SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1403 (Milan Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1800 times 
Reviewed by:Mini
photo

 
 
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/02 5:22 PM
Last Updated:4/29/02 5:30 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Hi Mini, I had trouble with this dress too. I made it twice and while the fit was better the second time, it just never "felt" right. I think you hit the nail on the head with Loes' designs and their suitability for certain figure types. Even though my hips are only 1" bigger than my bust measurement, this dress just looked like a nightgown on me. Thanks for your thoughtful review.
4/29/02 5:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mini, you are just the best for always telling it like it is. I liked my recent 'wearable muslin' of the Milan, but was planning a bust adjustment on the next version. Now I will check out those Kwik Sew patterns for comparison. And yup, that slit as drafted was mighty high!
4/29/02 10:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I am a small but pear-shaped woman, and your reference to "curvy" thighs is me exactly. I don't own any LH patterns yet despite all the wildly positive reviews I've read here, because they all seem to have such slim cuts on the bottom. Offering alternatives is extremely helpful -- thanks much!
5/13/02 10:27 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
missy d said...
I am wearing the Milan right now in a soft cotton sateen (a Japanese print). I cut the hip one size larger than the bust for my pear shape and put a 2-1/2" dart about 3" from the side seam in the arm curve pointing to the bust. It disappeared in the print. I also lowered the side slit about 8". It is easy, modest and a much loved summer dress. I will make another when I find a fabric that sings to me.
7/24/03 5:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

ModKid Patterns Modkid sewing book

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
BurdaStyle Downloadable 6051

photo
by: flyawayhai...

Review
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now