Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2009-108 (Overblouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 478 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:ALY
photo
Friend of PR
About ALYstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/23/09 9:51 PM
Last Updated:11/23/09 9:56 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
meli88a said...
Snicker?! No way! This is awesome, and looks great on you. I didn't really care for the shape of this top in the magazine but yours looks so chic and wearable.
11/23/09 10:24 PM
amy in mpls said...
I think its awesome too! I just jot my issue today, and I think this pattern is really cute!
11/23/09 10:29 PM
amy in mpls said...
I think its awesome too! I just jot my issue today, and I think this pattern is really cute!
11/23/09 10:29 PM
Speech girl said...
Your blouse is lovely and looks great on you. It would be a wonderful garment to wear on a festive occasion.
11/23/09 10:32 PM
Karen6790 said...
I just got my December issue in today's mail and you're done already? It looks great - and while you're right, the sleeve style might not last forever - it's a great shape even for a different sleeve. Thanks for the notes on the sleeve construction.
11/23/09 11:51 PM
Maree P said...
Aly, I think your blouse is superb. It reminds me of a 1930s silhouette. Your suggestion to snicker is out of the question - sincerely, you and this blouse look great - please wear it.
11/24/09 0:42 AM
michalklimer said...
This is just great! Wow!
11/24/09 0:51 AM
Patzee said...
Amazing! Hey, I just got my issue today and you've already made this incredible top and written a review.
11/24/09 1:21 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Love, Love, Love the sleeves! Lovely top! Thanks for posting!
11/24/09 3:20 AM
Sic said...
Wow! The top is very striking - nice work!
11/24/09 8:17 AM
Bernadette W said...
How fabulous! My issue came yesterday and I couldn't visualize this blouse from the technical drawing....but you have it figured out, made and reviewed!!!
11/24/09 10:00 AM
Diane E said...
Gorgeous! laughing? headshaking? No way! I'm impressed by your quick, chic, beautiful work!
11/24/09 10:36 AM
Ann Smith said...
Terrific. Please wear it! And I agree on your comments about sewing something because it interests you. Too much practicality bogs us down.
11/24/09 11:53 AM
beangirl said...
I'd already snarked a bit about this pattern on my blog pretty much the instant I saw it, but I have to say I'm impressed with your version (much more so than the one in the magazine). Your sewing skills definitely have added to it's interest. And I also applaud someone who sews interesting things just for the challenge. I still can't really get completely behind this style as a "real person" garment, but it really does look pretty spectacular on you. I hope you have a holiday party you can wear it to, you'll be fab!
11/28/09 10:10 PM
verobiride said...
WOW, you are brave :-) I saw this pattern, difficult not to, it is eye catching. But I don't think it will fit me. However, yours looks great. Thanks for visiting and commenting!
12/14/09 4:46 AM
inkstain said...
Aly, you have inspired me to try this out for a special concert evening we'll be doing in February. An edgy, expensive crowd who will know what I'm aiming for. You've really inspired me!
12/28/09 11:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 1783
photo
Review by MrsCharism... on 12/22/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lucy Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lucy Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1805
photo
Review by moonthirty on 7/2/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8052 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Vogue 8052 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5895 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 5895 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us