SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1227 (Issey Miyake Coat (OOP))

2 more reviews
Viewed 1340 times 
Reviewed by:Melody
photo

 
 
About Melodystarstar
MI USA
Member since: 2/7/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/16/04 3:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Melody, I like the coat on you, and I love the fabric. For a melton, it certainly drapes nicely in the back.
2/16/04 4:05 PM
Hilary said...
I agree, its a beautiful coat and it looks very good on you! I love the color, and the style. I think you should wear it, you obviously worked hard on it! Great job ( i love coats but here in South TX a girl can't use them very often :( so sad :op
2/16/04 6:14 PM
MaryBeth said...
You know? I originally thought, "Oh, too big!" but as the evening has progressed I found that I was seeing this coat and have decided that I really, really like it. Ah, so it's true that it is quite memorable! and the back is simply stunning. Gee, I hope you do wear it!
2/16/04 6:42 PM
moushka said...
Melody, great job! I love IM, too. Here's a link to a picture of the pattern (1227 is far right on the top row.)http://groehm.tripod.com/miyake/id5.html. Have you tried putting in a 1/2" or 3/4" shoulder pad? I know shoulder pads are "out" but in this case I think they would balance the shoulder line. Thanks for the review.
2/16/04 8:57 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
It hangs beautifully on you! The back makes a great exit! Very flattering!
2/16/04 10:48 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful color and beautiful drape. I made this coat some years ago and seeing yours, I want to get it out again.
2/17/04 0:41 AM
Tini said...
really a one-of-a-kind-coat. Very artisy! I really like it on you!
2/17/04 3:34 AM
Melody said...
Thanks so much everyone, I do wear the coat if only because my other one is really over the top! Moushka, the shoulder pad idea is brilliant. I hadn't thought of that, I'll try it today, thanks for the suggestion.
2/17/04 8:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Abacadabra 103

photo
by: aaltje

Review
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now