SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2559 (Women's Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 724 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/09 10:16 AM
Last Updated:1/10/10 4:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Beautiful on all counts--fabric, styling, workmanship. I hope she loves it and wears it for a long time! Great review, too.
12/2/09 10:40 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fantastic result - all your hard work paid off because this jacket is classic!
12/2/09 12:29 PM
Aixoise said...
Beautiful jacket. Your "design details" give it an edge and a uniqueness. How do you double the thread in the bobbin?
12/2/09 1:16 PM
Leora said...
Doll clothing for sure, size 0 -- that is so small! You are so thoughtful, and talented, to make her something so nice!
12/2/09 1:57 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your friend's jacket turned out extremely well. I know how hard you've worked on it, and it was well worth all the effort you put into it.
12/2/09 2:32 PM
katlew03 said...
The jacket turned out great. What a beautiful wardrobe addition for your friend's dd.
12/2/09 3:50 PM
Mermie said...
I love this jacket. You did a beautiful job.
12/2/09 4:25 PM
Barbara V said...
I bet DD's friend will wear it often and since you now have the sizing worked out will commission, beg, bribe you to make more! Looks like a great job in every way.
12/2/09 6:01 PM
Patti B said...
Aixoise, I should have explained in the review that I filled one bobbin with thread and then threaded both threads on a new bobbin and wound them at the same time. I wondered if it would cause problems stitching but it worked just fine.
12/2/09 6:18 PM
marec said...
Beautiful work Patti!! What a nice thing to do for your DD's friend.
12/2/09 6:21 PM
RuthieSews said...
What a lovely jacket. I hope she wears and wears it. What a fantastic job and you are a very lovely lady for making it.
12/2/09 7:04 PM
beth5646 said...
Thanks for this review. I have this pattern to sew the jacket and pants for my daughter. I love your jacket. Beautiful.
12/2/09 7:32 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Whatever challenges you may have experienced, the final result is beautiful. A lovely jacket.
12/2/09 9:18 PM
sew2little said...
This is beautiful, Patti, and I LOVE the button placement. I know she will love such a chic and timeless jacket.
12/2/09 11:14 PM
Annette1 said...
This is beautiful! There may have been some bumps along the way, but you'd never know it to see this lovely jacket. I really like your idea of the double thread, top and bottom, for topstitching. :o)
12/3/09 0:47 AM
Jane S said...
What a thoughtful mother and caring friend you are to make such a lovely jacket. I love the angled pockets, great idea. I know what you mean about info overload sometimes. I too have every jacket book possible and find it hard to commit and just do it.
12/4/09 4:38 PM
Diane E said...
Patti, this is a beautiful jacket. What a wonderful gift for your DD's friend. The fabric is lovely and will be perfect for so many outfits -- casual and dressy.
12/5/09 11:04 AM
moushka said...
Beautiful jacket. What a lovely thing to do for dd's friend. Now you deserve one for yourself.
1/10/10 6:16 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great jacket and I love the entire outfit!
1/10/10 7:02 PM
Christas said...
This jacket is SOOO nice! It looks absolutely perfect! I'll bet your daughter's tiny friend will wear this jacket very proudly.
1/10/10 7:42 PM
Catbird said...
She has every reason to be proud wearing this. She looks amazing in it! You've done a lovely job and given her an unforgettable gift.
1/10/10 8:36 PM
mylittlemorsel said...
Beautiful jacket! This is on my list to sew....thanks for all the detailed information!
1/10/10 11:31 PM
busymomof3 said...
What a beautiful jacket you have made!!! All of you hard work paid off! It looks amazing on her!
1/11/10 0:12 AM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful jacket! All your hard work did pay off and it looks great. I'd never heard of double tread in the bobbin so another tip learned. Thanks.
1/11/10 10:35 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
You did a fabulous job!. Your daughter's friend is lucky to know you. Thanks for including the pictures of the fit of the two muslins. Quite an eye-opener, don't you think? You were very smart to go to the trouble of fitting the jacket before you cut into the fashion fabric.
1/11/10 2:11 PM
Pattycakes60 said...
Thanks for your anecdotal notes on your journey of making this jacket. I think I'll buy the pattern and go look at linen today! I love a challenge. Wish me luck.
3/28/10 11:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now