SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2009-114 (Coat)

Viewed 376 times 
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo

 
 
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/09 5:36 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
librarylady said...
Beautiful! Thanks for a great review. I'm planning on making this pattern 'with not quite enough fabric' and you've inspired me.
12/1/09 5:47 PM
racehorse said...
That looks wonderful! Thanks for the great review.
12/1/09 6:13 PM
Catbird said...
'Mistakes' can sometimes mean that a greater hand is guiding us than we realize! I think the end result you achieved is so much more intriguing than it would have been without the contrast pieces. That side view says it all. Good for you for not giving up when you realized what you'd done. This is a stunning coat, and the whole outfit is a winner.
12/1/09 7:14 PM
Kim12469 said...
Beautiful coat! I've been looking at this pattern and may add it to the list.
12/1/09 7:18 PM
CynthiaSue said...
love love love!
12/1/09 9:28 PM
Christas said...
I think it is a beautiful coat with your design features! Some mistakes are just "meant" to happen. The coat looks prettier the way you "made it work"!
12/1/09 11:44 PM
Beek said...
Clever girl you are! Wonderful results by inserting the patterned fabric. Lovely coat.
12/2/09 7:56 AM
VtMartha said...
I love it!
12/2/09 8:11 AM
moushka said...
The coat looks fantastic! Clever save and very expressive of your style. So glad you didn't trash it. As always, you work is an inspiration :)
12/2/09 8:16 AM
Fran G said...
Your work is always so beautifully done...your reviews are very informative and the accompanying photos are book worthy! I would love to know your sewing background..are you self taught? Couture educated? Your techniques are simply fabulous. Of course you wear a lot of black and white ,as do I, so perhaps that is why I look forward to reading everything you write. This coat and your journey creating it was a great read to start my day. Although I do not need a warm coat, I somehow missed your "Gucci" skirt review and that is my inspiration for the day. Thanks for the review and the photos!
12/2/09 8:28 AM
bebrown said...
Sometimes mistakes can be just the thing to turn ordinary into spectacular. That's what you've achieved. Congratulations!
12/2/09 8:39 AM
Elke said...
Great looking!
12/2/09 9:18 AM
pterion said...
Gorgeous distinctive coat, very chic! And silk charmeuse lining...yum!
12/2/09 9:55 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
What a marvelous rescue job you have done to your coat. I agree with Catbird that sometimes mistakes can result in something so much more intriguing and creative than the original plan. Congratulations on your stunning coat!
12/2/09 2:55 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Love your coat. You never fail to amaze me. Very creative in design and style. Absolutely beautiful.
12/3/09 9:59 PM
Nancy K said...
It just goes to show that there is almost always a way to save a mistake with some creativity. A unique beautiful coat.
12/20/09 10:22 PM
Tacks said...
Good looking coat! The buttons were a good idea. Looks more finished than snaps.
12/20/09 11:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Buy Now