Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2508 (Misses Jackets) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 953 times 30 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:elily00
photo
About elily00star
OH USA
Member since: 7/17/07
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/29/09 6:21 PM
Last Updated:12/1/09 8:17 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ThatAllenChick said...
I have this pattern in my stash of upcoming projects. I'm very excited to see how yours turns out. Love the color. Good luck!
11/12/09 1:06 AM
no7262 said...
Looks great! I love this pattern! Nora :)
11/12/09 9:25 AM
Rhoda K said...
Looks like this will be a beautiful coat, I look forward to the finished product. BTW, your pocket link isn't working.
11/12/09 12:56 PM
elily00 said...
Thank you so much girls! Sorry about the link- it is working now :)
11/12/09 1:13 PM
marec said...
Wow, good job! I'm interested in the difference in sizing-a 4 fits you but the pattern says 8 and 12? Love the pockets and the collar.
11/13/09 11:07 AM
elily00 said...
marec, thanks! and yes, I always find that Simplicity builds in way too much ease for my taste. So I always size down 2-3 sizes with their patterns. It could just be a matter of taste, but the 4 fits me just perfectly for what I would expect from a trench coat. When I finish the entire wardrobe I will get some pictures of me wearing it so you can see better what I mean. The dress form is about the right size though.
11/13/09 4:15 PM
moushka said...
Beautiful workmanship! You should be proud of your coat, it looks very RTW. It's such a happy colour!
11/30/09 7:40 AM
linda 75142 said...
Looks wonderful and you did a wonderful job!
12/1/09 8:42 PM
Heatherrique said...
Stunningly lovely coat!
12/1/09 10:31 PM
Sew Shy said...
This is an absolutely gorgeous coat!
12/1/09 10:47 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Oh I'm green with envy. I want your trench! :) I wear trench jackets all the time and I adore that colour! I already have one trench this colour but mine is RTW. Yours is much better. :)
12/1/09 11:52 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful trench coat!
12/2/09 0:04 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - great work
12/2/09 9:58 AM
jlg said...
You did a great job on this. The color is fabulous.
12/2/09 11:47 AM
Elemenopeo said...
beautiful!
12/2/09 1:53 PM
Ruth Designs said...
You did a good job, I love the color of your jacket.
9/12/10 8:23 AM
kraize4step said...
I have a quick ? Do you think I could just use 100% cotton for this instead of stretch polin?
9/14/10 10:39 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your coat is adorable! I love everything about it. I'm making myself a wool coat right now and am not really jazzed about any of the collar options so I was looking to see what others have done. I wish I would have seen your review before I cut my fabric out. Oh well, next time I'm going to make one your way. Thanks for the inspiration!
11/21/10 1:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 5616 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by Erica B. on 5/19/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3882 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3882 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8886 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8886 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2008-4 Sporty Top
photo
Review by treefrog on 12/28/11
Read Review

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us