SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4712 (Men's Shirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 324 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/12/09 4:12 PM
Last Updated:11/12/09 4:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
That's a fine looking shirt in itself, Peter, and it looks great on you. I certainly agree that the lines of those older patterns were ever so much more becoming to men than virtually all current patterns are, though I notice that the newer Islander shirts claim they are more fitted.
11/12/09 5:10 PM
Christas said...
You did a very nice job on this. Thanks for the very well written, and informative review!
11/12/09 5:20 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Peter you obviously didn't read my comments about the white blouse McCalls 5522 that I made. I washed my hand so many times they stayed wrinkled for a week. We learn from our mistakes. Great shirt anyway.
11/12/09 5:47 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
VERY nice white shirt!! Quite handy for "those" required social rituals, eh... What, with your LBD, you're ready for anything!! ;)
11/12/09 6:32 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Great job.
11/12/09 6:37 PM
carolynw said...
Nicer shirt Peter - will take you to a lot of events but I miss that floral!!
11/12/09 6:47 PM
Meredith P said...
I enjoyed your review(s) very much (although I haven't gotten to the LBD yet--been out of touch). You've probably already checked out the wonderful book "Shirtmaking" by David Page Coffin, but if you haven't, and you want to try a different placket method than Islander, you might like his book. The book was a big turning point in my sewing, and not just shirts!
11/12/09 7:51 PM
Sewing Joe said...
Great looking shirt. Your pics are awesome!
11/12/09 8:14 PM
Renren said...
I enjoyed the drama as detailed in the white (shirt) album and I especially enjoyed reading about your mistakes--and this IS NOT schadenfreude. It comforts me to know in my personal struggles in sewing room hell that better sewists also make mistakes and it is OKAY because it is a learning process and in the end something is created. No matter, you have a great white shirt. One day, I, too . . . will try this!
11/12/09 8:19 PM
Nancy K said...
Great review. Sometimes familiarity breeds the 'I know how to do it' syndrome, which I am quite familiar with. You do something so many times that you get complacent and it come up to bite you or humble you as the case may be. Thanks for reminding me of the thorough cleaning my sewing room needs before I cut out my white shirt! It's a nice looking shirt. About the interfacing, I like to use more like 15 seconds for fusing.
11/12/09 8:25 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice. Well done.
11/12/09 10:23 PM
JEF said...
Nice shirt! Thanks for the honesty about your goofs - they are EXACTLY the sorts of things I do. When will it end??
11/12/09 10:35 PM
fourkid said...
Great review - I love to read about your sewing adventures. Thanks for the tips on sewing white - I have one to do soon in white - and will take your cautions seriously.
11/13/09 9:01 AM
Nancy Anne said...
As always, your review is a great read! Beautiful button placket and shirt in general. You will be using this for years to come..... er.... as long as you keep anything that comes into contact clean, that is.
11/13/09 9:22 AM
eugenia123 said...
You can't beat a classic white shirt and this is a real beauty. Great job and very informative and funny review.
11/13/09 12:28 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks for the comments, everybody. I don't think the goofs ever end, sadly. I guess one tries to just diminish their frequency. In my Picasa album you'll see I actually got some of my shirtfront caught in a buttonhole (Eek!). That was quite a whopper and, thankfully, salvageable, but the only way I can think of avoiding something like that is to sew only when I feel fully alert, which for most of us may not be possible all the time. Didn't I hear somewhere that "there are no mistakes, just lessons to be learned?" That SOUNDS good but it generally doesn't feel that way as you're ripping pieces of shirtfront out of your buttonhole!
11/13/09 1:53 PM
Karendee said...
Excellent review including pictures. You did a great job on your white shirt.
11/13/09 5:30 PM
Meredith P said...
Well, who hasn't gotten a garment part caught in a buttonhole!? I know I have...more than once. Now that we can machine embroider at home...well, let's just say a design can be a GIANT buttonhole!
11/13/09 6:58 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your new shirt looks great.
11/14/09 6:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Burda 7232

photo
by: juliamorle...

Review

Pattern

Butterick B5201

photo
by: material e...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now
Candice

Candice

Buy Now