Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2559 (Women's Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 722 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/09 10:16 AM
Last Updated:1/10/10 4:02 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Beautiful on all counts--fabric, styling, workmanship. I hope she loves it and wears it for a long time! Great review, too.
12/2/09 10:40 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fantastic result - all your hard work paid off because this jacket is classic!
12/2/09 12:29 PM
Aixoise said...
Beautiful jacket. Your "design details" give it an edge and a uniqueness. How do you double the thread in the bobbin?
12/2/09 1:16 PM
Leora said...
Doll clothing for sure, size 0 -- that is so small! You are so thoughtful, and talented, to make her something so nice!
12/2/09 1:57 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your friend's jacket turned out extremely well. I know how hard you've worked on it, and it was well worth all the effort you put into it.
12/2/09 2:32 PM
katlew03 said...
The jacket turned out great. What a beautiful wardrobe addition for your friend's dd.
12/2/09 3:50 PM
Mermie said...
I love this jacket. You did a beautiful job.
12/2/09 4:25 PM
Barbara V said...
I bet DD's friend will wear it often and since you now have the sizing worked out will commission, beg, bribe you to make more! Looks like a great job in every way.
12/2/09 6:01 PM
Patti B said...
Aixoise, I should have explained in the review that I filled one bobbin with thread and then threaded both threads on a new bobbin and wound them at the same time. I wondered if it would cause problems stitching but it worked just fine.
12/2/09 6:18 PM
marec said...
Beautiful work Patti!! What a nice thing to do for your DD's friend.
12/2/09 6:21 PM
RuthieSews said...
What a lovely jacket. I hope she wears and wears it. What a fantastic job and you are a very lovely lady for making it.
12/2/09 7:04 PM
beth5646 said...
Thanks for this review. I have this pattern to sew the jacket and pants for my daughter. I love your jacket. Beautiful.
12/2/09 7:32 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Whatever challenges you may have experienced, the final result is beautiful. A lovely jacket.
12/2/09 9:18 PM
sew2little said...
This is beautiful, Patti, and I LOVE the button placement. I know she will love such a chic and timeless jacket.
12/2/09 11:14 PM
Annette1 said...
This is beautiful! There may have been some bumps along the way, but you'd never know it to see this lovely jacket. I really like your idea of the double thread, top and bottom, for topstitching. :o)
12/3/09 0:47 AM
Jane S said...
What a thoughtful mother and caring friend you are to make such a lovely jacket. I love the angled pockets, great idea. I know what you mean about info overload sometimes. I too have every jacket book possible and find it hard to commit and just do it.
12/4/09 4:38 PM
Diane E said...
Patti, this is a beautiful jacket. What a wonderful gift for your DD's friend. The fabric is lovely and will be perfect for so many outfits -- casual and dressy.
12/5/09 11:04 AM
moushka said...
Beautiful jacket. What a lovely thing to do for dd's friend. Now you deserve one for yourself.
1/10/10 6:16 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great jacket and I love the entire outfit!
1/10/10 7:02 PM
Christas said...
This jacket is SOOO nice! It looks absolutely perfect! I'll bet your daughter's tiny friend will wear this jacket very proudly.
1/10/10 7:42 PM
Catbird said...
She has every reason to be proud wearing this. She looks amazing in it! You've done a lovely job and given her an unforgettable gift.
1/10/10 8:36 PM
mylittlemorsel said...
Beautiful jacket! This is on my list to sew....thanks for all the detailed information!
1/10/10 11:31 PM
busymomof3 said...
What a beautiful jacket you have made!!! All of you hard work paid off! It looks amazing on her!
1/11/10 0:12 AM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful jacket! All your hard work did pay off and it looks great. I'd never heard of double tread in the bobbin so another tip learned. Thanks.
1/11/10 10:35 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
You did a fabulous job!. Your daughter's friend is lucky to know you. Thanks for including the pictures of the fit of the two muslins. Quite an eye-opener, don't you think? You were very smart to go to the trouble of fitting the jacket before you cut into the fashion fabric.
1/11/10 2:11 PM
Pattycakes60 said...
Thanks for your anecdotal notes on your journey of making this jacket. I think I'll buy the pattern and go look at linen today! I love a challenge. Wish me luck.
3/28/10 11:38 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Simplicity 2207
photo
Review by sarah0725 on 5/17/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2444
photo
Review by DKG on 12/27/11
Read Review

McCalls 5431 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 5431 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6897 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6897 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us