SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5804 

14 more reviews
Viewed 592 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/09 5:43 AM
Last Updated:11/15/09 5:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
I came to your review via the thread. I've had the same issues with sleeves. I really like the sleeveless wrap version of this dress on you. It's either very flattering or you have a talented photographer. If it makes you feel any better about your fitting woes I'm about to throw a shirt pattern in the woodstove after working all day on an ill-fitting shirt.
11/13/10 11:46 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Fluffy bunny - good luck with your dress! After this review, I actually ended up ripping the zip out of this dress and taking a big wedge of fabric out of the upper back. This stopped the shoulders falling off and improved the fit no end.
7/15/10 7:05 PM
Fluffy bunny said...
I think this dress looks really great on you! I have the pattern myself and have found your comments on the round-necked bodice very useful (it looks fine on you, but on my G cups I would have more than a passing resemblance to a buxom barmaid). However, the crossover neckline is even better on you and the fabric is fab!
7/14/10 2:11 PM
o3b said...
Your photo doesn't give away the discomfort you feel when wearing the dress. The second (crossover) version is more flattering on you, although I think you could get away with either one, too.
11/16/09 4:52 AM
Julia C said...
I think this looks very nice on you. I would wear that & I basically am only comfortable in solids.
11/15/09 8:01 PM
Mary Nanna said...
You look great in the photos! That seems to be a good style for you even if you had a lot of trouble making it fit.
11/15/09 7:41 PM
Nancy K said...
I like this version on you much better than the first. The fabric doesn't drape enough for the under bust gathers to be flattering. This one looks wonderful on you.
11/15/09 7:40 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks Freya. I really appreciate your supportive comments =). The blue dress fits OK but I just feel uncomfortable in the high contrast print - it's just not me. But I do intend to wear this one! The problem with loose fitting top/dress styles on me is that they make me look pregnant! Loose fitting pants/skirts I love.
11/15/09 5:02 PM
FreyaStark said...
I'm sorry you had such a hard time with the pattern, but the result looks all right to me (likewise the blue dress you made last year). Maybe you'll get used to the dress, or find ways to improve the fit further. It would be a shame to waste that lovely fabric. Making fitted styles successfully can be difficult. When I began sewing many years ago, fashion was less fitted and it was much easier to make a satisfactory garment.
11/15/09 6:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Young Image Magazine FW-2012-Y1252

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Buy Now
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now