-? Your reviews are a delight.
11/10/09 10:03 AM
Beek said...
From one dress lover to another...... what a fabulous addition to your collection. Enjoy wearing it!
11/10/09 10:25 AM
lamstu said...
A great dress and out of such challenging fabrics! Thank you for the reference to Carr; I'll look it up now!
11/10/09 7:43 PM
LindsayT said...
Fabulous dress! When are you finding time to sew?! And so perfectly as always!
11/15/09 2:43 PM
donna mel said...
oh nuts, i really want to make this dress, and wish i could see your pics...they are no longer click-able!
5/24/10 7:23 PM
Birgitte said...
Donna Mel, sorry about that. Mac's iWeb has changed format so I'll need to update a lot of links... In the meantime, try this link http://web.mac.com/bjorum/Site/Library_3.html I know how frustrating it is with broken links, truly sorry about this.
5/25/10 1:07 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8495
photo
Review by MadeByMeg on 3/24/11
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's m5583
photo
Review by Ms Dish on 3/13/08
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Towne Purse
Towne Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1715 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1715 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8935 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8935 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us