SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5987 

6 more reviews
Viewed 737 times 
Reviewed by:annie11
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About annie11starstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 3/3/06
Reviews written: 174
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 75 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/09 2:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margasweet said...
I just bought this pattern and am checking the reviews on it... thanks for your informative review! And, to top it off, I have that same jade wool boucle' that I haven't cut into yet. Hadn't thought of using it for a coat, but now I'm seriously considering the idea, lined with jade/navy silk charmeuse (since many of the other reviewers suggested at least a partial lining).
10/19/12 12:59 PM
angela langan said...
YOU DID A GREAT JOB ON THIS! LOOKS LOVELY ON YOU.
2/22/10 8:55 PM
CarolynGM said...
I really love this coat. Great job.
12/3/09 8:21 AM
Em's Summer said...
That's a beautiful coat!!!
12/1/09 6:56 PM
Sheila457 said...
Beautiful Coat.
11/23/09 12:24 PM
nicegirl said...
Looks like a very cozy coat!
11/17/09 10:17 AM
digs57 said...
What a gorgeous coat! That fabric has great drape for a soft garment like this. Gee, if I had just another yard or so of the stuff, I'd make a nice long sleeveless vest to go with it. With frogs.
11/17/09 7:07 AM
Barbara V said...
Really beautiful coat! The wool boucle in jade is very rich looking especially on you and lends itself to a fine looking garment.
11/16/09 8:02 PM
DivaQ said...
l just finished this coat. I haven't reviewed it yet. I like your idea about the hook and eye.
11/16/09 6:04 PM
mars418 said...
Ann, another great coat!! I think I could make this one!
11/16/09 9:13 AM
Christas said...
So pretty! This looks wonderful on you. I love the color and the texture of the fabric you chose for the pattern..... super stylish!
11/16/09 0:17 AM
Athene said...
Great coat. Thank you for the review. I bought this pattern as soon as it came out but have still not decided which of my fabrics to use to make it up. I like your idea of a hook and eye at the center front for closure.
11/15/09 10:40 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful and so stylish
11/15/09 10:23 PM
layla said...
Beautiful Color on You ...Very Nice
11/15/09 9:49 PM
DorothyK said...
Wow. This coat looks great on you. The style and color are very flattering.
11/15/09 7:50 PM
Karendee said...
This is really a lovely coat and quite distinctive. I might have that same fabric in a rust/orange tone. I'll need to check. Anyway, enjoy your coat during this fall/winter.
11/15/09 7:43 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, it's so nice to see this made up, Annie. I love this pattern, too, for all the reasons you stated, PLUS I liked that there is a REAL sleeve in there, if you know what I mean, a nicely shaped sleeve. You look SO PRETTY in that COLOR, and the coat is SO flattering! :o)
11/15/09 6:18 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat.
11/15/09 6:12 PM
cathy45 said...
Lovely coat!
11/15/09 5:46 PM
SondraG said...
Very nice-looking coat! The color and texture is perfect.
11/15/09 5:24 PM
annie11 said...
Thank you! No, I didn't modify the shape of the hem. But perhaps putting the hook and eye at the center front changes the way it hangs.
11/15/09 4:07 PM
peaudane said...
Beautiful coat! I love that it appears a lot straighter than the original. I wasn't crazy about the tent shape of the original design. Did you modify it?
11/15/09 3:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

McCall's 8524

photo
by: AK2012

Review
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now