SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5853 (Sunset Seagulls Tank)

16 more reviews
Viewed 821 times 
Reviewed by:HLT
photo

 
 
About HLTstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/11/05
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/09 10:43 PM
Last Updated:7/4/10 1:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
Love your top. Great fabric choice and you've made the look so high end.
12/1/09 5:41 AM
BillieJean said...
I love the way you sew. Thinking outside the box - makes for such unique and beautiful fashion. Very well done!
12/1/09 6:50 AM
j222b said...
You've got talent!!!
12/1/09 12:37 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Gorgeous!
12/9/09 1:19 PM
sayhellojana said...
I love your version of this top, it's why I bought the pattern :)
5/17/10 2:19 AM
o3b said...
I like how you made the pattern differently. Although I like the pattern designs, they wouldn't particularly flatter me. I like your versions better, and could possibly wear them. Thanks for the ideas.
5/18/10 9:21 PM
MarshaG. said...
WOW! Your DIY's are FAB! On the random layered top, are most of them stitched to the bodice/body, or are they all attached at the neckline? I can't quite visualize the how-to, but certainly love it!
5/18/10 11:13 PM
Elke said...
Love these tops...you are very talented and creative!
5/18/10 11:30 PM
HLT said...
Thanks everyone for your comments. MarshaG., the fluttery laye are mostly attached to the bodice. Only 1 layer is sewn into the neckline seam binding. IMO, more than 1 extra layer sewn in will cause the seam to get chunky & not so pretty. Hope this helps!
5/18/10 11:41 PM
MarshaG. said...
Thanks HLT! I was thinking that the layers were stitched to the bodice for the same reason you mentioned - bulk at the neckline. It is a FAB top!
5/19/10 9:28 AM
annie11 said...
Very feminine and artistic! Thanks for the inspiration!
5/19/10 9:37 AM
JanaL said...
I love your ability to adapt patterns and use your creativity. Nice work!
5/19/10 12:14 PM
Kelroc said...
Beautiful!!!
5/20/10 8:01 PM
AlexaNJ said...
So beautiful!
6/29/10 10:14 AM
Erin D said...
Wow, your creativity makes for some beautiful clothing.
7/4/10 4:51 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Well... thanks to you and a few other reviews I have added this pattern to my list to buy next time McCalls is on sale. I normally wouldn't have picked this one out for a tank but "hey" it looks fantastic on you and all your versions. Worth a try! I really like how you design this basic T.....love all the looks!
7/4/10 6:47 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful work. It's so nice to see your creativity with this pattern through all of your tops. Lovely.
7/5/10 10:07 AM
MNBarb said...
You really have talent for choosing patterns and fabric that marry well. I think, perhaps, everything looks good on you!
7/6/10 12:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2011-131

photo
by: inkstain

Review
Sew Baby Twirly Dress

photo
by: treesaf

Review
SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Buy Now