SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4712 (Men's Shirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 325 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 118 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/12/09 4:12 PM
Last Updated:11/12/09 4:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
Your new shirt looks great.
11/14/09 6:08 PM
Meredith P said...
Well, who hasn't gotten a garment part caught in a buttonhole!? I know I have...more than once. Now that we can machine embroider at home...well, let's just say a design can be a GIANT buttonhole!
11/13/09 6:58 PM
Karendee said...
Excellent review including pictures. You did a great job on your white shirt.
11/13/09 5:30 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks for the comments, everybody. I don't think the goofs ever end, sadly. I guess one tries to just diminish their frequency. In my Picasa album you'll see I actually got some of my shirtfront caught in a buttonhole (Eek!). That was quite a whopper and, thankfully, salvageable, but the only way I can think of avoiding something like that is to sew only when I feel fully alert, which for most of us may not be possible all the time. Didn't I hear somewhere that "there are no mistakes, just lessons to be learned?" That SOUNDS good but it generally doesn't feel that way as you're ripping pieces of shirtfront out of your buttonhole!
11/13/09 1:53 PM
eugenia123 said...
You can't beat a classic white shirt and this is a real beauty. Great job and very informative and funny review.
11/13/09 12:28 PM
Nancy Anne said...
As always, your review is a great read! Beautiful button placket and shirt in general. You will be using this for years to come..... er.... as long as you keep anything that comes into contact clean, that is.
11/13/09 9:22 AM
fourkid said...
Great review - I love to read about your sewing adventures. Thanks for the tips on sewing white - I have one to do soon in white - and will take your cautions seriously.
11/13/09 9:01 AM
JEF said...
Nice shirt! Thanks for the honesty about your goofs - they are EXACTLY the sorts of things I do. When will it end??
11/12/09 10:35 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice. Well done.
11/12/09 10:23 PM
Nancy K said...
Great review. Sometimes familiarity breeds the 'I know how to do it' syndrome, which I am quite familiar with. You do something so many times that you get complacent and it come up to bite you or humble you as the case may be. Thanks for reminding me of the thorough cleaning my sewing room needs before I cut out my white shirt! It's a nice looking shirt. About the interfacing, I like to use more like 15 seconds for fusing.
11/12/09 8:25 PM
Renren said...
I enjoyed the drama as detailed in the white (shirt) album and I especially enjoyed reading about your mistakes--and this IS NOT schadenfreude. It comforts me to know in my personal struggles in sewing room hell that better sewists also make mistakes and it is OKAY because it is a learning process and in the end something is created. No matter, you have a great white shirt. One day, I, too . . . will try this!
11/12/09 8:19 PM
Sewing Joe said...
Great looking shirt. Your pics are awesome!
11/12/09 8:14 PM
Meredith P said...
I enjoyed your review(s) very much (although I haven't gotten to the LBD yet--been out of touch). You've probably already checked out the wonderful book "Shirtmaking" by David Page Coffin, but if you haven't, and you want to try a different placket method than Islander, you might like his book. The book was a big turning point in my sewing, and not just shirts!
11/12/09 7:51 PM
carolynw said...
Nicer shirt Peter - will take you to a lot of events but I miss that floral!!
11/12/09 6:47 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Great job.
11/12/09 6:37 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
VERY nice white shirt!! Quite handy for "those" required social rituals, eh... What, with your LBD, you're ready for anything!! ;)
11/12/09 6:32 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Peter you obviously didn't read my comments about the white blouse McCalls 5522 that I made. I washed my hand so many times they stayed wrinkled for a week. We learn from our mistakes. Great shirt anyway.
11/12/09 5:47 PM
Christas said...
You did a very nice job on this. Thanks for the very well written, and informative review!
11/12/09 5:20 PM
Elona said...
That's a fine looking shirt in itself, Peter, and it looks great on you. I certainly agree that the lines of those older patterns were ever so much more becoming to men than virtually all current patterns are, though I notice that the newer Islander shirts claim they are more fitted.
11/12/09 5:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

New Look 6816

photo
by: charid daw...

Review

Pattern

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now