Online Sewing Class: Clone Your Favorite Garment
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Controlled Exposure> 35 (Fitted Gaiter)

3 more reviews
Viewed 424 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
Australia
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews: 243 (patterns: 240)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 78 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/4/09 11:43 PM
Last Updated:3/30/10 6:22 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
treefrog said... (12/7/09 3:58 PM) Reply
o3b - Yeah, the gaiter hooks are really hard to find. I had thought of using a strip of webbing/woven elastic with a snap, similar to a bra keeper instead. At least it will definitely stay on as I find the hooks can come adrift. Let me know how you go.
Nancy Rhodes said... (12/7/09 8:23 AM) Reply
Clever adaptation --D ring for future repairs. Very nice! How about a secret pocket for snake bite Rx ( a little jug XXX on the label) for the field pair? Just kidding of course! Very interesting item.. and a good reminder that so many things are 'sewn'. Thanks!
jilly cooper said... (12/7/09 5:43 AM) Reply
thank you so much for that info treefrog :-)
o3b said... (12/7/09 2:45 AM) Reply
Thanks for showing your pics! Your gaitors are great. I got my pattern at Seattle Fabrics, too. They also sell Gortex and most other items needed for the pattern, but they don't have the shoe lace hooks. I will have to check out the Rockwoods place.
treefrog said... (12/7/09 2:28 AM) Reply
Jilly - I got the pattern mail-order through Seattle Fabrics. Rockwoods also sell a kit with all the materials including webbing, D-rings and hooks (they also try to keep the shipping costs down which is great for us Aussies). If you find a source of Gortex in Oz, please let me know. Have fun!
Kayseri said... (12/6/09 11:29 PM) Reply
Way cool. These look far better put together than ones I've seen in the shops.
jilly cooper said... (12/6/09 9:28 PM) Reply
do you mind saying where you got the fabric and pattern from? I am really keen to give this a try - thanks
marec said... (12/6/09 8:59 PM) Reply
Very cool to see a review of outdoor wear. Love the gaitors!!
RuthieSews said... (12/6/09 6:14 PM) Reply
What a great idea. Lovely to see something so unusual reviewed.
o3b said... (12/5/09 3:56 AM) Reply
Do you have photos you could post about your changes? I bought this pattern last winter after an a heavy snowstorm (unusual for our area), but I don't have experience wearing gators. I think I understand what you are saying, but I'm not positive. I'd love to see your made pair, too!
jilly cooper said... (12/5/09 2:59 AM) Reply
very interesting. we use to use kind of the same things in army cadets and I always wanted a pair for snake bite prevention (we spend a lot of time in the bush). I had no idea that there were patterns for this. Thank you, your review is very helpful.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

PR Member's Pattern Cation Designs Dolman Sle

photo
by: margy.64

Review
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Pattern Details