SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4607 (Misses Yokes Western Shirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 392 times 
Reviewed by:birdmcfarland
photo

 
 
About birdmcfarlandstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 8/1/08
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/09 3:16 PM
Last Updated:1/29/10 2:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Miss Fairchild said...
I'm chuckling about your puckered shoulder seams and how much you loathe easing, because I do too! And swearing off "lousy Pellon interfacing" is a good thing! I've recently tossed all my Pellon out and replaced it with woven. Much nicer to work with, no bubbling, and beautiful. Great shirt by the way. Love the pattern.
12/23/11 10:12 AM
birdmcfarland said...
Thanks Elona! I wash and then bake my fabrics in the dryer so I am not sure how much more shrinkage will happen, but I imagine probably a little if I'm steaming it. This shirt seemed to have quite a bit of ease so maybe I could have cut down on some of it. Anyway, thanks again. I'll try the iron technique next time.
1/29/10 4:36 PM
Christas said...
I love the feminine fabrics you used in both of the blouses..... so pretty!
1/29/10 3:58 PM
Elona said...
What a pretty shirt--so much nicer than those glittery things you can buy at Boot Barn for $70! As to the sleeve caps: It may not be entirely your fault. Many patterns simply have too much ease in that region. I have read that somewhere between 3/4" to 1 1/2" is all anybody needs. If your patterns have much more than that, you can take it out. But another thing that helps is to do the ease stitching and then put just the sleeve cap or head on one end of your trusty pressing ham. Arrange everything nicely, and then hold your steam iron above the cap, concentrating the steam on the seam allowance and the seamline--not out into the cap itself. Then just touch down with the point of the iron to shrink the extra fabric out, again being careful not to go out into the cap to any extent. This will work on most pure cottons, wools, and linens.
1/29/10 3:21 PM
Renren said...
Okay, I officially am in love with this shirt. I keep coming back to look at it. Next time Buttericks go on sale, I'm buying it and I don't care who calls me Tex! I just LOVE it.
11/14/09 2:15 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Great shirt. I love the pairing of western style with the sweet little floral print. The snaps are a nice touch too. I'll bet you'll wear this one quite a bit. I would.
11/14/09 12:22 PM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful shirt. Great style and fabric combination and I love those pockets and topstitching
11/14/09 7:50 AM
ClaireEmily said...
I REALLY love your shirt! The combination of fabric, pattern and gorgeous detail really works.
11/14/09 3:59 AM
Mary Nanna said...
Gosh your version is soooo much nicer than the Butterick one! Looks fun and I bet it's a great easy wear piece too!
11/14/09 1:19 AM
Renren said...
Love this shirt, and the pattern line drawings show a really interesting back yoke. You chose the perfect fabric.
11/13/09 8:26 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Really nice & straight sewing!! A fresh, crisp looking shirt/blouse... Bravo!!
11/13/09 6:36 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Great job, Tex. Those pockets looks perfect!
11/13/09 6:33 PM
Mary Gillette said...
I love your shirt! Pretty and very wearable. I'm going to buy that pattern!
11/13/09 5:36 PM
jent said...
I love western shirts too - especially in pretty floral fabric. I own one that is nearly threadbare as well. This really looks great - thanks for reviewing the pattern. I may have to sew a new one too.
11/13/09 4:55 PM
RLL said...
Nice looking shirt. Great job on the topstitching too.
11/13/09 3:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

brerrabbit.com Gaila Designs

photo
by: Sonoma33

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

More Info