SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3039 (Fitted Western-Style Shirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 2316 times 
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 244 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/04 6:43 PM
Last Updated:2/6/05 9:12 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Leslie, it sounds great, but I can't see the photo.
2/21/04 6:59 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Yeah, I don't know what's going on with the thumbnails in my reviews. Click where the thumbnail should be--the full-size photo will come up.
2/21/04 7:06 PM
els said...
Leslie great shirt, you are no beginner anymore.
2/21/04 7:36 PM
CatherineN said...
Unusual style and very attractive fabric and trim. What a relief for you to get the good fit.
2/21/04 8:49 PM
jlg said...
Very nice looking shirt. I like your piping. I hadn't realized that you considered yourself a beginner. You've got to change that.
2/21/04 9:13 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice looking shirt, I think you are past the beginner stage.
2/21/04 9:25 PM
Lori V said...
love your shirt. The piping really sets off the shirt
2/21/04 10:23 PM
MaryBeth said...
What a pretty Texas lady shirt! Perfect!
2/22/04 3:29 AM
JDpenelope said...
Leslie, you're making the real beginners look bad! Terrific shirt.
2/22/04 7:27 AM
SewingSusan said...
Leslie, great shirt. You are really becoming an expert at fitting!
2/22/04 8:29 AM
cindyann said...
That's beautiful. Well done as usual. What was your procedure for putting in the snaps? Any tips?
2/22/04 8:55 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
*Blush*. As a good Texas girl in a western shirt would say, y'all are so swee-eet! The snaps are no-sew Dritz Color Snaps and are put in with a little plastic gizmo. Very simple, unless you are being a space cadet (ask me how I know). A couple of tips: use a hammer/mallet and a sturdy surface to make sure they go in and stay in, pay close attention to which side of the snap goes on which side of the placket, and read the label on the package (navy blue looks remarkably like black in the store). The pattern gives suggestions on placement, but instead I started by putting my first snap at the bust line where shirts usually gap and then spaced them evenly from there.
2/22/04 11:09 AM
alex said...
Great shirt! I agree, time to update your sewing profile! You make beautiful things!
2/22/04 11:22 AM
Linda E. said...
Great looking shirt for a Texan
2/22/04 12:41 PM
Teri said...
Leslie, thanks for the review. I have this pattern and I need to make it for my friend who barrel races. Your shirt looks great!
2/22/04 4:35 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Leslie, your shirt is great! It looks so terrific. I can't believe that you would consider yourself a beginner. Did you use flat felled seams for the non yoke parts? Thanks!
2/22/04 10:23 PM
Mollykat said...
I agree, good fit is the reason! Hurray for you on keeping at it until you got the fitting challenge licked. I really, really like your top.
2/23/04 7:50 AM
SouthernStitch said...
That moleskin looks great - and the pink for your niece will be very fashionable. Now that you've done this, any more button down wovens by KS shouldn't be too bad.
2/23/04 12:19 PM
Skymom said...
Leslie, check out the Snap Source snaps--they have this little tool for setting that snaps that is practically fool-proof, and the snaps come in loads of colors and sizes, including pearl. I love your shirt, and your nieces.
3/19/04 12:21 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Cute shirt and niece! The fit looks good to me, and the pleased expression on her face is adorable. I love the pink!
3/19/04 12:25 PM
SandraB said...
Leslie, this is a fabulous looking shirt, and the fabric looks very luxurious. You are no beginner!!
3/19/04 1:01 PM
AuntieShel said...
Anyone who can make a shirt like this is NOT a beginner!! Absolutely fantastic.
3/20/04 8:08 AM
Deepika said...
Leslie, both shirts are very nice and they look very well fitting too!
3/20/04 9:00 AM
PVA said...
All I can say is ditto to all above. I'd love to try this for my DGD -- does the 4-H county & state fair western events. I just know she'd love this shirt. Great review, my hat is off to you!
5/15/04 11:52 PM
BjP said...
I agree, MUCH cuter than the pattern pic! It's way, way cool...love it!
2/6/05 5:47 PM
Lisette said...
Love your new version. I would have never guessed that it came from a Western style shirt!
2/6/05 8:30 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Tsk, Tsk, Leslie! Beginner no more, I would say ... really nice job onthe piping! Very even and smooth! If I were you I would make a sloper for your bodice pieces and pin it to the wall of your sewing room: then you will have any button shirt aced!
2/7/05 1:09 PM
AnneM said...
Love it! I had missed your update (thanks for letting me know!). Your new top looks great. And I really like the snaps; what a great touch. Someday I'll get brave enough to use snaps.
2/9/05 4:43 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
*Scream* I love the back view!
6/29/06 4:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 8565

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now