SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2680 (Women's City Coat)

19 more reviews
Viewed 767 times 
Reviewed by:norasroom
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About norasroomstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/21/09
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/09 7:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Courtney Ostaff said...
I LOVE that fabric! It's so cheerful! I am amazed at all those alterations--I wouldn't know how to do 1/4 of those! I'm so inspired to learn!
1/3/12 11:13 AM
Sandi S said...
Lovely jackets
4/16/10 8:39 PM
Jali said...
Wanting what we shouldn't have works fabulously sometimes. Especially if you end up with a masterpiece like this. Just beautiful!
12/6/09 0:21 AM
Jane S said...
What a fantastic rain coat, just the thing to brighten your spirits on a cloudy day.
12/4/09 4:13 PM
carolynw said...
Oh I so love this - you are going to brighten up any rainy day and bring smiles of pleasure to all. Great sewing and terrific fabric - love your style!!
12/4/09 9:08 AM
nglalala said...
Love it!!
12/3/09 4:35 PM
norasroom said...
Thanks for your kind comments. @Ndorfpins: would you believe that the pattern matching was entirely serendipitous? It probably wouldn't have worked out as well if I did it on purpose.
12/3/09 10:13 AM
JEF said...
Love it!
12/3/09 8:53 AM
Beek said...
I LOVE it! This coat will cheer up everyone who sees it on a rainy day. Great idea!
12/3/09 8:49 AM
Ciclista said...
Fabulous job at matching the fabric's pattern - a beautiful coat!
12/3/09 8:47 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
What fun...you need a cute hat to go with your adorable raincoat. Raindrops on roses!
12/3/09 7:52 AM
BillieJean said...
We need to be seen from a mile away on a rainy day. This is just too cute.
12/3/09 5:52 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You know, being seen from afar is rather a virtue for a raincoat, which you're presumably wearing on grey days. Consider it as built-in self-defense against aggressive or distracted drivers! The PowerShield recommended is only slightly stretchy, so no wonder the pattern works well for woven fabrics too. This fits you very well indeed.
12/3/09 5:18 AM
Stephanie C. said...
That is fantastic!! I made one in a a boring stretch gray twill, but I really love yours!!!!
12/3/09 2:19 AM
Patti B said...
Darling raincoat! I had totally missed this pattern and it's very tempting. Thanks for pointing it out.
12/3/09 0:36 AM
SueV said...
cute, cute, cute. Love what you did. great jacket
12/3/09 0:01 AM
sew2little said...
This rocks--you will brighten up many rainy days in this beauty!
12/2/09 11:12 PM
norasroom said...
We would be quite the sight! Can't wait to see how yours turns out.
12/2/09 11:08 PM
kathigarn said...
I just love it!! Once I get mine made, we will have to meet -- imagine the stares!!!! You did a very nice job. I am impressed with the adjustments you made.
12/2/09 10:27 PM
norasroom said...
@okie2thdoc: I didn't seal the seams with anything, although I did use polyester thread which resists wicking. I figured if it worked for cloth diapers it would work for this; a raincoat is sort of like a cloth diaper in reverse. I would probably use a seam sealant for more heavy duty rain gear but it held up to our torrential rains today.
12/2/09 10:11 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Love it! everyone needs flowers on a rainy day.
12/2/09 9:54 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Wow, fantastic fabric! A great-looking coat.
12/2/09 9:20 PM
sewing for fun said...
Wow! What great fabric and such a beautiful raincoat! Love it!
12/2/09 8:33 PM
stretch queen said...
I love that you got want you shouldn't have :) Enjoy. It looks fantastic.
12/2/09 8:30 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Cool coat. How did you seal the seam?
12/2/09 8:15 PM
skae said...
it looks so nice. I like the pokadots that you used for the lining. I just might have to try that pattern. Have fun wearing it.
12/2/09 7:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

McCall's 6236

photo
by: BADBamaBun...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 2126

photo
by: lauramae

Review