SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1444 (Fitted Jacket with peplum 2)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1049 times 
Reviewed by:yorkshire lass
photo

 
 
About yorkshire lassstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/06
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 88
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/09 4:05 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 24 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ksay said...
This review's last sentence about "that indescribable Marfy magic" has clinched it for me - I'm going to now buy a Marfy pattern, even tho' they don't include any instructions! Thanks, YL - you're a very talented seamstress and generous too, to go to the effort of sharing your construction order with everyone!
11/23/10 8:34 AM
Finicky Petite said...
Stunning jacket! So professional, and so feminine... I have a quick question about Marfy patterns - I'd like to do a jacket, but I'm a bit perplexed about sizing, and since you can only get one size at a time, I'd like to get it right. But sizing charts never work for me... they would always have me cutting one or two sizes larger than what actually ends up fitting. So... what do you think the equivalent of a 42 is in, say, Vogue sizes? I usually cut a 10/12 in Vogue.
11/5/10 9:58 AM
Dmd4106 said...
oops,dup post, sorry
1/18/10 9:22 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous jacket! Thoroughly enjoy reading yr review. Thanks for posting
1/18/10 9:22 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great jacket and workmanship. Thanks for the extensive review.
12/8/09 4:40 AM
nancy2001 said...
This is an absolutely stunning jacket, it's so beautifully made, and it fits you extremely well. Thank you for your wonderfully detailed review.
12/7/09 1:33 PM
Heatherrique said...
Impeccably gorgeous jacket! Thanks especially for the tip on the notched collar.
12/6/09 11:51 AM
Ceidhle said...
That jacket is wonderful, the fabric is perfect for the style. I have never worked with a Marfy pattern and your construction details were great.
12/2/09 1:37 PM
JanaL said...
Beautiful jacket!! I love your tweed fabric and the style line of this jacket. Thanks for a very informative review.
12/1/09 1:26 PM
colorkitten said...
That is a gorgeous jacket! I love the tabs, and the fabric is perfect.
12/1/09 9:50 AM
Mimi O said...
Very Nice Jacket and all your added information was very helpful. Suggestion for your photo session. Set your camera up with timer and do a "pre" session with your dress form and getting your focus down on the dress form. Mark with masking tape on the floor where your dress form was then remove it and you stand in the same location for the same "Timer" shot.
12/1/09 7:51 AM
Catbird said...
It looks beautiful. The fabric works so well with the pattern. I wish the pictures were clearer of you wearing it -- maybe with a little practice you can work that out. The jacket has a wonderful shape.
11/29/09 7:41 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful jacket. Those lapels are wonderful looking. Great job!
11/29/09 6:38 PM
Monica Ann said...
Wow!!!!!! Excellent stitching and tailoring. It looks like a custom jacket made by a designer. Am impressed with tailoring a jacket without instructions. Kudos!
11/29/09 3:47 PM
Monica Ann said...
Wow!!!!!! Excellent stitching and tailoring. It looks like a custom jacket made by a designer. Am impressed with tailoring a jacket without instructions. Kudos!
11/29/09 3:47 PM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful jacket and very nicely done (as usual). The fabric looks perfect on this and I love all the details.
11/29/09 12:50 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a beautiful jacket--it has wonderful style elements and fits you soo well! Looks great on you!
11/29/09 9:37 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Just a lovely jacket... so well done!
11/29/09 9:29 AM
Geordie Girl said...
Beautiful jacket.
11/29/09 6:10 AM
RuthieSews said...
A beautiful jacket and a fabulously detailed review. Thank you
11/29/09 5:36 AM
feldmanTcat said...
Thanks for the detailed review - the info on your techniques for interfacing were really helpful. Great jacket!
11/28/09 7:15 PM
lynnewill said...
A lovely Jacket! Marfy does such wonderful details and and you executed them quite well. I have a similar style from them #1735 that I want to do for my daughter and seeing your jacket makes me quite anxious to get to it. Thanks for a comprehensive review. Well done.
11/28/09 7:01 PM
marec said...
Your jacket is so pretty and looks as though it fits like a glove. I love the tweed you used. Thank you for the extensive sewing notes in your review. I have saved this to refer to on my next jacket.
11/28/09 6:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

McCall's 5114 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Marfy 2762

photo
by: Re Becca

Review
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

More Info
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

More Info