SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5987 

5 more reviews
Viewed 643 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 206
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 205
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/09 2:10 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said...
Hi, Sharon. Wonderful review! Thank you so much. I confess.. I'm greener than a cabbage at sewing, and bought this pattern (amongst others) as an easy start. Then after reading some of the reviews, I was nervous about the mitered corners. I love the idea that you found a solution, but as a noob I just can't visualize the 'diagonal' part. Do you have a pic of it, or can you suggest any images/resources to make it clearer? Thanks! :) Looks great on you, btw.
3/26/12 10:43 PM
valgal said...
I just purchased this pattern. Your coat turned out beautifully and your pictures are very helpful. I will be making this for my winter wordrobe soon enough.
7/8/10 9:18 PM
Athene said...
Very nice coat - really like how it drapes.
12/22/09 12:26 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Beautiful coat. You look wonderful in it.
11/29/09 5:21 AM
Heatherrique said...
Sophisticated and cosmopolitan chic! Thanks for a very helpful review!
11/28/09 11:31 PM
Barbara V said...
Lovely coat with style that suits you nicely. Great work on those mitered corners; I like your method.
11/28/09 10:14 PM
twistedangel said...
Very classy (and versatile) pick. You're right, this style is very "in" right now. Looks awesome on you!!
11/28/09 4:23 PM
marec said...
Sharon, this looks so good on you! Much better than the pattern envelope. I love the color with your orange purse. Nce work!!
11/28/09 2:32 PM
Sharon M said...
Hi Janie, Yes, I think adding a large hook and eye at the neck would give it more versatility. I do plan on adding closures as the weather here really requires a coat that closes. I'll look forward to seeing your review!
11/28/09 2:22 PM
Janie Viers said...
Do you think that adding a super large hook and eye at the neck to keep it closed would allow one to tie the scarf in different ways? It is a nice jacket, I have the pattern and appreciate the size advice - even if I can make a straight 22 without adding ease!
11/28/09 2:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Simplicity 5316

photo
by: Anelie

Review
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

More Info
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

More Info
brerrabbit.com KID Pants

photo
by: balrojka

Review