SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Controlled Exposure> 35 (Fitted Gaiter)

3 more reviews
Viewed 413 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 233
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 230
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/4/09 11:43 PM
Last Updated:3/30/10 6:22 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
treefrog said...
o3b - Yeah, the gaiter hooks are really hard to find. I had thought of using a strip of webbing/woven elastic with a snap, similar to a bra keeper instead. At least it will definitely stay on as I find the hooks can come adrift. Let me know how you go.
12/7/09 3:58 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Clever adaptation --D ring for future repairs. Very nice! How about a secret pocket for snake bite Rx ( a little jug XXX on the label) for the field pair? Just kidding of course! Very interesting item.. and a good reminder that so many things are 'sewn'. Thanks!
12/7/09 8:23 AM
jilly cooper said...
thank you so much for that info treefrog :-)
12/7/09 5:43 AM
o3b said...
Thanks for showing your pics! Your gaitors are great. I got my pattern at Seattle Fabrics, too. They also sell Gortex and most other items needed for the pattern, but they don't have the shoe lace hooks. I will have to check out the Rockwoods place.
12/7/09 2:45 AM
treefrog said...
Jilly - I got the pattern mail-order through Seattle Fabrics. Rockwoods also sell a kit with all the materials including webbing, D-rings and hooks (they also try to keep the shipping costs down which is great for us Aussies). If you find a source of Gortex in Oz, please let me know. Have fun!
12/7/09 2:28 AM
Kayseri said...
Way cool. These look far better put together than ones I've seen in the shops.
12/6/09 11:29 PM
jilly cooper said...
do you mind saying where you got the fabric and pattern from? I am really keen to give this a try - thanks
12/6/09 9:28 PM
marec said...
Very cool to see a review of outdoor wear. Love the gaitors!!
12/6/09 8:59 PM
RuthieSews said...
What a great idea. Lovely to see something so unusual reviewed.
12/6/09 6:14 PM
o3b said...
Do you have photos you could post about your changes? I bought this pattern last winter after an a heavy snowstorm (unusual for our area), but I don't have experience wearing gators. I think I understand what you are saying, but I'm not positive. I'd love to see your made pair, too!
12/5/09 3:56 AM
jilly cooper said...
very interesting. we use to use kind of the same things in army cadets and I always wanted a pair for snake bite prevention (we spend a lot of time in the bush). I had no idea that there were patterns for this. Thank you, your review is very helpful.
12/5/09 2:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Simplicity 2568

photo
by: HRigg

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now