Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2680 (Women's City Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 739 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:norasroom
photo
Friend of PR
About norasroomstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/21/09
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/09 7:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
skae said...
it looks so nice. I like the pokadots that you used for the lining. I just might have to try that pattern. Have fun wearing it.
12/2/09 7:37 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Cool coat. How did you seal the seam?
12/2/09 8:15 PM
stretch queen said...
I love that you got want you shouldn't have :) Enjoy. It looks fantastic.
12/2/09 8:30 PM
sewing for fun said...
Wow! What great fabric and such a beautiful raincoat! Love it!
12/2/09 8:33 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Wow, fantastic fabric! A great-looking coat.
12/2/09 9:20 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Love it! everyone needs flowers on a rainy day.
12/2/09 9:54 PM
norasroom said...
@okie2thdoc: I didn't seal the seams with anything, although I did use polyester thread which resists wicking. I figured if it worked for cloth diapers it would work for this; a raincoat is sort of like a cloth diaper in reverse. I would probably use a seam sealant for more heavy duty rain gear but it held up to our torrential rains today.
12/2/09 10:11 PM
kathigarn said...
I just love it!! Once I get mine made, we will have to meet -- imagine the stares!!!! You did a very nice job. I am impressed with the adjustments you made.
12/2/09 10:27 PM
norasroom said...
We would be quite the sight! Can't wait to see how yours turns out.
12/2/09 11:08 PM
sew2little said...
This rocks--you will brighten up many rainy days in this beauty!
12/2/09 11:12 PM
SueV said...
cute, cute, cute. Love what you did. great jacket
12/3/09 0:01 AM
Patti B said...
Darling raincoat! I had totally missed this pattern and it's very tempting. Thanks for pointing it out.
12/3/09 0:36 AM
Stephanie C. said...
That is fantastic!! I made one in a a boring stretch gray twill, but I really love yours!!!!
12/3/09 2:19 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You know, being seen from afar is rather a virtue for a raincoat, which you're presumably wearing on grey days. Consider it as built-in self-defense against aggressive or distracted drivers! The PowerShield recommended is only slightly stretchy, so no wonder the pattern works well for woven fabrics too. This fits you very well indeed.
12/3/09 5:18 AM
BillieJean said...
We need to be seen from a mile away on a rainy day. This is just too cute.
12/3/09 5:52 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
What fun...you need a cute hat to go with your adorable raincoat. Raindrops on roses!
12/3/09 7:52 AM
Ciclista said...
Fabulous job at matching the fabric's pattern - a beautiful coat!
12/3/09 8:47 AM
Beek said...
I LOVE it! This coat will cheer up everyone who sees it on a rainy day. Great idea!
12/3/09 8:49 AM
JEF said...
Love it!
12/3/09 8:53 AM
norasroom said...
Thanks for your kind comments. @Ndorfpins: would you believe that the pattern matching was entirely serendipitous? It probably wouldn't have worked out as well if I did it on purpose.
12/3/09 10:13 AM
nglalala said...
Love it!!
12/3/09 4:35 PM
carolynw said...
Oh I so love this - you are going to brighten up any rainy day and bring smiles of pleasure to all. Great sewing and terrific fabric - love your style!!
12/4/09 9:08 AM
Jane S said...
What a fantastic rain coat, just the thing to brighten your spirits on a cloudy day.
12/4/09 4:13 PM
Jali said...
Wanting what we shouldn't have works fabulously sometimes. Especially if you end up with a masterpiece like this. Just beautiful!
12/6/09 0:21 AM
Sandi S said...
Lovely jackets
4/16/10 8:39 PM
Courtney Ostaff said...
I LOVE that fabric! It's so cheerful! I am amazed at all those alterations--I wouldn't know how to do 1/4 of those! I'm so inspired to learn!
1/3/12 11:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

No Pattern Used story board
photo
Review by bananaoil on 3/19/11
Read Review

Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Drafted from RTW 0001
photo
Review by Mosews2 on 6/7/13
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9780 Pattern
Burda 9780 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6176 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6176 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us