Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2009-114 (Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 375 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/09 5:36 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
librarylady said...
Beautiful! Thanks for a great review. I'm planning on making this pattern 'with not quite enough fabric' and you've inspired me.
12/1/09 5:47 PM
racehorse said...
That looks wonderful! Thanks for the great review.
12/1/09 6:13 PM
Catbird said...
'Mistakes' can sometimes mean that a greater hand is guiding us than we realize! I think the end result you achieved is so much more intriguing than it would have been without the contrast pieces. That side view says it all. Good for you for not giving up when you realized what you'd done. This is a stunning coat, and the whole outfit is a winner.
12/1/09 7:14 PM
Kim12469 said...
Beautiful coat! I've been looking at this pattern and may add it to the list.
12/1/09 7:18 PM
CynthiaSue said...
love love love!
12/1/09 9:28 PM
Christas said...
I think it is a beautiful coat with your design features! Some mistakes are just "meant" to happen. The coat looks prettier the way you "made it work"!
12/1/09 11:44 PM
Beek said...
Clever girl you are! Wonderful results by inserting the patterned fabric. Lovely coat.
12/2/09 7:56 AM
VtMartha said...
I love it!
12/2/09 8:11 AM
moushka said...
The coat looks fantastic! Clever save and very expressive of your style. So glad you didn't trash it. As always, you work is an inspiration :)
12/2/09 8:16 AM
Fran G said...
Your work is always so beautifully done...your reviews are very informative and the accompanying photos are book worthy! I would love to know your sewing background..are you self taught? Couture educated? Your techniques are simply fabulous. Of course you wear a lot of black and white ,as do I, so perhaps that is why I look forward to reading everything you write. This coat and your journey creating it was a great read to start my day. Although I do not need a warm coat, I somehow missed your "Gucci" skirt review and that is my inspiration for the day. Thanks for the review and the photos!
12/2/09 8:28 AM
bebrown said...
Sometimes mistakes can be just the thing to turn ordinary into spectacular. That's what you've achieved. Congratulations!
12/2/09 8:39 AM
Elke said...
Great looking!
12/2/09 9:18 AM
pterion said...
Gorgeous distinctive coat, very chic! And silk charmeuse lining...yum!
12/2/09 9:55 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
What a marvelous rescue job you have done to your coat. I agree with Catbird that sometimes mistakes can result in something so much more intriguing and creative than the original plan. Congratulations on your stunning coat!
12/2/09 2:55 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Love your coat. You never fail to amaze me. Very creative in design and style. Absolutely beautiful.
12/3/09 9:59 PM
Nancy K said...
It just goes to show that there is almost always a way to save a mistake with some creativity. A unique beautiful coat.
12/20/09 10:22 PM
Tacks said...
Good looking coat! The buttons were a good idea. Looks more finished than snaps.
12/20/09 11:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

No Pattern Used 0001
photo
Review by Sally Sews on 1/14/09
Read Review

PerfectFuse Sheer White
PerfectFuse Sheer White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2009-106
photo
Review by becca a on 4/16/09
Read Review

McCalls 6544 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6544 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1367 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1367 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us