Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5987 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 723 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:annie11
photo
Friend of PR
About annie11starstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 3/3/06
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 57 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/09 2:59 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
peaudane said...
Beautiful coat! I love that it appears a lot straighter than the original. I wasn't crazy about the tent shape of the original design. Did you modify it?
11/15/09 3:06 PM
annie11 said...
Thank you! No, I didn't modify the shape of the hem. But perhaps putting the hook and eye at the center front changes the way it hangs.
11/15/09 4:07 PM
SondraG said...
Very nice-looking coat! The color and texture is perfect.
11/15/09 5:24 PM
cathy45 said...
Lovely coat!
11/15/09 5:46 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat.
11/15/09 6:12 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, it's so nice to see this made up, Annie. I love this pattern, too, for all the reasons you stated, PLUS I liked that there is a REAL sleeve in there, if you know what I mean, a nicely shaped sleeve. You look SO PRETTY in that COLOR, and the coat is SO flattering! :o)
11/15/09 6:18 PM
Karendee said...
This is really a lovely coat and quite distinctive. I might have that same fabric in a rust/orange tone. I'll need to check. Anyway, enjoy your coat during this fall/winter.
11/15/09 7:43 PM
DorothyK said...
Wow. This coat looks great on you. The style and color are very flattering.
11/15/09 7:50 PM
layla said...
Beautiful Color on You ...Very Nice
11/15/09 9:49 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful and so stylish
11/15/09 10:23 PM
Athene said...
Great coat. Thank you for the review. I bought this pattern as soon as it came out but have still not decided which of my fabrics to use to make it up. I like your idea of a hook and eye at the center front for closure.
11/15/09 10:40 PM
Christas said...
So pretty! This looks wonderful on you. I love the color and the texture of the fabric you chose for the pattern..... super stylish!
11/16/09 0:17 AM
mars418 said...
Ann, another great coat!! I think I could make this one!
11/16/09 9:13 AM
DivaQ said...
l just finished this coat. I haven't reviewed it yet. I like your idea about the hook and eye.
11/16/09 6:04 PM
Barbara V said...
Really beautiful coat! The wool boucle in jade is very rich looking especially on you and lends itself to a fine looking garment.
11/16/09 8:02 PM
digs57 said...
What a gorgeous coat! That fabric has great drape for a soft garment like this. Gee, if I had just another yard or so of the stuff, I'd make a nice long sleeveless vest to go with it. With frogs.
11/17/09 7:07 AM
nicegirl said...
Looks like a very cozy coat!
11/17/09 10:17 AM
Sheila457 said...
Beautiful Coat.
11/23/09 12:24 PM
Em's Summer said...
That's a beautiful coat!!!
12/1/09 6:56 PM
CarolynGM said...
I really love this coat. Great job.
12/3/09 8:21 AM
angela langan said...
YOU DID A GREAT JOB ON THIS! LOOKS LOVELY ON YOU.
2/22/10 8:55 PM
Margasweet said...
I just bought this pattern and am checking the reviews on it... thanks for your informative review! And, to top it off, I have that same jade wool boucle' that I haven't cut into yet. Hadn't thought of using it for a coat, but now I'm seriously considering the idea, lined with jade/navy silk charmeuse (since many of the other reviewers suggested at least a partial lining).
10/19/12 12:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2596
photo
Review by mastdenman on 4/24/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern
Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern Self Drafted Pattern
photo
Review by Summerlea on 2/22/10
Read Review

McCalls 6764 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6764 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6947 Pattern
Burda 6947 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us