SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2009-114 (Coat)

Viewed 376 times 
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo

 
 
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/09 5:36 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tacks said...
Good looking coat! The buttons were a good idea. Looks more finished than snaps.
12/20/09 11:09 PM
Nancy K said...
It just goes to show that there is almost always a way to save a mistake with some creativity. A unique beautiful coat.
12/20/09 10:22 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Love your coat. You never fail to amaze me. Very creative in design and style. Absolutely beautiful.
12/3/09 9:59 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
What a marvelous rescue job you have done to your coat. I agree with Catbird that sometimes mistakes can result in something so much more intriguing and creative than the original plan. Congratulations on your stunning coat!
12/2/09 2:55 PM
pterion said...
Gorgeous distinctive coat, very chic! And silk charmeuse lining...yum!
12/2/09 9:55 AM
Elke said...
Great looking!
12/2/09 9:18 AM
bebrown said...
Sometimes mistakes can be just the thing to turn ordinary into spectacular. That's what you've achieved. Congratulations!
12/2/09 8:39 AM
Fran G said...
Your work is always so beautifully done...your reviews are very informative and the accompanying photos are book worthy! I would love to know your sewing background..are you self taught? Couture educated? Your techniques are simply fabulous. Of course you wear a lot of black and white ,as do I, so perhaps that is why I look forward to reading everything you write. This coat and your journey creating it was a great read to start my day. Although I do not need a warm coat, I somehow missed your "Gucci" skirt review and that is my inspiration for the day. Thanks for the review and the photos!
12/2/09 8:28 AM
moushka said...
The coat looks fantastic! Clever save and very expressive of your style. So glad you didn't trash it. As always, you work is an inspiration :)
12/2/09 8:16 AM
VtMartha said...
I love it!
12/2/09 8:11 AM
Beek said...
Clever girl you are! Wonderful results by inserting the patterned fabric. Lovely coat.
12/2/09 7:56 AM
Christas said...
I think it is a beautiful coat with your design features! Some mistakes are just "meant" to happen. The coat looks prettier the way you "made it work"!
12/1/09 11:44 PM
CynthiaSue said...
love love love!
12/1/09 9:28 PM
Kim12469 said...
Beautiful coat! I've been looking at this pattern and may add it to the list.
12/1/09 7:18 PM
Catbird said...
'Mistakes' can sometimes mean that a greater hand is guiding us than we realize! I think the end result you achieved is so much more intriguing than it would have been without the contrast pieces. That side view says it all. Good for you for not giving up when you realized what you'd done. This is a stunning coat, and the whole outfit is a winner.
12/1/09 7:14 PM
racehorse said...
That looks wonderful! Thanks for the great review.
12/1/09 6:13 PM
librarylady said...
Beautiful! Thanks for a great review. I'm planning on making this pattern 'with not quite enough fabric' and you've inspired me.
12/1/09 5:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Vogue Patterns 1549

photo
by: becca a

Review
Vogue Patterns 1124

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now