SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2009-110 (Pleat-front skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 283 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/09 11:09 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michele Lommasson said... (1/21/12 10:32 AM) Reply
A beautiful skirt, thank you for taking us through the steps and pitfalls of the pattern.
OP Gal said... (11/15/09 8:44 AM) Reply
Cute skirt. That's a beautiful plaid. Congratulations on the smokin' hot welt pockets. Those aren't easy to get perfect. Thank you for the detailed review.
renren said... (11/14/09 8:23 AM) Reply
This little skirt is just perfect--perfect welt pockets, perfect plaid matching, perfect zipper installation, perfect choice of fabric . . . perfect.
Danvillegirl said... (11/14/09 7:55 AM) Reply
Pretty skirt. Great job on pockets.
Mary Nanna said... (11/13/09 12:56 PM) Reply
I laughed when I read your review because I have struggled through "piping" and "abutting lines" on a dress I made with double welt pockets from BWOF. My personal favourite though, is there use of "slit" to mean the front fly opening. When they direct you to sew the back up to the front opening slit, it does give you pause for a little snigger.
kathigarn said... (11/13/09 12:28 PM) Reply
This is one of the patterns I thought was cute in the magazine. I think it is even cuter now! Great job!
eugenia123 said... (11/13/09 12:09 PM) Reply
I love this skirt - it's looks so beautifully made and the fabric is perfect for it.
squirrellypoo said... (11/13/09 11:40 AM) Reply
tg33 - I suppose that might be the case, but I'm 5'8" so I'm not exactly petite and their skirt hems usually fall on me approximately where they say...
chicaem29 said... (11/13/09 11:29 AM) Reply
Love your skirt! I'm glad to see your review - I had forgotten about this skirt and I think it would be perfect for a fabric I just bought. Plus it's really helpful in alerting me to fitting/instruction issues! I was debating between a pencil or A-line skirt and this seems like a good compromise of the two. Anyways, the plaid looks great and your welt pockets are lovely!
tg33 said... (11/13/09 11:28 AM) Reply
I think I've seen it mentioned before that the BWOF models are very long legged, and the patterns tend to look longer in real life, which would explain what you found?
marec said... (11/13/09 11:20 AM) Reply
Wonderful new skirt! As always, your work is so detailed. Really nice.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Violette Field Threads Stella

photo
by: busymomof3

Review
The City Bag

The City Bag

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Pattern Details
Contest Travel Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: MVi14

Review