SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4675 (Socks)

3 more reviews
Viewed 249 times 
Reviewed by:jannw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jannwstarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 9/3/06
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/09 7:48 PM
Last Updated:11/12/09 2:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.25 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.25 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Catbird said...
What a great idea! They're so practical and fun, too.
11/11/09 8:36 PM
Sandi S said...
cute!
11/11/09 10:22 PM
Renren said...
These really are a great idea and using the gripping shelf liner was an inspiration. Very cozy looking and my prediction for you: warm feet ahead!
11/11/09 10:25 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Warm feet after an invigorating winter walk, eh!! ;)
11/11/09 11:19 PM
MaryDB said...
What a great way to use up leftover fabric! So cute.
11/11/09 11:50 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Really like these!
11/12/09 11:12 AM
CynthiaSue said...
great christmas idea!! thanks!!!
11/12/09 1:38 PM
RLL said...
gripping shelf liner....brilliant!
11/12/09 2:50 PM
JTink said...
I'm so glad you made these. I bought this pattern with my husband's Christmas present in mind. I already cut out the top and pants. I was holding off on the slipper because I haven't found the non-skid yet. I was thinking of using white vinyl. But if all else fails, that shelf liner idea is a winner. You said you wear a 9 shoe and made an extra small slipper. My husband wears a 10. I was planning on using the XL for him. I compared it with a pair of bootie slippers he wore last year and they are the same sole size. Do you think it would be too large for him? Thanks so much for all the added tips.
11/12/09 3:26 PM
Claire in Montreal said...
They're cute ! I wear a 9 too - can I borrow them ? LOL
11/12/09 5:14 PM
jannw said...
thank you all for your kind comments...JTink-If the sole size is the same, it should work..can you see a overlap on the side of the bootie? That should give you an indication of width.Do any of his regular shoes have a removable inner sole? A woman's 9 is about a man's 5 if I am remembering correctly. It would be fairly easy to put a casing in at ankle level and run some elastic also, if you think they might flop a bit.
11/12/09 6:39 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
OOOOO! I just love your slippers! They look so toasty warm and are so cute! I just got the "green pepper" fleece sock pattern - wish I had seen your review first! Another pattern for the wish list!
11/12/09 7:18 PM
Kayseri said...
These look great. I love hte idea of using shelf grip for the sole - I'm going to steal that for my next pair of slippers.
11/13/09 4:35 AM
JTink said...
Jannw, thanks for the heads up on the sizes. I also like the idea of loose elastic around the top. I found some of the non-skid at Joanns yesterday and plan to make these tomorrow. Thanks again.
11/14/09 2:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-119

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now