SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2907 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE PANTS)

22 more reviews
Viewed 738 times 
Reviewed by:elily00
photo

 
 
About elily00star
OH USA
Member since: 7/17/07
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/29/09 9:44 PM
Last Updated:12/1/09 11:01 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yorkshire lass said...
These do look lovely, but that doesn't help you if they are uncomfortable. Do you think they would feel better if you made the pattern in a fabric with more lycra stretch? Maybe 3 or 4 per cent? 5 if you could find it?
11/30/09 7:20 AM
elily00 said...
good question, but since it's the crotch seam that is too tight, i don't think a little extra stretch in the fabric would help. My jeans fit better in that area, so I may try combining the patterns... Thanks for the tip, hopefully I can figure something out next time around!
11/30/09 3:52 PM
kkkkaty said...
cute pants, not matronly at all
12/1/09 11:42 AM
homejewel said...
I would never have known about the problems you faced by looking at your pants. They really look fantastic and the fit looks superb - and RTW.
12/1/09 12:39 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
The pants look very nice, not matronly at all. Good luck on getting the fit just right, it looks like it will be worth it.
12/1/09 2:52 PM
Em's Summer said...
Sorry the pants weren't a perfect fit, but what a great review!
12/1/09 3:32 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great job on the jeans.
12/1/09 3:45 PM
nicegirl said...
I was surprised to see your rating for pants that are really fabulous! But if they are uncomfortable, that is a problem. On looks alone, though, they're great.
12/1/09 3:57 PM
quixoticpixels said...
It's too bad they're uncomfortable, because they look FABULOUS, not matronly at all.
12/1/09 4:51 PM
HLT said...
Great fit! I love the front detail!
12/1/09 8:26 PM
Fictionfan said...
Nice pants! They look RTW, including your complaints about the fit, a problem I am well familiar with! Assuming you mean the back crotch is too tight and it is uncomfortable to sit, you can correct this easily, though you would have to undo the flat-felled seam a little to make the adjustment. If the crotch is too tight or too short, you need more body space in that area. Sew the seam a little deeper 1/4inch at a time until it is comfortable, carving out from the fabric a little more room for your body where it needs it. This will make the crotch seam a little longer, and the back pants a little narrower at the crotch level. If this makes the side seams pull, let them out a little. From your photos, I think you have enough ease in the front to take up the narrowing of the back that this crotch seam adjustment will cause. This fit adjustment can and usually should be done after the pants are made so you can tell how much to carve away. It is counter-intuitive unless you look at the crotch seam as a carve-out of the fabric for your body where the body needs the space. HTH
12/4/09 7:42 PM
elily00 said...
Wow thank you for the wonderful advice, fictionfan. I will definitely work on it! I really need to take a pants fitting course to understand it all better. I think that would be amazing. To be able to make my own pants exactly how I like them that fit perfectly would be the best thing I could accomplish with my sewing I think! :) I would love book recommendations if you have any!
12/4/09 10:46 PM
KathleenS said...
Well they look great from here!
12/5/09 6:39 AM
Hilary said...
I think these look really nice on you, but if they're not comfortable, well , they won't get worn much :( You really did an excellent jo, though, the pants look very nicely finished!
1/14/10 9:34 AM
pjhoff said...
They look great! Sorry you didn't like them. I do. : ^ )
9/13/10 9:43 AM
miis2003 said...
I think you did a great Job! They look much better on you than mine do on me :)
10/5/10 8:56 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Your pants turned out great despite your fitting problems. I really like them!
9/10/11 6:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 36468-1004

photo
by: ryansmumAr...

Review
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now