SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Controlled Exposure> 35 (Fitted Gaiter)

3 more reviews
Viewed 413 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 230
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 227
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/4/09 11:43 PM
Last Updated:3/30/10 6:22 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
treefrog said...
o3b - Yeah, the gaiter hooks are really hard to find. I had thought of using a strip of webbing/woven elastic with a snap, similar to a bra keeper instead. At least it will definitely stay on as I find the hooks can come adrift. Let me know how you go.
12/7/09 3:58 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Clever adaptation --D ring for future repairs. Very nice! How about a secret pocket for snake bite Rx ( a little jug XXX on the label) for the field pair? Just kidding of course! Very interesting item.. and a good reminder that so many things are 'sewn'. Thanks!
12/7/09 8:23 AM
jilly cooper said...
thank you so much for that info treefrog :-)
12/7/09 5:43 AM
o3b said...
Thanks for showing your pics! Your gaitors are great. I got my pattern at Seattle Fabrics, too. They also sell Gortex and most other items needed for the pattern, but they don't have the shoe lace hooks. I will have to check out the Rockwoods place.
12/7/09 2:45 AM
treefrog said...
Jilly - I got the pattern mail-order through Seattle Fabrics. Rockwoods also sell a kit with all the materials including webbing, D-rings and hooks (they also try to keep the shipping costs down which is great for us Aussies). If you find a source of Gortex in Oz, please let me know. Have fun!
12/7/09 2:28 AM
Kayseri said...
Way cool. These look far better put together than ones I've seen in the shops.
12/6/09 11:29 PM
jilly cooper said...
do you mind saying where you got the fabric and pattern from? I am really keen to give this a try - thanks
12/6/09 9:28 PM
marec said...
Very cool to see a review of outdoor wear. Love the gaitors!!
12/6/09 8:59 PM
RuthieSews said...
What a great idea. Lovely to see something so unusual reviewed.
12/6/09 6:14 PM
o3b said...
Do you have photos you could post about your changes? I bought this pattern last winter after an a heavy snowstorm (unusual for our area), but I don't have experience wearing gators. I think I understand what you are saying, but I'm not positive. I'd love to see your made pair, too!
12/5/09 3:56 AM
jilly cooper said...
very interesting. we use to use kind of the same things in army cadets and I always wanted a pair for snake bite prevention (we spend a lot of time in the bush). I had no idea that there were patterns for this. Thank you, your review is very helpful.
12/5/09 2:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Burda 7866

photo
by: norie crea...

Review
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

More Info
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

More Info