SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2009-114 (LBD with bias skirt)

11 more reviews
Viewed 516 times 
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo

 
 
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/9/09 8:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Birgitte said...
Donna Mel, sorry about that. Mac's iWeb has changed format so I'll need to update a lot of links... In the meantime, try this link http://web.mac.com/bjorum/Site/Library_3.html I know how frustrating it is with broken links, truly sorry about this.
5/25/10 1:07 AM
donna mel said...
oh nuts, i really want to make this dress, and wish i could see your pics...they are no longer click-able!
5/24/10 7:23 PM
LindsayT said...
Fabulous dress! When are you finding time to sew?! And so perfectly as always!
11/15/09 2:43 PM
lamstu said...
A great dress and out of such challenging fabrics! Thank you for the reference to Carr; I'll look it up now!
11/10/09 7:43 PM
Beek said...
From one dress lover to another...... what a fabulous addition to your collection. Enjoy wearing it!
11/10/09 10:25 AM
Catbird said...
It's even more astounding than usual to see you turn out a creation like this with your current schedule at the Pasadena Playhouse. Such a thrilling time, but you must be in hyper-mega-overdrive! This dress looks like heaven to wear. The side view shows off the beautiful shape and drape, and it looks stunning on you. What a perfect 'frankenpattern'! :-)) The boots are great. As always, I love the generous details you give us of the process and will bookmark this to refer back to. That overcoat is gorgeous -- I could see some pleating at the hem and sleeves, and it looks perfect with the dress. I wonder if you made that too-? Your reviews are a delight.
11/10/09 10:03 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful LBD, your new pattern is a perfect combination.
11/10/09 7:27 AM
Fran G said...
Your outfit is so chic and forever stylish. Your choice of fabrics and styles combine to create the most luxurious garments. Although I would never dare to attempt this bias project your review contains a wealth of information..thanks!!
11/10/09 6:57 AM
marec said...
Very breezy LBD...excellent look!
11/10/09 1:21 AM
CynthiaSue said...
total day to-night-dress. the pictures can't do it justice, silk wool and charmeuse-omigosh I bet it's so luxurious! love the throw it on and go style!
11/9/09 11:34 PM
Birgitte said...
Amanda, I shortened the sleeves 2" like I did on the tunic, and then added elastic. And thanks, it feels super easy and comfy to wear.
11/9/09 9:37 PM
Amanda S. said...
Ooh, I love it! It has a totally effortless style to it, especially with the great coat you've paired it with. I'm confused about the sleeves, though. I thought that tunic had long sleeves. Did you simply shorten them or use a different pattern?
11/9/09 9:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

More Info
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

More Info
Coles Creations Hi Low Ruffle Skirt

photo
by: newmama

Review