Online Sewing Class: Altering Pants
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> You Can Make This> Sweet Pea Pleated Handbag (Sweet Pea Pleated Handbag)

Viewed 254 times 
Reviewed by:KiarasMom
photo

 
 
About KiarasMomstar
SINGAPORE
Member since: 5/12/09
Reviews: 10 (patterns: 5)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/09 11:37 PM
Last Updated:11/16/09 1:00 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said... (1/3/10 10:35 AM) Reply
I love this, and also the matching wallet you made. What wonderful gifts. Very informative review, too!
JDpenelope said... (1/1/10 8:16 AM) Reply
Later -- Oops! I see now I did read your review. Oh well, my reaction is the same. Beautiful bag and great review -- 2nd comment: I try to read handbag reviews, but somehow missed this one. Your pocket looks fine. My patch pockets always bag open, so I prefer a large zippered pocket. . A walking foot is indeed your friend, when sewing bags. The topstitching adds a professional touch.
KiarasMom said... (11/18/09 2:18 AM) Reply
Thanks so much for your kind comments, everyone! I was a little apprehensive at the start of this project, but as things progressed, I really enjoyed myself and learnt much too. I'm not afraid of making handbags anymore!
Jali said... (11/16/09 9:30 PM) Reply
What a fantastic review! I have never made a bag and your review is very helpful. The bag is too cute. I think the dots peaking out of the red is charming and adds interest.
JDpenelope said... (11/16/09 5:58 PM) Reply
What a great first bag! The fabric selection adds so much -- Your friend will love it. This looks like a good pattern, and I might try it. You've hit all the important points in bag sewing, and this is a helpful review for newcomers to bag sewing. I agree with you that fusible fleece is your friend, and use it for most bags. I have also used the same instructions for adding a pocket to your lining -- they're very good.
davin said... (11/16/09 3:44 PM) Reply
Thanks for a handbag pattern source I hadn't known about. Too cute!
MaryDB said... (11/16/09 11:34 AM) Reply
That's a darling handbag! Thanks for the tips, too. Nice work on the zipper, and on taming that silk. I'm sure your friend will love it.
Secretsugar said... (11/16/09 9:48 AM) Reply
Wow, this is an awesome bag! I'd LOVE to receive this as a gift! Great project for those great Echino prints, too.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Contest Mini Wardrobe 2013

photo
by: Mary Themo...

Review
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Pattern Details
New Look 6674

photo
by: JayG

Review