Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4607 (Misses Yokes Western Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 390 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:birdmcfarland
photo
About birdmcfarlandstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 8/1/08
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/09 3:16 PM
Last Updated:1/29/10 2:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
Nice looking shirt. Great job on the topstitching too.
11/13/09 3:47 PM
jent said...
I love western shirts too - especially in pretty floral fabric. I own one that is nearly threadbare as well. This really looks great - thanks for reviewing the pattern. I may have to sew a new one too.
11/13/09 4:55 PM
Mary Gillette said...
I love your shirt! Pretty and very wearable. I'm going to buy that pattern!
11/13/09 5:36 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Great job, Tex. Those pockets looks perfect!
11/13/09 6:33 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Really nice & straight sewing!! A fresh, crisp looking shirt/blouse... Bravo!!
11/13/09 6:36 PM
Renren said...
Love this shirt, and the pattern line drawings show a really interesting back yoke. You chose the perfect fabric.
11/13/09 8:26 PM
Mary Nanna said...
Gosh your version is soooo much nicer than the Butterick one! Looks fun and I bet it's a great easy wear piece too!
11/14/09 1:19 AM
ClaireEmily said...
I REALLY love your shirt! The combination of fabric, pattern and gorgeous detail really works.
11/14/09 3:59 AM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful shirt. Great style and fabric combination and I love those pockets and topstitching
11/14/09 7:50 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Great shirt. I love the pairing of western style with the sweet little floral print. The snaps are a nice touch too. I'll bet you'll wear this one quite a bit. I would.
11/14/09 12:22 PM
Renren said...
Okay, I officially am in love with this shirt. I keep coming back to look at it. Next time Buttericks go on sale, I'm buying it and I don't care who calls me Tex! I just LOVE it.
11/14/09 2:15 PM
Elona said...
What a pretty shirt--so much nicer than those glittery things you can buy at Boot Barn for $70! As to the sleeve caps: It may not be entirely your fault. Many patterns simply have too much ease in that region. I have read that somewhere between 3/4" to 1 1/2" is all anybody needs. If your patterns have much more than that, you can take it out. But another thing that helps is to do the ease stitching and then put just the sleeve cap or head on one end of your trusty pressing ham. Arrange everything nicely, and then hold your steam iron above the cap, concentrating the steam on the seam allowance and the seamline--not out into the cap itself. Then just touch down with the point of the iron to shrink the extra fabric out, again being careful not to go out into the cap to any extent. This will work on most pure cottons, wools, and linens.
1/29/10 3:21 PM
Christas said...
I love the feminine fabrics you used in both of the blouses..... so pretty!
1/29/10 3:58 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Thanks Elona! I wash and then bake my fabrics in the dryer so I am not sure how much more shrinkage will happen, but I imagine probably a little if I'm steaming it. This shirt seemed to have quite a bit of ease so maybe I could have cut down on some of it. Anyway, thanks again. I'll try the iron technique next time.
1/29/10 4:36 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
I'm chuckling about your puckered shoulder seams and how much you loathe easing, because I do too! And swearing off "lousy Pellon interfacing" is a good thing! I've recently tossed all my Pellon out and replaced it with woven. Much nicer to work with, no bubbling, and beautiful. Great shirt by the way. Love the pattern.
12/23/11 10:12 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Kwik Sew 3567 Tops
photo
Review by velosewer on 5/30/13
Read Review

McCalls 6659 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6659 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2890 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2890 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3744 Threads dress
photo
Review by MyMothersD... on 5/16/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us