Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5968 (Women's Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 734 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/09 10:02 PM
Last Updated:11/25/09 8:47 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Immelu said...
OMG, that is a FANTASTIC DRESS!!!!!!!!! I love your use of colors and Cathy sure does get to have alot of fun!!!!!
11/24/09 10:20 PM
Mermie said...
I love this dress! Also really jealous of your identical cousin Cathy. She gets all the cool clothes!
11/24/09 10:48 PM
pammieh said...
Congrats on a great dress!!
11/24/09 11:36 PM
eword10 said...
Cathy sure does look like you. Very striking figure. Love the dress. Great idea about the reds.
11/25/09 0:07 AM
Aixoise said...
Great story! I look forward to following future Cathy adventures and to seeing her fab wardrobe.
11/25/09 0:51 AM
fourkid said...
Very nicely done. I love your stories. A hook and eye at the top of the zipper might hold the collar down a bit better in the back.
11/25/09 1:34 AM
lamstu said...
Great dress, love the unexpected use of the three related colors!
11/25/09 8:35 AM
Lynnelle said...
I. Heart. Cathy. Peter, I am growing increasingly jealous of your wonderful dresses! Make me one now, damnit! =) As always, very well done. I love the story!
11/25/09 8:38 AM
sew obsessed said...
Nicely done Peter!
11/25/09 8:43 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, all! I did install a hook and eye at the top of the zipper, but it tended to open up. I think the back of the collar really needs two or three of these to keep the collar down (or up if that's how you want it) and the two sides together. Any ideas about the best way to hem wool crepe?
11/25/09 8:53 AM
Rhoda K said...
Please post a photo of Sara when her dress is completed. Great job.
11/25/09 9:38 AM
lisa m said...
oooh, I'd dance a mad meringue for Jean Luc also. Or make him one. Thanks lots.
11/25/09 9:44 AM
mesewlot said...
I love this dress! As for the he, whenever I've sewn with wool crepe, I would hem using either the hong kong finish or just sege the edge (to keep from unraveling) and apply a hem tape and do a blind stitch or catch stitch to hold in place. This keeps the bulk down and doesn''t make your hem heavy. Great job!
11/25/09 9:59 AM
Elona said...
I love the unexpected color combinations in this very pretty dress! And I am knocked out by the photos of your construction sequence. These pics would make a wonderful tutorial for beginning sewists.
11/25/09 11:46 AM
RobinMCPA said...
Great dress, and I loved the Cathy saga!
11/25/09 11:55 AM
Sew Shy said...
Oh Peter, the dress is tres chic and Cathy's story is awesome!
11/25/09 1:12 PM
Sigrid. said...
Great way of working with these similar colors. And your picture story is a good way to show off the beautiful dress.
11/25/09 5:44 PM
valerie sews said...
Great dress and very artistic use of the three coloured wool crepes. You could hem this by applying some bias binding. I just overstitch it along the edge of the fabric and then hem by hand. This is a good hemming method for difficult springy fabrics. Glad to see Cathy back. I love her adventures.
11/26/09 5:53 AM
Beek said...
Great dress, Peter. For the hem, I would try "Steam-A-Seam". I use that stuff for ultrasuede skirts wear the hem stitching may show.
11/26/09 10:07 AM
The Sassy SEWer said...
Peter, to answer your question about the hem. Apply lace hem tape, press under hem and blindstitch. GREAT DRESS!
11/27/09 4:00 PM
marec said...
Peter, you definitely need to write a book. Lovely dress, and very, very creative.
11/28/09 6:47 PM
Ceidhle said...
How creative to come up with that color combination. It is terrific.
11/29/09 3:53 PM
colorkitten said...
It's fantastic! I would love to see it in person, I have the feeling the photos don't do the colors justice.
12/1/09 9:53 AM
Peter in NYC said...
For some reason those reds are hard to capture in all their glory. The Cathy shots show the contrast off best, I think. Marec, I SHOULD write a book. But what about? Suggestions welcome!
12/1/09 8:48 PM
HLT said...
I like your technique with the colors. It's pretty!
12/1/09 8:53 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Peter I adore you and your dresses are F.A.B.!!!! But more Cathy please please please!! I love Cathy!!
12/4/09 2:31 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress in really gorgeous colours. I hope you get a lot of wear out of it.
12/12/09 5:08 AM
Sandi S said...
Awesome dress - love the photo story as well.
1/4/10 5:37 PM
katie lynne said...
I very much enjoy the Cathy sagas! This is a charming rendition of this pattern. I especially liked seeing the sleeve pattern piece--I love the blouson effect it gives. I'd like to try incorporating it on a favorite blouse...hmmmn.
1/16/10 8:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

McCall's 6241
photo
Review by Jade Butte... on 7/10/11
Read Review

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4600
photo
Review by Allisonsew... on 3/20/05
Read Review

McCalls 5871 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5871 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1759 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1759 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us