Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1903 (Wrap Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 331 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Re Becca
photo
Friend of PR
About Re Beccastarstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/12/05
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/09 7:15 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said...
Beautiful blouse! I think the voluminous sleeves are a nice contrast to the slim-fitting bodice.
11/17/09 7:59 PM
Christas said...
Terrific review! Your blouse looks so nice ...... great fabric choice!
11/17/09 8:50 PM
ALY said...
Lovely blouse in a beautiful fabric. Marfy patterns can be a challenge, but they have some really interesting, unique styles.
11/17/09 9:23 PM
Time4me said...
Very lovely blouse. Thanks for writing such a detailed review.
11/17/09 10:38 PM
Barbara V said...
Gorgeous blouse and fabric. It looks fabulous on you!
11/18/09 0:18 AM
CynthiaSue said...
beautiful!!!!
11/18/09 1:10 AM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE this! I particularly like that while it's kind of "flowy" in its look, it's ACTUALLY quite structured through the body, which shows in that BEAUTIFUL FIT. What a WINNER -- and that FABRIC! You did such a wonderful job constructing it, too. I even like looking at the inside! :o)
11/18/09 2:14 AM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful!!! I like the addition of the cuffs.
11/18/09 3:58 AM
yorkshire lass said...
That is stunning on you. I love the contrast of the wide sleeves and fitted bodice. Your review is incredibly helpful. I really appreciate the construction order you gave and like that you added the cuffs to tame the sleeves. I think they play well with the contrast of fitted and full.
11/18/09 7:34 AM
lamstu said...
fabulous! I adore the fabric and the pattern is perfect. Then, you did such lovely work on the sewing too. Did you spend a lot of time thinking about how to place the pieces on the print? I like the darker/smaller floral being near the neckline. Did I say fabulous?
11/18/09 7:49 AM
Sue Stevens said...
I am impressed, it is a beautiful blouse and I love the fabric.
11/18/09 8:22 AM
Renren said...
I would have been first to comment yesterday when you posted this, but SOMEONE interrupted me and I was compelled to GO DO SOMETHING ELSE! Now everyone has said everything I wanted to say: the fabric is wonderful; the nicely fitted bodice section gives a pleasing contrast with the billowy sleeves; the added cuffs tame the sleeves and recapture the fittedness of the bodice; and the unique fabric is eye-catching. The only new thing I can say is that the fabric's design is beautifully composed of what looks like photographic images of a flower (dahlia?) and whimsical pencil images of flowers, and this contrast of images (photographic/pencil drawings) mirrors the contrast of fitted and billowy. Plus the stark white and black are yet another "study in contrast." (Now, I'm about to get interrupted again to take SOMEONE to school. Imagine.)
11/18/09 8:35 AM
Annette Wright said...
quite lovely. I can see it with a long velvet or satin skirt for the holidays
11/18/09 8:36 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful! A winner!
11/18/09 9:27 AM
KG2 said...
Very flattering on you. Great fabric choice as well!
11/18/09 9:49 AM
Jali said...
I love this on you. Fashionable yet suitable for work. Putting in those cuffs was the perfect idea.
11/18/09 11:36 AM
carolynw said...
Love your shirt - recognised the fabric right away as I also bought some of this and made a shirt quite simialr to yours. Love mine and really love yours!!
11/19/09 9:38 AM
Fictionfan said...
Another Re Becca Marfy original! Beautiful work again! When I can scrape together more money for the luxury of Marfy, this one is on my wishlist. Thanks for the fabulous, detailed review!
11/30/09 8:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Wild Ginger 07
photo
Review by Kay Y on 9/9/06
Read Review

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Dreess Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Dreess Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8696
photo
Review by Alshami on 9/24/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1707 Pattern ( Size S )
Simplicity 1707 Pattern ( Size S )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4434 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 4434 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us