SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2508 (Misses Jackets)

30 more reviews
Viewed 957 times 
Reviewed by:elily00
photo

 
 
About elily00star
OH USA
Member since: 7/17/07
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/29/09 6:21 PM
Last Updated:12/1/09 8:17 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ThatAllenChick said...
I have this pattern in my stash of upcoming projects. I'm very excited to see how yours turns out. Love the color. Good luck!
11/12/09 1:06 AM
no7262 said...
Looks great! I love this pattern! Nora :)
11/12/09 9:25 AM
Rhoda K said...
Looks like this will be a beautiful coat, I look forward to the finished product. BTW, your pocket link isn't working.
11/12/09 12:56 PM
elily00 said...
Thank you so much girls! Sorry about the link- it is working now :)
11/12/09 1:13 PM
marec said...
Wow, good job! I'm interested in the difference in sizing-a 4 fits you but the pattern says 8 and 12? Love the pockets and the collar.
11/13/09 11:07 AM
elily00 said...
marec, thanks! and yes, I always find that Simplicity builds in way too much ease for my taste. So I always size down 2-3 sizes with their patterns. It could just be a matter of taste, but the 4 fits me just perfectly for what I would expect from a trench coat. When I finish the entire wardrobe I will get some pictures of me wearing it so you can see better what I mean. The dress form is about the right size though.
11/13/09 4:15 PM
moushka said...
Beautiful workmanship! You should be proud of your coat, it looks very RTW. It's such a happy colour!
11/30/09 7:40 AM
linda 75142 said...
Looks wonderful and you did a wonderful job!
12/1/09 8:42 PM
Heatherrique said...
Stunningly lovely coat!
12/1/09 10:31 PM
Sew Shy said...
This is an absolutely gorgeous coat!
12/1/09 10:47 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Oh I'm green with envy. I want your trench! :) I wear trench jackets all the time and I adore that colour! I already have one trench this colour but mine is RTW. Yours is much better. :)
12/1/09 11:52 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful trench coat!
12/2/09 0:04 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - great work
12/2/09 9:58 AM
jlg said...
You did a great job on this. The color is fabulous.
12/2/09 11:47 AM
Elemenopeo said...
beautiful!
12/2/09 1:53 PM
Ruth Designs said...
You did a good job, I love the color of your jacket.
9/12/10 8:23 AM
kraize4step said...
I have a quick ? Do you think I could just use 100% cotton for this instead of stretch polin?
9/14/10 10:39 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your coat is adorable! I love everything about it. I'm making myself a wool coat right now and am not really jazzed about any of the collar options so I was looking to see what others have done. I wish I would have seen your review before I cut my fabric out. Oh well, next time I'm going to make one your way. Thanks for the inspiration!
11/21/10 1:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Butterick 5257

photo
by: sewnaughty

Review
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Buy Now