Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
J Stern Designs: 0037W (Women's Jeans) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1461 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 38 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/09 8:35 PM
Last Updated:11/11/09 8:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks for your review it was very helpful! Not sure whether to try them now or not!
11/11/09 8:56 PM
marec said...
Thanks for an incredibly helpful review. I know you just wanted these finished...I think they look fine. Love the color and detailing.
11/11/09 10:40 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Sorry you had to go through all that work. I know you like to try out new patterns now and then, but like me, go back to those TNTs. Luckily for us, we get a great through review. If you didn't already have a fantastic TNT pattern, however, I'd say with a few more tweaks, this one could be a winner.
11/11/09 10:55 PM
Peggy L said...
Very good review! Great stitching on the pockets.
11/12/09 3:06 AM
moushka said...
Super review, as usual, Debbie. I'd been wondering about these so the info is much appreciated.
11/12/09 6:50 AM
Andreahg said...
thanks for the thorough review! They're ok, but you've made more flattering pants.
11/12/09 7:57 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
Thanks for this! I've been debating about this pattern for awhile now but think I'll let it slide. I imagine I'd have similar problems.
11/12/09 9:26 AM
Kemish said...
Great review. I have been looking for a jean pattern and have been reading the reviews of several different ones. I appreciate you provding all the detials of the process of fitting this pattern. Sometimes I learn more from the the patterns that don't quite work for me then the ones that do. You put a lot of work into the jeans and I appreciate your efforts. Thanks!
11/12/09 9:48 AM
Meredith P said...
Very thorough and helpful review. You are a trouper, going through all that. Now you can move on to something else :-)
11/12/09 3:17 PM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for this Debbie, good to know what won't work. This wouldn't work for me either.
11/12/09 5:00 PM
sew2little said...
Oh the perils of jeans--both to sew and to buy. I do know someone who made these jeans, and they worked for her. She has a very curvy, small-waist-in- comparison-to-hips type figure, but she still had to do a CB waistband seam and add darts in the yoke. But they do look great on her.
11/12/09 5:16 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
You may not like them but I think they look great on you!
11/12/09 5:43 PM
janet said...
Many thanks for your "Fly Front" tutorial! You have inspired me to finally "bite to bullet" and put in a fly front on my basic pants pattern. As with all of your tutorials; this one is complete and "fool proof". We are certainly lucky that you are a member of the Pattern Review family. Thank you for the complete review of the Jennifer Stern pants pattern. I always look forward to your reviews--and there is always a special surprise in them. A new technique to be explored is offered.
11/12/09 8:33 PM
JudyP said...
Thanks for the review. i think the last pair of jeans you made fit you much better, but these are wearable!
11/13/09 9:19 AM
angie.a said...
Well poo. I have this one and was hoping for the holy grail. heh. (You know, I keep hoping)
11/14/09 6:20 PM
OP Gal said...
Too bad these didn't work for you. The photo on the front is so cool, it's bound to suck you in and entice you to try it. It really does sound like a pattern for a no-so-curvy figure. Thanks for all the details. I always learn something from you.
11/15/09 9:05 AM
ShariKen said...
Very good review. I really liked the photo on the pattern, just what I was looking for. But I think I'll way a while before I make them, but I will make them.
2/15/10 2:27 PM
ShariKen said...
Very good review. I think I'll wait a while before I try them.
2/15/10 2:28 PM
A of the M's said...
How wonderfully thorough! I appreciate your tips and suggestions. Thank you!
2/26/10 1:58 AM
Lexley said...
What a great review! i've worked out the best jean pattern is the one you copy from a pair you love yourself. Kenneth K. King has a fantastic method of copying a favourite garment on Craftsy.com specifically for jeans. it'll save you a lot of tears and frustration doing endless muslins and fittings....
6/8/13 5:49 PM
babyblue08 said...
I have just jointed PR and this is the first review I have read. I thoroughly enjoyed reading and laughed at the UFO comment, since I have never heard of the term before...since I am new to this term, is it"unfinished fabric object", or am I totally off the mark..I have been sewing for over 40 years, and most of the time I have been dwelling in the Halloween costume underworld for grandchildren...now it is finally time to make something for myself....thank you for the information on this particular jeans pattern.I have issues with wide thighs and smaller back..
7/16/13 10:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2011-109
photo
Review by Jali on 12/5/11
Read Review

Simplicity 4040 Pattern (Size 8-10-12)
Simplicity 4040 Pattern (Size 8-10-12)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6794 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6794 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3422 Men Shirts
photo
Review by Ejegmama on 5/28/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us