SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1146 (Koos van den Akker Coat)

1 more reviews
Viewed 799 times 
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 103
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/19/09 10:54 AM
Last Updated:12/21/09 8:36 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Wow, my hat's off to you for making this coat! Whenever I see one of Koos' patterns, I try to figure out how I can make it less complicated -- ha! -- and that's what makes it doubly nice to see it done "right" by you. The picture of all of that PIECING makes my head swim. I can't get the thumbnail to open up, but even in that little picture, I love the color waves. Great job!
11/19/09 3:18 PM
kkkkaty said...
oh, thanks for this review, I bought this pattern and want to try it!!!
11/19/09 4:29 PM
sewtime said...
Beautifully made!! I don't know what to say....WOW!
11/19/09 4:33 PM
carolynw said...
OMG - this is beautiful - definitely definitely a wearable muslin and if you think otherwise will send you my address and will pay postage. Way to go girl!!
11/19/09 5:35 PM
DorothyK said...
Very nice. I've been intrigued by this pattern also. You did a great job. Looking forward to your next version in wool. Your gripes about what Vogue should have included are very justified.
11/19/09 6:02 PM
moonchild61 said...
I covet this coat! Great Job!
11/19/09 6:05 PM
Em's Summer said...
ItAdmin--Very pretty and very artsy!!!
11/19/09 7:26 PM
marec said...
Thank you Thank you for this review. I love this pattern and am so pleased to see your very cool version. Will you use the exact same piecing for the next version? Is this according to the pattern or your own design? So interesting.
11/19/09 7:34 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Nice review. I think your coat turned out quiet well. You should be proud.
11/19/09 7:39 PM
ITAdmin said...
Thanks, everyone, for the kind comments. marec, View A, which I want to make next time, uses more of one dominant fabric than View B. It also has a contrast bias strip down one side front; that's really not visible in any of the photos. Not to keep harping on it, but I think the photography for this was really poor overall. I want to do something different with the back applique, but I'm not sure what just yet.
11/19/09 7:58 PM
Nancywin said...
What an impressive undertaking! I never realized that this coat had so much detail in it You've done a beautiful job and will get plenty of compliments I'm sure. I love all the details.
11/20/09 0:46 AM
kerrynw said...
Wow this is a wonderful peice of "wearable art". You have done a fantastic job!
11/20/09 8:56 AM
Karine said...
Great coat! Definitely wearable! I can't wait to see the next one.
11/20/09 10:43 AM
Mimsy Borogoves said...
I am in the process of making this coat and am confused about the lining on the front yoke. It is pictured but not addressed on the pattern. Is the front yoke lines. ps your coat is stunning, I hope to finish mine by Thanksgiving. Thanks so much for your review of this pattern. It really helps to hear from others
11/23/09 11:40 AM
Mimsy Borogoves said...
ps...I would love to see the way you did the front of your little beauty!!:)
11/23/09 11:44 AM
ITAdmin said...
Hi, Madame Curieus. Here's how I interpreted the front yoke lining--it's only for View A. I would have lined mine anyway, though, except for one thing. The fabric I used has a smooth backing, so I thought lining it was unnecessary. Just personal preference, I guess. But I don't think you're "supposed" to line the front yoke of View B. I've added a shot of the front of my coat to the composite. I had some of me wearing it, but they were accidentally deleted.
11/23/09 3:04 PM
Michelle99 said...
Wow, I love that muslin even better than the 'real' thing! But I can't imagine life with two of these coats. Beautiful!
12/22/09 6:14 AM
Terri A said...
Just amazing!
10/22/10 0:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

New Look 6102

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now