SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5987 

4 more reviews
Viewed 626 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 213
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 212
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/09 2:10 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Janie Viers said...
Do you think that adding a super large hook and eye at the neck to keep it closed would allow one to tie the scarf in different ways? It is a nice jacket, I have the pattern and appreciate the size advice - even if I can make a straight 22 without adding ease!
11/28/09 2:14 PM
Sharon M said...
Hi Janie, Yes, I think adding a large hook and eye at the neck would give it more versatility. I do plan on adding closures as the weather here really requires a coat that closes. I'll look forward to seeing your review!
11/28/09 2:22 PM
marec said...
Sharon, this looks so good on you! Much better than the pattern envelope. I love the color with your orange purse. Nce work!!
11/28/09 2:32 PM
twistedangel said...
Very classy (and versatile) pick. You're right, this style is very "in" right now. Looks awesome on you!!
11/28/09 4:23 PM
Barbara V said...
Lovely coat with style that suits you nicely. Great work on those mitered corners; I like your method.
11/28/09 10:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sophisticated and cosmopolitan chic! Thanks for a very helpful review!
11/28/09 11:31 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Beautiful coat. You look wonderful in it.
11/29/09 5:21 AM
Athene said...
Very nice coat - really like how it drapes.
12/22/09 12:26 PM
valgal said...
I just purchased this pattern. Your coat turned out beautifully and your pictures are very helpful. I will be making this for my winter wordrobe soon enough.
7/8/10 9:18 PM
Gendun said...
Hi, Sharon. Wonderful review! Thank you so much. I confess.. I'm greener than a cabbage at sewing, and bought this pattern (amongst others) as an easy start. Then after reading some of the reviews, I was nervous about the mitered corners. I love the idea that you found a solution, but as a noob I just can't visualize the 'diagonal' part. Do you have a pic of it, or can you suggest any images/resources to make it clearer? Thanks! :) Looks great on you, btw.
3/26/12 10:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Kwik Sew 3142

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
No Pattern Used 000000

photo
by: Sassy T

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now