Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: V1145 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 767 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/19/09 3:43 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
This looks great despite your comments about it not being the right fabric. It really looks cozy and comfy and I was thinking about all those kids soccer games just before you mentioned it.
11/19/09 3:55 PM
Barbara V said...
Great coat. It does appear different from the pattern view, but oh so nice. It has a very warm and cozy look and nice fit too.
11/19/09 5:40 PM
DorothyK said...
Looks fantastic. Would it be nice in a woven wool?
11/19/09 6:06 PM
kkkkaty said...
thx for the generally positive review, I have this in my stash and like the look of the pattern
11/19/09 6:25 PM
moushka said...
Nice to see your version, Ann. Looks very cozy, perfect for Canadian winters although a little warm for California. It would be lovely in a lighter fabric.
11/19/09 6:44 PM
marec said...
I'm thrilled to see this pattern made up. It appeals to me but I cannot wear that style. Your new fleece soccer coat is beautiful and fits you well.
11/19/09 7:28 PM
Em's Summer said...
Very pretty!
11/19/09 7:29 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very timely -- I'm just back from buying fleece to make this.
11/19/09 7:37 PM
beth5646 said...
I love your coat. Thanks for the review
11/19/09 7:50 PM
loti said...
I bought this pattern in the last vogue sale. Thank you for reviewing it, I have an irish tweed that I might use for it. Yours looks wonderful, and I don't know what the back of the fleece looks like, but I like the contrast in the pics.
11/19/09 7:55 PM
Ann Smith said...
DorothyK, a woven would be no problem although you might want to change the edge treatment to something other than serged all around. Fit should be fine.
11/19/09 8:08 PM
lmg said...
I think it looks fabulous...warm and cozy. Just right for Canadian fall. And I like your version better than the envelope pic
11/20/09 0:15 AM
digs57 said...
It's beautiful, I'm very glad you showed it to us. I'm really seeing it in a boiled wool as well - as you said, with edge treatment.
11/20/09 6:52 AM
barbcl said...
A wow coat in a gorgeous fabric. Love it!
11/20/09 10:45 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for reviewing this. It might actually be a pattern I could make. Your sizing tips are helpful.
11/20/09 8:38 PM
ClaireOKC said...
I love the fabric you picked - it looks perfect. Actually I made mine up in a heavy-weight wool tweed, and thought it was a little light...I guess we all had a vision about what this coat was supposed to do, and each one was different. I ended up doing a little more finishing work on mine to be exactly what I wanted, adn that took about a week of tweaking it, wearing it, tweaking some more, wearing it again, and on, but I got it just the way I wanted it.
11/23/09 10:09 AM
ClaireOKC said...
I love the fabric you picked - it looks perfect. Actually I made mine up in a heavy-weight wool tweed, and thought it was a little light...I guess we all had a vision about what this coat was supposed to do, and each one was different. I ended up doing a little more finishing work on mine to be exactly11/23/09 10:10 AM
waltzqueen said...
I think the contrast under side looks great and breaks up the large expanse of the "right" side. Do you think trimming back the collar several inches would make the coat more manageable?
11/23/09 2:40 PM
Trudy J said...
Thanks! I was looking at the pattern on the Vogue site. It actually looks great on you, but it sounds like it might be a tad too much coat for my 5'.
12/10/09 7:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 3882
photo
Review by DebJ on 9/7/09
Read Review

Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2614
photo
Review by lydianmode on 8/29/10
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2674 Pattern
Jalie 2674 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1356 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1356 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us