SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> J Stern Designs> 0037W (Women's Jeans)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1567 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 196
Favored by: 394 people
patterns reviewed: 183
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/09 8:35 PM
Last Updated:11/11/09 8:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 40 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

So Vintage Patterns


Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
babyblue08 said...
I have just jointed PR and this is the first review I have read. I thoroughly enjoyed reading and laughed at the UFO comment, since I have never heard of the term before...since I am new to this term, is it"unfinished fabric object", or am I totally off the mark..I have been sewing for over 40 years, and most of the time I have been dwelling in the Halloween costume underworld for grandchildren...now it is finally time to make something for myself....thank you for the information on this particular jeans pattern.I have issues with wide thighs and smaller back..
7/16/13 10:27 AM
Lexley said...
What a great review! i've worked out the best jean pattern is the one you copy from a pair you love yourself. Kenneth K. King has a fantastic method of copying a favourite garment on Craftsy.com specifically for jeans. it'll save you a lot of tears and frustration doing endless muslins and fittings....
6/8/13 5:49 PM
A of the M's said...
How wonderfully thorough! I appreciate your tips and suggestions. Thank you!
2/26/10 1:58 AM
ShariKen said...
Very good review. I think I'll wait a while before I try them.
2/15/10 2:28 PM
ShariKen said...
Very good review. I really liked the photo on the pattern, just what I was looking for. But I think I'll way a while before I make them, but I will make them.
2/15/10 2:27 PM
OP Gal said...
Too bad these didn't work for you. The photo on the front is so cool, it's bound to suck you in and entice you to try it. It really does sound like a pattern for a no-so-curvy figure. Thanks for all the details. I always learn something from you.
11/15/09 9:05 AM
angie.a said...
Well poo. I have this one and was hoping for the holy grail. heh. (You know, I keep hoping)
11/14/09 6:20 PM
JudyP said...
Thanks for the review. i think the last pair of jeans you made fit you much better, but these are wearable!
11/13/09 9:19 AM
janet said...
Many thanks for your "Fly Front" tutorial! You have inspired me to finally "bite to bullet" and put in a fly front on my basic pants pattern. As with all of your tutorials; this one is complete and "fool proof". We are certainly lucky that you are a member of the Pattern Review family. Thank you for the complete review of the Jennifer Stern pants pattern. I always look forward to your reviews--and there is always a special surprise in them. A new technique to be explored is offered.
11/12/09 8:33 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
You may not like them but I think they look great on you!
11/12/09 5:43 PM
sew2little said...
Oh the perils of jeans--both to sew and to buy. I do know someone who made these jeans, and they worked for her. She has a very curvy, small-waist-in- comparison-to-hips type figure, but she still had to do a CB waistband seam and add darts in the yoke. But they do look great on her.
11/12/09 5:16 PM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for this Debbie, good to know what won't work. This wouldn't work for me either.
11/12/09 5:00 PM
Meredith P said...
Very thorough and helpful review. You are a trouper, going through all that. Now you can move on to something else :-)
11/12/09 3:17 PM
Kemish said...
Great review. I have been looking for a jean pattern and have been reading the reviews of several different ones. I appreciate you provding all the detials of the process of fitting this pattern. Sometimes I learn more from the the patterns that don't quite work for me then the ones that do. You put a lot of work into the jeans and I appreciate your efforts. Thanks!
11/12/09 9:48 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
Thanks for this! I've been debating about this pattern for awhile now but think I'll let it slide. I imagine I'd have similar problems.
11/12/09 9:26 AM
Andreahg said...
thanks for the thorough review! They're ok, but you've made more flattering pants.
11/12/09 7:57 AM
moushka said...
Super review, as usual, Debbie. I'd been wondering about these so the info is much appreciated.
11/12/09 6:50 AM
Peggy L said...
Very good review! Great stitching on the pockets.
11/12/09 3:06 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Sorry you had to go through all that work. I know you like to try out new patterns now and then, but like me, go back to those TNTs. Luckily for us, we get a great through review. If you didn't already have a fantastic TNT pattern, however, I'd say with a few more tweaks, this one could be a winner.
11/11/09 10:55 PM
marec said...
Thanks for an incredibly helpful review. I know you just wanted these finished...I think they look fine. Love the color and detailing.
11/11/09 10:40 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks for your review it was very helpful! Not sure whether to try them now or not!
11/11/09 8:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 5094

photo
by: kealoha

Review
Simplicity 5514

photo
by: sewnotwork

Review
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now