SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8350 (MISSES' JACKET)

4 more reviews
Work in Progress Work in Progress
Viewed 191 times 
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
Austria
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 196
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 54 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/09 9:30 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
grey ann said... (12/2/09 9:17 PM) Reply
I do like the darker leaves - I think they give the design some depth. I love the splash of orange, but I'm wondering if a more solid orange fabric (Less pattern) might show off the design better. Or maybe the leather around the outside of the flower needs to be narrower, or changed? I do love the leaves, I think maybe play around with the flower? But it does look super on that fabric, and when you get it done, it will be stunning. I don't know about introducing green veins. I like the orange pop and the neutrals - perhaps a heavier, textured thread for stitching the leaves but still in a neutral color would add interest without adding too many colors.
Lee Ann Hawkins said... (12/2/09 2:15 AM) Reply
it is lovely--I agree with the other reviewers. Keep on going just as you are inspired!
arianamaniacs said... (12/1/09 3:40 PM) Reply
that's a good idea. i have to stitch them down the middle to attach them anyways, so i could match it up a little with the thread color, thanks guys!
Michele Lommasson said... (12/1/09 2:54 PM) Reply
This looks like it is well worth pursuing. Marsha G. is right, thread color will subtly enhance your design. Go for it!
MarshaG. said... (12/1/09 2:10 PM) Reply
Looks great so far! I think the flower color is fine, as are the leaves. Will you be stitching the leaves down? If so, perhaps adding some shade of green veins would add just enough color to the leaves, without detracting from the neutrality. Perhaps also some variegated thread in the red family to do some stitching on the flower overlay? ...can't wait to see the finished garment!
marec said... (12/1/09 11:14 AM) Reply
I LOVE this so far! The colors of the leaves are a soothing neutral and the orange is a nice pop of color.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

New Look 6913

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Pattern Details
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details