SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5987 

4 more reviews
Viewed 724 times 
Reviewed by:annie11
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About annie11starstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 3/3/06
Reviews written: 160
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 158
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/09 2:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
peaudane said...
Beautiful coat! I love that it appears a lot straighter than the original. I wasn't crazy about the tent shape of the original design. Did you modify it?
11/15/09 3:06 PM
annie11 said...
Thank you! No, I didn't modify the shape of the hem. But perhaps putting the hook and eye at the center front changes the way it hangs.
11/15/09 4:07 PM
SondraG said...
Very nice-looking coat! The color and texture is perfect.
11/15/09 5:24 PM
cathy45 said...
Lovely coat!
11/15/09 5:46 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat.
11/15/09 6:12 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, it's so nice to see this made up, Annie. I love this pattern, too, for all the reasons you stated, PLUS I liked that there is a REAL sleeve in there, if you know what I mean, a nicely shaped sleeve. You look SO PRETTY in that COLOR, and the coat is SO flattering! :o)
11/15/09 6:18 PM
Karendee said...
This is really a lovely coat and quite distinctive. I might have that same fabric in a rust/orange tone. I'll need to check. Anyway, enjoy your coat during this fall/winter.
11/15/09 7:43 PM
DorothyK said...
Wow. This coat looks great on you. The style and color are very flattering.
11/15/09 7:50 PM
layla said...
Beautiful Color on You ...Very Nice
11/15/09 9:49 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful and so stylish
11/15/09 10:23 PM
Athene said...
Great coat. Thank you for the review. I bought this pattern as soon as it came out but have still not decided which of my fabrics to use to make it up. I like your idea of a hook and eye at the center front for closure.
11/15/09 10:40 PM
Christas said...
So pretty! This looks wonderful on you. I love the color and the texture of the fabric you chose for the pattern..... super stylish!
11/16/09 0:17 AM
mars418 said...
Ann, another great coat!! I think I could make this one!
11/16/09 9:13 AM
DivaQ said...
l just finished this coat. I haven't reviewed it yet. I like your idea about the hook and eye.
11/16/09 6:04 PM
Barbara V said...
Really beautiful coat! The wool boucle in jade is very rich looking especially on you and lends itself to a fine looking garment.
11/16/09 8:02 PM
digs57 said...
What a gorgeous coat! That fabric has great drape for a soft garment like this. Gee, if I had just another yard or so of the stuff, I'd make a nice long sleeveless vest to go with it. With frogs.
11/17/09 7:07 AM
nicegirl said...
Looks like a very cozy coat!
11/17/09 10:17 AM
Sheila457 said...
Beautiful Coat.
11/23/09 12:24 PM
Em's Summer said...
That's a beautiful coat!!!
12/1/09 6:56 PM
CarolynGM said...
I really love this coat. Great job.
12/3/09 8:21 AM
angela langan said...
YOU DID A GREAT JOB ON THIS! LOOKS LOVELY ON YOU.
2/22/10 8:55 PM
Margasweet said...
I just bought this pattern and am checking the reviews on it... thanks for your informative review! And, to top it off, I have that same jade wool boucle' that I haven't cut into yet. Hadn't thought of using it for a coat, but now I'm seriously considering the idea, lined with jade/navy silk charmeuse (since many of the other reviewers suggested at least a partial lining).
10/19/12 12:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

New Look 6715

photo
by: isecondsis

Review
New Look 6674

photo
by: errantpear

Review
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now