SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2680 (Women's City Coat)

19 more reviews
Viewed 752 times 
Reviewed by:norasroom
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About norasroomstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/21/09
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/09 7:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
skae said...
it looks so nice. I like the pokadots that you used for the lining. I just might have to try that pattern. Have fun wearing it.
12/2/09 7:37 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Cool coat. How did you seal the seam?
12/2/09 8:15 PM
stretch queen said...
I love that you got want you shouldn't have :) Enjoy. It looks fantastic.
12/2/09 8:30 PM
sewing for fun said...
Wow! What great fabric and such a beautiful raincoat! Love it!
12/2/09 8:33 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Wow, fantastic fabric! A great-looking coat.
12/2/09 9:20 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Love it! everyone needs flowers on a rainy day.
12/2/09 9:54 PM
norasroom said...
@okie2thdoc: I didn't seal the seams with anything, although I did use polyester thread which resists wicking. I figured if it worked for cloth diapers it would work for this; a raincoat is sort of like a cloth diaper in reverse. I would probably use a seam sealant for more heavy duty rain gear but it held up to our torrential rains today.
12/2/09 10:11 PM
kathigarn said...
I just love it!! Once I get mine made, we will have to meet -- imagine the stares!!!! You did a very nice job. I am impressed with the adjustments you made.
12/2/09 10:27 PM
norasroom said...
We would be quite the sight! Can't wait to see how yours turns out.
12/2/09 11:08 PM
sew2little said...
This rocks--you will brighten up many rainy days in this beauty!
12/2/09 11:12 PM
SueV said...
cute, cute, cute. Love what you did. great jacket
12/3/09 0:01 AM
Patti B said...
Darling raincoat! I had totally missed this pattern and it's very tempting. Thanks for pointing it out.
12/3/09 0:36 AM
Stephanie C. said...
That is fantastic!! I made one in a a boring stretch gray twill, but I really love yours!!!!
12/3/09 2:19 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You know, being seen from afar is rather a virtue for a raincoat, which you're presumably wearing on grey days. Consider it as built-in self-defense against aggressive or distracted drivers! The PowerShield recommended is only slightly stretchy, so no wonder the pattern works well for woven fabrics too. This fits you very well indeed.
12/3/09 5:18 AM
BillieJean said...
We need to be seen from a mile away on a rainy day. This is just too cute.
12/3/09 5:52 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
What fun...you need a cute hat to go with your adorable raincoat. Raindrops on roses!
12/3/09 7:52 AM
Ciclista said...
Fabulous job at matching the fabric's pattern - a beautiful coat!
12/3/09 8:47 AM
Beek said...
I LOVE it! This coat will cheer up everyone who sees it on a rainy day. Great idea!
12/3/09 8:49 AM
JEF said...
Love it!
12/3/09 8:53 AM
norasroom said...
Thanks for your kind comments. @Ndorfpins: would you believe that the pattern matching was entirely serendipitous? It probably wouldn't have worked out as well if I did it on purpose.
12/3/09 10:13 AM
nglalala said...
Love it!!
12/3/09 4:35 PM
carolynw said...
Oh I so love this - you are going to brighten up any rainy day and bring smiles of pleasure to all. Great sewing and terrific fabric - love your style!!
12/4/09 9:08 AM
Jane S said...
What a fantastic rain coat, just the thing to brighten your spirits on a cloudy day.
12/4/09 4:13 PM
Jali said...
Wanting what we shouldn't have works fabulously sometimes. Especially if you end up with a masterpiece like this. Just beautiful!
12/6/09 0:21 AM
Sandi S said...
Lovely jackets
4/16/10 8:39 PM
Courtney Ostaff said...
I LOVE that fabric! It's so cheerful! I am amazed at all those alterations--I wouldn't know how to do 1/4 of those! I'm so inspired to learn!
1/3/12 11:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Butterick 5640

photo
by: Aurelie

Review
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now
Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 37351-1002

photo
by: LauraJ

Review