SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5968 (Women's Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 734 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/09 10:02 PM
Last Updated:11/25/09 8:47 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Immelu said...
OMG, that is a FANTASTIC DRESS!!!!!!!!! I love your use of colors and Cathy sure does get to have alot of fun!!!!!
11/24/09 10:20 PM
Mermie said...
I love this dress! Also really jealous of your identical cousin Cathy. She gets all the cool clothes!
11/24/09 10:48 PM
pammieh said...
Congrats on a great dress!!
11/24/09 11:36 PM
eword10 said...
Cathy sure does look like you. Very striking figure. Love the dress. Great idea about the reds.
11/25/09 0:07 AM
Aixoise said...
Great story! I look forward to following future Cathy adventures and to seeing her fab wardrobe.
11/25/09 0:51 AM
fourkid said...
Very nicely done. I love your stories. A hook and eye at the top of the zipper might hold the collar down a bit better in the back.
11/25/09 1:34 AM
lamstu said...
Great dress, love the unexpected use of the three related colors!
11/25/09 8:35 AM
Lynnelle said...
I. Heart. Cathy. Peter, I am growing increasingly jealous of your wonderful dresses! Make me one now, damnit! =) As always, very well done. I love the story!
11/25/09 8:38 AM
sew obsessed said...
Nicely done Peter!
11/25/09 8:43 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, all! I did install a hook and eye at the top of the zipper, but it tended to open up. I think the back of the collar really needs two or three of these to keep the collar down (or up if that's how you want it) and the two sides together. Any ideas about the best way to hem wool crepe?
11/25/09 8:53 AM
Rhoda K said...
Please post a photo of Sara when her dress is completed. Great job.
11/25/09 9:38 AM
lisa m said...
oooh, I'd dance a mad meringue for Jean Luc also. Or make him one. Thanks lots.
11/25/09 9:44 AM
mesewlot said...
I love this dress! As for the he, whenever I've sewn with wool crepe, I would hem using either the hong kong finish or just sege the edge (to keep from unraveling) and apply a hem tape and do a blind stitch or catch stitch to hold in place. This keeps the bulk down and doesn''t make your hem heavy. Great job!
11/25/09 9:59 AM
Elona said...
I love the unexpected color combinations in this very pretty dress! And I am knocked out by the photos of your construction sequence. These pics would make a wonderful tutorial for beginning sewists.
11/25/09 11:46 AM
RobinMCPA said...
Great dress, and I loved the Cathy saga!
11/25/09 11:55 AM
Sew Shy said...
Oh Peter, the dress is tres chic and Cathy's story is awesome!
11/25/09 1:12 PM
Sigrid. said...
Great way of working with these similar colors. And your picture story is a good way to show off the beautiful dress.
11/25/09 5:44 PM
valerie sews said...
Great dress and very artistic use of the three coloured wool crepes. You could hem this by applying some bias binding. I just overstitch it along the edge of the fabric and then hem by hand. This is a good hemming method for difficult springy fabrics. Glad to see Cathy back. I love her adventures.
11/26/09 5:53 AM
Beek said...
Great dress, Peter. For the hem, I would try "Steam-A-Seam". I use that stuff for ultrasuede skirts wear the hem stitching may show.
11/26/09 10:07 AM
The Sassy SEWer said...
Peter, to answer your question about the hem. Apply lace hem tape, press under hem and blindstitch. GREAT DRESS!
11/27/09 4:00 PM
marec said...
Peter, you definitely need to write a book. Lovely dress, and very, very creative.
11/28/09 6:47 PM
Ceidhle said...
How creative to come up with that color combination. It is terrific.
11/29/09 3:53 PM
colorkitten said...
It's fantastic! I would love to see it in person, I have the feeling the photos don't do the colors justice.
12/1/09 9:53 AM
Peter in NYC said...
For some reason those reds are hard to capture in all their glory. The Cathy shots show the contrast off best, I think. Marec, I SHOULD write a book. But what about? Suggestions welcome!
12/1/09 8:48 PM
HLT said...
I like your technique with the colors. It's pretty!
12/1/09 8:53 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Peter I adore you and your dresses are F.A.B.!!!! But more Cathy please please please!! I love Cathy!!
12/4/09 2:31 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress in really gorgeous colours. I hope you get a lot of wear out of it.
12/12/09 5:08 AM
Sandi S said...
Awesome dress - love the photo story as well.
1/4/10 5:37 PM
katie lynne said...
I very much enjoy the Cathy sagas! This is a charming rendition of this pattern. I especially liked seeing the sleeve pattern piece--I love the blouson effect it gives. I'd like to try incorporating it on a favorite blouse...hmmmn.
1/16/10 8:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 1248

photo
by: pegsewer

Review
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Buy Now
McCall's 6460

photo
by: irem

Review