SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2009-108 (Overblouse)

Viewed 479 times 
Reviewed by:ALY
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ALYstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/23/09 9:51 PM
Last Updated:11/23/09 9:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
inkstain said...
Aly, you have inspired me to try this out for a special concert evening we'll be doing in February. An edgy, expensive crowd who will know what I'm aiming for. You've really inspired me!
12/28/09 11:52 AM
verobiride said...
WOW, you are brave :-) I saw this pattern, difficult not to, it is eye catching. But I don't think it will fit me. However, yours looks great. Thanks for visiting and commenting!
12/14/09 4:46 AM
beangirl said...
I'd already snarked a bit about this pattern on my blog pretty much the instant I saw it, but I have to say I'm impressed with your version (much more so than the one in the magazine). Your sewing skills definitely have added to it's interest. And I also applaud someone who sews interesting things just for the challenge. I still can't really get completely behind this style as a "real person" garment, but it really does look pretty spectacular on you. I hope you have a holiday party you can wear it to, you'll be fab!
11/28/09 10:10 PM
Ann Smith said...
Terrific. Please wear it! And I agree on your comments about sewing something because it interests you. Too much practicality bogs us down.
11/24/09 11:53 AM
Diane E said...
Gorgeous! laughing? headshaking? No way! I'm impressed by your quick, chic, beautiful work!
11/24/09 10:36 AM
Bernadette W said...
How fabulous! My issue came yesterday and I couldn't visualize this blouse from the technical drawing....but you have it figured out, made and reviewed!!!
11/24/09 10:00 AM
Sic said...
Wow! The top is very striking - nice work!
11/24/09 8:17 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Love, Love, Love the sleeves! Lovely top! Thanks for posting!
11/24/09 3:20 AM
Patzee said...
Amazing! Hey, I just got my issue today and you've already made this incredible top and written a review.
11/24/09 1:21 AM
michalklimer said...
This is just great! Wow!
11/24/09 0:51 AM
Maree P said...
Aly, I think your blouse is superb. It reminds me of a 1930s silhouette. Your suggestion to snicker is out of the question - sincerely, you and this blouse look great - please wear it.
11/24/09 0:42 AM
Karen6790 said...
I just got my December issue in today's mail and you're done already? It looks great - and while you're right, the sleeve style might not last forever - it's a great shape even for a different sleeve. Thanks for the notes on the sleeve construction.
11/23/09 11:51 PM
Speech girl said...
Your blouse is lovely and looks great on you. It would be a wonderful garment to wear on a festive occasion.
11/23/09 10:32 PM
amy in mpls said...
I think its awesome too! I just jot my issue today, and I think this pattern is really cute!
11/23/09 10:29 PM
amy in mpls said...
I think its awesome too! I just jot my issue today, and I think this pattern is really cute!
11/23/09 10:29 PM
meli88a said...
Snicker?! No way! This is awesome, and looks great on you. I didn't really care for the shape of this top in the magazine but yours looks so chic and wearable.
11/23/09 10:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2013-15

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
Butterick 5678

photo
by: MrsCharism...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

More Info