Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Controlled Exposure: 35 (Fitted Gaiter) - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 405 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 221
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 66 people
patterns reviewed: 218
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/4/09 11:43 PM
Last Updated:3/30/10 6:22 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jilly cooper said...
very interesting. we use to use kind of the same things in army cadets and I always wanted a pair for snake bite prevention (we spend a lot of time in the bush). I had no idea that there were patterns for this. Thank you, your review is very helpful.
12/5/09 2:59 AM
o3b said...
Do you have photos you could post about your changes? I bought this pattern last winter after an a heavy snowstorm (unusual for our area), but I don't have experience wearing gators. I think I understand what you are saying, but I'm not positive. I'd love to see your made pair, too!
12/5/09 3:56 AM
RuthieSews said...
What a great idea. Lovely to see something so unusual reviewed.
12/6/09 6:14 PM
marec said...
Very cool to see a review of outdoor wear. Love the gaitors!!
12/6/09 8:59 PM
jilly cooper said...
do you mind saying where you got the fabric and pattern from? I am really keen to give this a try - thanks
12/6/09 9:28 PM
Kayseri said...
Way cool. These look far better put together than ones I've seen in the shops.
12/6/09 11:29 PM
treefrog said...
Jilly - I got the pattern mail-order through Seattle Fabrics. Rockwoods also sell a kit with all the materials including webbing, D-rings and hooks (they also try to keep the shipping costs down which is great for us Aussies). If you find a source of Gortex in Oz, please let me know. Have fun!
12/7/09 2:28 AM
o3b said...
Thanks for showing your pics! Your gaitors are great. I got my pattern at Seattle Fabrics, too. They also sell Gortex and most other items needed for the pattern, but they don't have the shoe lace hooks. I will have to check out the Rockwoods place.
12/7/09 2:45 AM
jilly cooper said...
thank you so much for that info treefrog :-)
12/7/09 5:43 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Clever adaptation --D ring for future repairs. Very nice! How about a secret pocket for snake bite Rx ( a little jug XXX on the label) for the field pair? Just kidding of course! Very interesting item.. and a good reminder that so many things are 'sewn'. Thanks!
12/7/09 8:23 AM
treefrog said...
o3b - Yeah, the gaiter hooks are really hard to find. I had thought of using a strip of webbing/woven elastic with a snap, similar to a bra keeper instead. At least it will definitely stay on as I find the hooks can come adrift. Let me know how you go.
12/7/09 3:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Vogue Patterns 2676
photo
Review by arianamani... on 6/19/09
Read Review

Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5847 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 5847 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5594
photo
Review by andread on 2/23/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us