Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5968 (Misses' and Women's Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 470 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/09 8:05 PM
Last Updated:11/15/09 8:16 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Peter, YOU are very courageous and adventuresome in your sewing odessy!! BRAVO!! You'll "get it" and Sara'll have a LBD to beat your own!! ;)
11/15/09 8:20 PM
darse said...
ha! Great photo essay! And the invisible zipper looks fantastic. ;)
11/15/09 8:30 PM
jilly cooper said...
wow, how lucky is Sara to have someone so dedicated to sewing her a new dress. I have some of these vintage patterns so it is nice to see how they look finished (I haven't been able to finish a complete dress of these patterns). Your enthusiasm for sewing is infectious and certainly keeps me motivated to keep trying, thank you:)
11/15/09 9:25 PM
velosewer said...
You're inspiring. I love the dress and the way you made the design work. You have guts and vision. It's great to see the fabric and pattern work for you, not the other way around.
11/16/09 0:02 AM
mz.choize said...
Wow! I love this dress, it looks great on her. You did a great job with ur alterations too!
11/16/09 0:23 AM
Paris75008 said...
Sara is a lucky girl to have someone like you sew her a lovely vintage dress. It looks stunning already. Dental floss to gather cuffs? I never, never would have thought of that one!
11/16/09 4:28 AM
cindyann said...
Well done, Peter. Lucky girl that Sara!
11/16/09 7:51 AM
fourkid said...
I love that pattern - I think I made that when I was in high school! I have also done the insertion technique - it does work great. You will have to update us after Sara gets the finished dress with a picture of her in it.
11/16/09 8:01 AM
nancy2001 said...
Sara's dress turned out beautifully.
11/16/09 8:06 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks for the feedback, everybody! It was fun being able to fit someone else for a change, and challenging to fit a woman with curves. I think in a jersey-type fabric this dress would drape more smoothly. That invisible zipper was challenging, too. With a tightly fitted bodice, it's not exactly invisible; I need to do these a few more times and work out the kinks. Glad so many people liked the pattern!
11/16/09 8:20 AM
Sic said...
Love it! The fit looks really nice on her!
11/16/09 8:32 AM
Nancy Anne said...
The dress is terrifice, Peter! Does she like it? Side note- I never realized one could describe the same person as both "athletic" AND "voluptuous". I now feel free to use both terms for my muscular-yet-Jessica-Rabbit-ish body.
11/16/09 9:42 AM
CSM--Carla said...
I admire your beautiful work. You are intrepid!
11/16/09 3:44 PM
Kayseri said...
Lucky Sara, this is a great dress
11/16/09 6:16 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sara is totally groovy in this, Peter! You can sew anything and make it look fabulous. There's something cool about those patterns from the past: the flattering fit and styles. YOU took this pattern to a higher level.
11/16/09 9:07 PM
clearlysewcrazy said...
Peter, I don't know what you do for a profession but you should be a writer. I enjoy reading your reviews sew much! I have to admit I am jealous at how fast you have learned to sew and how much you have accomplished. Keep writing the reviews!
11/18/09 9:03 AM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful dress - lucky Sara!
11/18/09 6:06 PM
Meredith P said...
There's no stopping you! But seriously, everyone will want you to sew for them, and it can be trouble :-)
11/22/09 8:45 PM
katie lynne said...
Oh, I'm learning so much from you! This is indeed très chic. Such inspiring work...
1/16/10 7:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Kwik Sew 3854 Shorts
photo
Review by pterion on 5/20/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6594
photo
Review by SueV on 6/9/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7074 Pattern
Burda 7074 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us