Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2907 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE PANTS) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 734 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:elily00
photo
About elily00star
OH USA
Member since: 7/17/07
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/29/09 9:44 PM
Last Updated:12/1/09 11:01 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yorkshire lass said...
These do look lovely, but that doesn't help you if they are uncomfortable. Do you think they would feel better if you made the pattern in a fabric with more lycra stretch? Maybe 3 or 4 per cent? 5 if you could find it?
11/30/09 7:20 AM
elily00 said...
good question, but since it's the crotch seam that is too tight, i don't think a little extra stretch in the fabric would help. My jeans fit better in that area, so I may try combining the patterns... Thanks for the tip, hopefully I can figure something out next time around!
11/30/09 3:52 PM
kkkkaty said...
cute pants, not matronly at all
12/1/09 11:42 AM
homejewel said...
I would never have known about the problems you faced by looking at your pants. They really look fantastic and the fit looks superb - and RTW.
12/1/09 12:39 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
The pants look very nice, not matronly at all. Good luck on getting the fit just right, it looks like it will be worth it.
12/1/09 2:52 PM
Em's Summer said...
Sorry the pants weren't a perfect fit, but what a great review!
12/1/09 3:32 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great job on the jeans.
12/1/09 3:45 PM
nicegirl said...
I was surprised to see your rating for pants that are really fabulous! But if they are uncomfortable, that is a problem. On looks alone, though, they're great.
12/1/09 3:57 PM
quixoticpixels said...
It's too bad they're uncomfortable, because they look FABULOUS, not matronly at all.
12/1/09 4:51 PM
HLT said...
Great fit! I love the front detail!
12/1/09 8:26 PM
Fictionfan said...
Nice pants! They look RTW, including your complaints about the fit, a problem I am well familiar with! Assuming you mean the back crotch is too tight and it is uncomfortable to sit, you can correct this easily, though you would have to undo the flat-felled seam a little to make the adjustment. If the crotch is too tight or too short, you need more body space in that area. Sew the seam a little deeper 1/4inch at a time until it is comfortable, carving out from the fabric a little more room for your body where it needs it. This will make the crotch seam a little longer, and the back pants a little narrower at the crotch level. If this makes the side seams pull, let them out a little. From your photos, I think you have enough ease in the front to take up the narrowing of the back that this crotch seam adjustment will cause. This fit adjustment can and usually should be done after the pants are made so you can tell how much to carve away. It is counter-intuitive unless you look at the crotch seam as a carve-out of the fabric for your body where the body needs the space. HTH
12/4/09 7:42 PM
elily00 said...
Wow thank you for the wonderful advice, fictionfan. I will definitely work on it! I really need to take a pants fitting course to understand it all better. I think that would be amazing. To be able to make my own pants exactly how I like them that fit perfectly would be the best thing I could accomplish with my sewing I think! :) I would love book recommendations if you have any!
12/4/09 10:46 PM
KathleenS said...
Well they look great from here!
12/5/09 6:39 AM
Hilary said...
I think these look really nice on you, but if they're not comfortable, well , they won't get worn much :( You really did an excellent jo, though, the pants look very nicely finished!
1/14/10 9:34 AM
pjhoff said...
They look great! Sorry you didn't like them. I do. : ^ )
9/13/10 9:43 AM
miis2003 said...
I think you did a great Job! They look much better on you than mine do on me :)
10/5/10 8:56 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Your pants turned out great despite your fitting problems. I really like them!
9/10/11 6:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Taylor Made Designs TMB-161 Sassy Skirts
photo
Review by Cook Mae on 5/23/11
Read Review

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson 1025
photo
Review by Lisette on 1/11/12
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6845 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6845 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us