SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> OOP (Bebe Winkler cape)

Viewed 310 times 
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo

 
 
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/09 8:54 PM
Last Updated:11/13/09 8:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
So nice! I made one of these years ago. It was a wool plaid and I wore it and wore it until I decided to cut it down into another little jacket. I kind of regret cutting it down. Enjoy yours!
11/13/09 9:06 PM
Christas said...
This is a timeless garment! The colors, fabric, drape, and pattern, are sooo lovely! I love it worn with your boots - those are some really COOL boots! You look wonderful!
11/13/09 9:27 PM
Peter in NYC said...
That cape is gorgeous. What a great job!
11/13/09 9:43 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful cape and it looks perfect for fall!
11/13/09 10:07 PM
Annette1 said...
I just absolutely LOVE this, Janie. You WEAR it so well, too. :o) You know, you've JUST given me an idea for a really pretty piece of Pendleton plaid fabric I have. Of course, I wouldn't look NEARLY as chic in a cape as you do, but I'm going to think about that anyway. It's kind of a charcoal brown/dusty brick red plaid, not BRIGHT at all, you know. If I can FIND it, I'll taket a picture and show you. I LOVE your FLOORS, too! I just now noticed those!
11/13/09 10:32 PM
Frosty772 said...
I have this pattern but have never made it up. I considered it but never really got interested enough other then buying it. Yours has really inspired me to pull the pattern out and make one up. Yours is so chic and classy that I now want one too!! Thank you for your review and pictures!! Fabulous job!!!
11/13/09 10:46 PM
MaryDB said...
Love the cape, thanks for the review.
11/13/09 10:59 PM
cgHipp said...
Wow, it looks fabulous - nice job!
11/14/09 0:12 AM
Twinset said...
Beautiful! Your fabric is wonderful, and I love that black edge when worn on the green side. What a simple but rewarding project!
11/14/09 1:17 AM
Ellenatlga said...
Beautiful! I love it!
11/14/09 7:39 AM
eugenia123 said...
This is fantastic - it has so much pizazz and style. What an amazingly versatile garment - everyone should have one of these! I love the way you are wearing it with jeans tucked into boots but it would also look fabulous with a more formal outfit. I love it!
11/14/09 7:45 AM
no7262 said...
Love it! My friend said she would like a cape....Maybe I'll make her this one! Nora :)
11/14/09 8:59 AM
Sic said...
Gorgeous!
11/14/09 9:30 AM
Rebecca D said...
I love this, thanks for sharing how simple it really is. It is so chic and understated.
11/14/09 9:41 AM
DorothyK said...
This cape is fabulous. You have the perfect fabric. Thanks for taking the trouble to make the pattern available. I'm certainly going to try it.
11/14/09 9:58 AM
Ann Smith said...
Indeed the perfect fabric. You wear it so well in all the different drapings. Beautiful job.
11/14/09 6:08 PM
Karendee said...
Catbird, This is just a magnificent cape. I am so impressed with how this beauty looks on you and the lovely fabric and workmanship. That must be really nice fabric to have such an elegant drape. I'm considering making myself one since you provided such excellent instructions. I tried on one of these a couple of yrs. ago and found it quite flattering, and of course you look wonderful in it. Your pictures were just an added bonus in understanding the whole process. Thanks!
11/14/09 7:28 PM
Robin Denning said...
gorgeous! I tried on a cape like this in Bloomingdale's last weekend- $165! I really liked it so I need to make one, too. I bet this will be a versatile workhorse for you. Enjoy!
11/15/09 9:19 PM
Mahler said...
I cannot believe how much we have similar taste. I think we could easily trade clothes ;-) I have another Vogue pattern but with strait corners instead of curves. I am so much in love with your choice of fabric. Wonderful look on you. This is cosy and elegant and stylish.. wonderful, wonderfu, wonderful
11/20/09 1:43 PM
Kay Y said...
Gorgeous cape - I love the sewing "instructions".
12/23/09 11:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Butterick 5457

photo
by: Alice Wang

Review
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now