Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5853 (Sunset Seagulls Tank) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 821 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:HLT
photo
About HLTstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/11/05
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/09 10:43 PM
Last Updated:7/4/10 1:19 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
Love your top. Great fabric choice and you've made the look so high end.
12/1/09 5:41 AM
BillieJean said...
I love the way you sew. Thinking outside the box - makes for such unique and beautiful fashion. Very well done!
12/1/09 6:50 AM
j222b said...
You've got talent!!!
12/1/09 12:37 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Gorgeous!
12/9/09 1:19 PM
sayhellojana said...
I love your version of this top, it's why I bought the pattern :)
5/17/10 2:19 AM
o3b said...
I like how you made the pattern differently. Although I like the pattern designs, they wouldn't particularly flatter me. I like your versions better, and could possibly wear them. Thanks for the ideas.
5/18/10 9:21 PM
MarshaG. said...
WOW! Your DIY's are FAB! On the random layered top, are most of them stitched to the bodice/body, or are they all attached at the neckline? I can't quite visualize the how-to, but certainly love it!
5/18/10 11:13 PM
Elke said...
Love these tops...you are very talented and creative!
5/18/10 11:30 PM
HLT said...
Thanks everyone for your comments. MarshaG., the fluttery laye are mostly attached to the bodice. Only 1 layer is sewn into the neckline seam binding. IMO, more than 1 extra layer sewn in will cause the seam to get chunky & not so pretty. Hope this helps!
5/18/10 11:41 PM
MarshaG. said...
Thanks HLT! I was thinking that the layers were stitched to the bodice for the same reason you mentioned - bulk at the neckline. It is a FAB top!
5/19/10 9:28 AM
annie11 said...
Very feminine and artistic! Thanks for the inspiration!
5/19/10 9:37 AM
JanaL said...
I love your ability to adapt patterns and use your creativity. Nice work!
5/19/10 12:14 PM
Kelroc said...
Beautiful!!!
5/20/10 8:01 PM
AlexaNJ said...
So beautiful!
6/29/10 10:14 AM
Erin D said...
Wow, your creativity makes for some beautiful clothing.
7/4/10 4:51 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Well... thanks to you and a few other reviews I have added this pattern to my list to buy next time McCalls is on sale. I normally wouldn't have picked this one out for a tank but "hey" it looks fantastic on you and all your versions. Worth a try! I really like how you design this basic T.....love all the looks!
7/4/10 6:47 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful work. It's so nice to see your creativity with this pattern through all of your tops. Lovely.
7/5/10 10:07 AM
MNBarb said...
You really have talent for choosing patterns and fabric that marry well. I think, perhaps, everything looks good on you!
7/6/10 12:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 2925 Vogue Wardrobe
photo
Review by Lisa Laree on 6/14/08
Read Review

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6704 Misses Shirts
photo
Review by Lori V on 1/2/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8311 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Vogue 8311 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1323 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1323 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us