SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5853 (Sunset Seagulls Tank)

16 more reviews
Viewed 821 times 
Reviewed by:HLT
photo

 
 
About HLTstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/11/05
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/09 10:43 PM
Last Updated:7/4/10 1:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
Love your top. Great fabric choice and you've made the look so high end.
12/1/09 5:41 AM
BillieJean said...
I love the way you sew. Thinking outside the box - makes for such unique and beautiful fashion. Very well done!
12/1/09 6:50 AM
j222b said...
You've got talent!!!
12/1/09 12:37 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Gorgeous!
12/9/09 1:19 PM
sayhellojana said...
I love your version of this top, it's why I bought the pattern :)
5/17/10 2:19 AM
o3b said...
I like how you made the pattern differently. Although I like the pattern designs, they wouldn't particularly flatter me. I like your versions better, and could possibly wear them. Thanks for the ideas.
5/18/10 9:21 PM
MarshaG. said...
WOW! Your DIY's are FAB! On the random layered top, are most of them stitched to the bodice/body, or are they all attached at the neckline? I can't quite visualize the how-to, but certainly love it!
5/18/10 11:13 PM
Elke said...
Love these tops...you are very talented and creative!
5/18/10 11:30 PM
HLT said...
Thanks everyone for your comments. MarshaG., the fluttery laye are mostly attached to the bodice. Only 1 layer is sewn into the neckline seam binding. IMO, more than 1 extra layer sewn in will cause the seam to get chunky & not so pretty. Hope this helps!
5/18/10 11:41 PM
MarshaG. said...
Thanks HLT! I was thinking that the layers were stitched to the bodice for the same reason you mentioned - bulk at the neckline. It is a FAB top!
5/19/10 9:28 AM
annie11 said...
Very feminine and artistic! Thanks for the inspiration!
5/19/10 9:37 AM
JanaL said...
I love your ability to adapt patterns and use your creativity. Nice work!
5/19/10 12:14 PM
Kelroc said...
Beautiful!!!
5/20/10 8:01 PM
AlexaNJ said...
So beautiful!
6/29/10 10:14 AM
Erin D said...
Wow, your creativity makes for some beautiful clothing.
7/4/10 4:51 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Well... thanks to you and a few other reviews I have added this pattern to my list to buy next time McCalls is on sale. I normally wouldn't have picked this one out for a tank but "hey" it looks fantastic on you and all your versions. Worth a try! I really like how you design this basic T.....love all the looks!
7/4/10 6:47 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful work. It's so nice to see your creativity with this pattern through all of your tops. Lovely.
7/5/10 10:07 AM
MNBarb said...
You really have talent for choosing patterns and fabric that marry well. I think, perhaps, everything looks good on you!
7/6/10 12:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 2945

photo
by: Jrhee

Review
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Buy Now
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2155

photo
by: Aroura

Review