SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5987 

6 more reviews
Viewed 657 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 206
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 205
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/09 2:10 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said... (3/26/12 10:43 PM) Reply
Hi, Sharon. Wonderful review! Thank you so much. I confess.. I'm greener than a cabbage at sewing, and bought this pattern (amongst others) as an easy start. Then after reading some of the reviews, I was nervous about the mitered corners. I love the idea that you found a solution, but as a noob I just can't visualize the 'diagonal' part. Do you have a pic of it, or can you suggest any images/resources to make it clearer? Thanks! :) Looks great on you, btw.
valgal said... (7/8/10 9:18 PM) Reply
I just purchased this pattern. Your coat turned out beautifully and your pictures are very helpful. I will be making this for my winter wordrobe soon enough.
Athene said... (12/22/09 12:26 PM) Reply
Very nice coat - really like how it drapes.
yorkshire lass said... (11/29/09 5:21 AM) Reply
Beautiful coat. You look wonderful in it.
Heatherrique said... (11/28/09 11:31 PM) Reply
Sophisticated and cosmopolitan chic! Thanks for a very helpful review!
Barbara V said... (11/28/09 10:14 PM) Reply
Lovely coat with style that suits you nicely. Great work on those mitered corners; I like your method.
twistedangel said... (11/28/09 4:23 PM) Reply
Very classy (and versatile) pick. You're right, this style is very "in" right now. Looks awesome on you!!
marec said... (11/28/09 2:32 PM) Reply
Sharon, this looks so good on you! Much better than the pattern envelope. I love the color with your orange purse. Nce work!!
Sharon M said... (11/28/09 2:22 PM) Reply
Hi Janie, Yes, I think adding a large hook and eye at the neck would give it more versatility. I do plan on adding closures as the weather here really requires a coat that closes. I'll look forward to seeing your review!
Janie Viers said... (11/28/09 2:14 PM) Reply
Do you think that adding a super large hook and eye at the neck to keep it closed would allow one to tie the scarf in different ways? It is a nice jacket, I have the pattern and appreciate the size advice - even if I can make a straight 22 without adding ease!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

No Pattern Used 001

photo
by: nothy lane

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Pattern Details
Lekala Patterns 6131

photo
by: BirdyBooo

Review