Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1146 (Koos van den Akker Coat) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 793 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/19/09 10:54 AM
Last Updated:12/21/09 8:36 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Wow, my hat's off to you for making this coat! Whenever I see one of Koos' patterns, I try to figure out how I can make it less complicated -- ha! -- and that's what makes it doubly nice to see it done "right" by you. The picture of all of that PIECING makes my head swim. I can't get the thumbnail to open up, but even in that little picture, I love the color waves. Great job!
11/19/09 3:18 PM
kkkkaty said...
oh, thanks for this review, I bought this pattern and want to try it!!!
11/19/09 4:29 PM
sewtime said...
Beautifully made!! I don't know what to say....WOW!
11/19/09 4:33 PM
carolynw said...
OMG - this is beautiful - definitely definitely a wearable muslin and if you think otherwise will send you my address and will pay postage. Way to go girl!!
11/19/09 5:35 PM
DorothyK said...
Very nice. I've been intrigued by this pattern also. You did a great job. Looking forward to your next version in wool. Your gripes about what Vogue should have included are very justified.
11/19/09 6:02 PM
moonchild61 said...
I covet this coat! Great Job!
11/19/09 6:05 PM
Em's Summer said...
ItAdmin--Very pretty and very artsy!!!
11/19/09 7:26 PM
marec said...
Thank you Thank you for this review. I love this pattern and am so pleased to see your very cool version. Will you use the exact same piecing for the next version? Is this according to the pattern or your own design? So interesting.
11/19/09 7:34 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Nice review. I think your coat turned out quiet well. You should be proud.
11/19/09 7:39 PM
ITAdmin said...
Thanks, everyone, for the kind comments. marec, View A, which I want to make next time, uses more of one dominant fabric than View B. It also has a contrast bias strip down one side front; that's really not visible in any of the photos. Not to keep harping on it, but I think the photography for this was really poor overall. I want to do something different with the back applique, but I'm not sure what just yet.
11/19/09 7:58 PM
Nancywin said...
What an impressive undertaking! I never realized that this coat had so much detail in it You've done a beautiful job and will get plenty of compliments I'm sure. I love all the details.
11/20/09 0:46 AM
kerrynw said...
Wow this is a wonderful peice of "wearable art". You have done a fantastic job!
11/20/09 8:56 AM
Karine said...
Great coat! Definitely wearable! I can't wait to see the next one.
11/20/09 10:43 AM
Mimsy Borogoves said...
I am in the process of making this coat and am confused about the lining on the front yoke. It is pictured but not addressed on the pattern. Is the front yoke lines. ps your coat is stunning, I hope to finish mine by Thanksgiving. Thanks so much for your review of this pattern. It really helps to hear from others
11/23/09 11:40 AM
Mimsy Borogoves said...
ps...I would love to see the way you did the front of your little beauty!!:)
11/23/09 11:44 AM
ITAdmin said...
Hi, Madame Curieus. Here's how I interpreted the front yoke lining--it's only for View A. I would have lined mine anyway, though, except for one thing. The fabric I used has a smooth backing, so I thought lining it was unnecessary. Just personal preference, I guess. But I don't think you're "supposed" to line the front yoke of View B. I've added a shot of the front of my coat to the composite. I had some of me wearing it, but they were accidentally deleted.
11/23/09 3:04 PM
Michelle99 said...
Wow, I love that muslin even better than the 'real' thing! But I can't imagine life with two of these coats. Beautiful!
12/22/09 6:14 AM
Terri A said...
Just amazing!
10/22/10 0:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Butterick 5314
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 9/7/09
Read Review

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3299
photo
Review by Debbie Coo... on 2/13/05
Read Review

McCalls 6051 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6051 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us