SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1099 (Plain & Simple Princess Shirt)

20 more reviews
Viewed 571 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/09 10:27 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
eugenia123 said...
A wonderful shirt and that colour is so delicious! And what a great review, entertaining and informative - perfect!
11/18/09 5:51 PM
Christas said...
Orange is definitely YOUR color! This looks very pretty on you. Your adjustments turned this into a very nice top. Glad you didn't give up on it...... looks like a keeper for sure.
11/17/09 10:59 PM
Jali said...
Striking colour. It's lovely to see your colourfully inspired tops always. They are just fun. Love what you did with the sleeves here too.
11/16/09 10:00 AM
Annette1 said...
GREAT review AND I love the clip of Nat King Cole and Betty Hutton. As for this blouse, it's SO pretty in such a BEAUTIFUL color on you. Absolutely a PERFECT fit, too, AS USUAL. :o)
11/15/09 6:26 PM
Renren said...
Oh, I DO like it and with your links you've made this a tutorial for the rest of us. Love that happy fabric!
11/15/09 6:12 PM
Barbara V said...
So cute. All of your adjustments made the proportions right for you and belting it makes a nice look. Great work!
11/15/09 4:13 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's a really cute blouse and looks good despite your reservations. If you made it again you'd find it easier.
11/15/09 4:12 PM
carolynw said...
Very pretty - I like how this looks on you even if you aren't 100% - love that fabric too
11/15/09 4:03 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Heatherrique... This HP style is my All-Time Favorite Shirt, even better than the ones I draft myself (and I'm a ShirtMaker by profession)! I've made it in all sorts of fabrics and just love how versatile it is :) I am glad you found my tutorials about constructing this classic collar/lapel helpful. There are other HotPatterns tutorials and more helpful sewing tips/techniques on my blog site too. Stop by any time at http://Off-The-Cuff-Style.blogspot.com
11/15/09 12:48 PM
davin said...
Thanks, I just ordered this pattern. I usually just tissue fit, but because of your cautionary message, I'll do a musln -- ok, ok! I do suspect this company of seductive, sometimes misleading fashion illustrations.
11/15/09 12:47 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks ladies! I just added the links to Pam's tutotials. They are handy to have! I am still wondering if I have the "original" set of HP instructions. Hmmmm....
11/15/09 11:37 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Great color - makes my mouth water. The collar would have a more traditional lapel appearance when sewn using Pam's tutorial. The upper and lower collars are connected, leaving only a small notch at the collar edge, and the result curves snugly around the neck.
11/15/09 11:23 AM
Re Becca said...
I like the collar. This looks fabulous on you! I wondered about their new instructions on this top, you should check out Pam's "off the cuff" tutorial.
11/15/09 11:19 AM
marec said...
Absolutely cheerful and cute. I like the collar and do not find it big. Sweet color.
11/15/09 10:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

More Info
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

More Info