Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7731 (Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1301 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/1/10 7:01 PM
Last Updated:2/6/11 10:10 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Kay, believe me, if this pattern is giving you fits, I am not going anywhere near it! Good save with the gussets. I'm sure the resulting coat will be toasty and lovely.
11/15/09 10:48 PM
lmg said...
Thanks for the heads up Kay! I don't like kimono sleeves to begin with but I would have trusted Burda too. I'm sure it'll look terrific when you are done with all the adjustments though. Adding a gusset is a great idea.
11/15/09 10:51 PM
KarmenG said...
oooooohhhhhh No!!!! I can't believe this!!!! Thanks for the warning ....this pattern photo had caught my eye but I guess I'll keep on looking!!
11/16/09 0:22 AM
susiestitcher said...
Oops! I have this pattern, but I haven't used it yet. It makes you wonder if the pattern designers even consider the purpose of a garment at all. If only we could all go through life posed like the pattern models! Thanks for the in-depth review. IF I ever tackle this one, I will definitely plan on some major re-working. Your gusset solution works great. I recently made a dress for a client who needed a gusset added under the arms, so I feel your pain!
11/16/09 7:03 AM
Fran G said...
Having read about the difficulties you were having with this project, I applaud your determination.To quote Patti B:"If this pattern is giving YOU fits, I am not going anywhere near it!" Well said, Patti B! Unusual for Burda I think. Most important thing learned from your great pre-review: Muslins are our friends!
11/16/09 7:26 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Sorry, Kay!! Very helpful & FUNNY (actually!) Review...
11/16/09 7:55 AM
Shellia said...
Oh, I bought this coat pattern as I love the princess seams and the collar! Thanks for the warning.
11/16/09 8:07 AM
Meredith P said...
Whew! I'm kind of relieved that this is a WIP so far. I thought perhaps you had finished it already! I'm sure it will turn out in the end, with your modifications.
11/16/09 8:56 AM
Catbird said...
You had me laughing out loud with this review! We're used to you standing before us in beautifully tailored, exquisitely fitted garments, perfect in every way, and suddenly there you are as the Michelin Woman! You're so cute in your big white expanse of Thinsulate. Your decision to forge ahead after your initial disappointment, your ingenuity with the gussets AND your willingness to share this with us so that we could be forewarned all deserve applause. You also deserve a beautiful finished garment when this is all done and I hope that's what you get.
11/16/09 3:44 PM
Mahler said...
Kay, you should write an email to Burda. Those companies should really be informed on the stupidity of their garment's design. You are an angle of patience.
11/20/09 1:24 PM
Olivia Sews said...
I second that motion!! Let Burda know!!! I know your finished project will be perfect..against all odds!!
12/15/09 2:42 PM
Aixoise said...
Wow - what a Burda blooper! I always think twice about cut-on sleeves because of the issue you describe (among other reasons). Now I'll think a third time! I share your sadness in the demise of this coat because of its congenital design defects. The fabric was beautiful. But, it's a new year. Onward, as they say, and upward!
1/1/10 7:45 PM
Re Becca said...
I do like the collar.
1/1/10 7:55 PM
Catbird said...
Oh dear! I'm so sorry to hear of its demise! You deserve a wickedly beautiful coat -- store-bought or custom-made -- to make up for this disappointment. I don't want to laugh at your expense but I couldn't help myself after reading your blog. I agree the collar is exceptional and could be used on something else. Congratulations on knowing when the time had come to cut your losses and move on.
1/1/10 8:03 PM
Heidi Ho said...
I read your blog as well as your review and I feel your pain. I know we have all been there at one time or another and sometimes it is hard to let go...it becomes a time pit (sort of like a money pit). I'm sure you will have many wonderful projects in 2010 and this will one day just be a bad memory. Happy New Year!
1/1/10 9:47 PM
Athene said...
Thank you for the great review. Your teal fabric is gorgeous. Too bad that trying to save it was such a labour intensive process.
1/1/10 9:56 PM
KarmenG said...
OMG all that time invested...we've all been there and how we share your sadness for this RIP. Good for you to let it go. The sewing sisterhood understands.... Sorry this project did not work for you. You certainly have the skills. Now, shed the weight of this project and move onto something new!! And thank you for the honest appraisal of this pattern and your experience with it.
1/1/10 10:12 PM
Elona said...
It is good to let go when it really is all over. I'm sure that on some level you feel relief. RIP. Seriously, cut-on sleeves are a problematic affair in general, but particularly when any bulk is involved.
1/1/10 10:30 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I just hate to think of all the WORK you've put into this coat. The gussets were a wonderful idea, and very effective, it seems. I hope you WILL save that collar, if nothing else. :o) Thanks for such a great review/blog entry on the Life and Times of Burda 7731.
1/2/10 0:02 AM
Terri A said...
Great review and love the Sewing Lawyer link!
1/2/10 2:57 AM
Birgitte said...
The line drawing looks fantastic, I feel your pain. Your experience and documentation is so helpful and that's what you should take with you and forget the rest. Every stitch, every consideration- drape- feel, makes you that much better, nothing is ever wasted. Now, go find another coat pattern! Thank you for this very helpful review.
1/2/10 4:50 AM
rozzybabe said...
Your review was funny, despite your having gone through a grueling sewing experience!! I read all your reviews because you are an EXCELLENT sewer - and because I live in Ontario too!!! - and if you couldn't make this work, NO ONE could!! On to more great projects; we all live & learn.
1/2/10 6:37 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I appreciate your efforts on making this coat and I too have spent endless hours on a project to finally say enough is enough. I am sure your next project will be successful.
1/2/10 7:52 AM
CarolynGM said...
Oh my. Thank you for letting us all learn from your experience with a bad pattern and extremely difficult fabric. Loved the obit on your blog.
1/2/10 8:02 AM
lmg said...
The obit on your blog is classic. What a great piece....maybe you should submit it to a magazine? My condolences about the coat. May it RIP.
1/2/10 11:07 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Kay, it actually hurt me to see all the hours and thinking time (and materials) down the drain with your most disappointing realization. The collar is exquisite and I hope you'll be able to transpose on a pattern more worthy. As others have said, if you were unable to resuscitate this pattern, it deserved its untimely death. Burda should be ashamed. --Lily
1/2/10 12:13 PM
carolynw said...
I am sorry Kay that it did not work out - I know how many hours you have put into this and to not end up with something you are happy with is not a good thing. However, I know you are a resilient person and you will move on to more successful garments - you always sew such winners this pattern must be a real @@!! Best of everything for 2010 - Carolyn
1/2/10 2:40 PM
grey ann said...
I am very sorry that you invested so much time and money, but your narration of this painful experience was priceless and gave me a good laugh at the end of a long day. Thanks for sharing both the technical advice and the pathos!
1/13/10 7:32 PM
NormaB said...
It would also help a lot to clip the underarm seam. I made this coat and the mobility is not affected much when clipping the underarm seam at about every 1/2".
8/6/10 10:08 AM
Christas said...
Yay! I am so glad you finished your coat! Thanks for the very helpful review. If the pattern gave YOU fits then I know I would not be skilled enough to sew it! :-)
2/7/11 0:57 AM
Annette1 said...
GOOD FOR YOU! Your newly shortened and finished coat is AWESOME! I like your idea of knotting the elastic loops. I've used elastic for loops, but never thought of KNOTTING it behind the seam. Duh! :o) GREAT JOB. :o)
2/7/11 1:07 AM
KathleenS said...
The shorter length is heaps better! Hope it keeps you warm for several years to come.
2/7/11 3:10 AM
BillieJean said...
Shortening it was the trick. I really like it now.
2/7/11 6:58 AM
jaeng said...
Looks really good, I love it.
2/7/11 8:54 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Ohhh I remember you cursing this last year. Thanks for giving us all a heads up and a shudder or two at your ordeal. Your work is always so beautiful.
2/7/11 10:15 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow. You found the perfect solution. The coat is now fabulous. I love your button loops, too.
2/7/11 10:55 AM
edot said...
I think of you in the long version of this coat often--whenever I hear the word "wadder" actually. And now look! I'll have to change my mental imaging habits. This looks super fantastic; you're an amazing talent!
2/7/11 12:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 2852
photo
Review by graysquirr... on 5/4/09
Read Review

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kimono Tee
Kimono Tee

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2009-112
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 2/3/10
Read Review

New Look 6072 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6072 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1497 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1497 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us