Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2473 (Misses Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1473 times 25 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:elainemay
photo
About elainemaystarstarstar
Member since: 2/4/09
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/20/09 0:07 AM
Last Updated:11/21/09 3:58 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Morisot said...
Very smart-looking, eye-catching dress you created. Very nice.
11/20/09 1:30 AM
hildes said...
Wow, I really really love your dress! You did a great job changing the pattern to look like your inspiration dress.
11/20/09 3:54 AM
Paris75008 said...
Wow! What a stunning recreation. You are so good at morphing commercial patterns into something unique and designer looking.
11/20/09 4:21 AM
SpinningJenny said...
Another fantastic dress Elaine - it really suits you and fits you perfectly! Your personal spin on this pattern is a winner. P.S. I always enjoy your blog.
11/20/09 4:40 AM
Lori V said...
Fantastic dress, you did an amazing job with this pattern and making it your inspiration dress.
11/20/09 7:30 AM
cindyann said...
Great dress! Looks wonderful on you. Adding this to my wishlist.
11/20/09 7:58 AM
lamstu said...
What a beautiful dress! It is great to see the pattern can be transformed to fulfill your own vision.
11/20/09 8:24 AM
3HoursPast said...
I love this dress, I love all the dresses you make. I almost never use "in print" patterns, but I want this one. The severity of the lines delights my inner Puritan. Maybe in lightweight red wool... Or a crisp green linen... Ooh the possibilities, thank you. I wonder how it would look with two tiny soft pleats in the front, just looking at Nicole Kidman's frock I think it has them. I wonder if soft pleats and bright colors would mortify the Puritan?
11/20/09 8:50 AM
SewRaeMe said...
Very nice, I love the look and you have almost inspired me to take a look at the Project Runway patterns.
11/20/09 9:28 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Gorgeous!! :)
11/20/09 10:18 AM
redhotpepper said...
So beautiful and the fit is perfect.
11/20/09 10:31 AM
Dynamo said...
Super Dress. Wow.
11/20/09 11:32 AM
lovenicky said...
You did it! Really awesome adaptation of the designer dress!
11/20/09 1:41 PM
Beek said...
Very, very clever! What a success you've had with this designer knock-off. Great dress.
11/20/09 4:26 PM
cabinbaby said...
That dress is fantastic! Now I'm hatching a plan to knock off your knock off. :)
11/20/09 4:39 PM
Christas said...
Wonderful dress!
11/20/09 5:55 PM
BlossomKyle said...
GORGEOUS!!!!
11/20/09 8:44 PM
Erin D said...
You did a fantastic job! It is very classic and yet modern looking all at the same time.
11/20/09 11:01 PM
ggexpansive said...
thank you for the tip about fabric req. for s patterns . your dress looks great.
11/21/09 4:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job. I may have to go out and buy this pattern.
11/21/09 7:39 AM
Fran S said...
Beautiful. Your workmanship is wonderful.
11/21/09 7:59 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Beautiful dress- looks crisp, neat, and classic without being boring!
11/21/09 9:21 AM
solosmocker said...
Stunning dress on you! You know what works for you and you "make it work".
11/21/09 6:49 PM
Catbird said...
I enjoy your work. This is fantastic!
11/21/09 8:52 PM
erinw83 said...
Wonderful job as usual!
11/21/09 9:43 PM
erinw83 said...
Wonderful job as usual!
11/21/09 11:28 PM
Elemenopeo said...
love your blog - your cat is smashing. This dress is too.
11/21/09 11:52 PM
Secretsugar said...
Adorable adaptation of this dress! It looks fabulous on you!
11/22/09 11:10 AM
annie11 said...
This dress is wonderful! I love the contrast.
11/22/09 12:15 PM
Sharonspils said...
You come up with some wonderful garments and this is no exception. Thank you for the pattern pieces.
11/23/09 9:43 PM
Michelle T said...
Beautiful dress. Love your designer touches and thank you for posting the how to.
12/12/09 12:41 PM
Paris75008 said...
Thanks for the collar / cuff pattern. If I ever attempt this dress it will make things much simpler.
12/23/09 9:43 AM
Scheri said...
Hot, hot hot!
3/14/11 5:27 PM
Lynnelle said...
Thank you *so* much for providing the kits. Your dress is fabulous and I appreciate your generous offer.
2/21/12 9:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

brerrabbit.com Lucinda Skirt Lucinda Skirt
photo
Review by MayenDesig... on 5/2/13
Read Review

Burda 8341 Pattern
Burda 8341 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5992 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 5992 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2008-20 Rose Dress
photo
Review by 21wale on 2/8/13
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us