SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2559 (Women's Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 734 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 170
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/09 10:16 AM
Last Updated:1/10/10 4:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pattycakes60 said...
Thanks for your anecdotal notes on your journey of making this jacket. I think I'll buy the pattern and go look at linen today! I love a challenge. Wish me luck.
3/28/10 11:38 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
You did a fabulous job!. Your daughter's friend is lucky to know you. Thanks for including the pictures of the fit of the two muslins. Quite an eye-opener, don't you think? You were very smart to go to the trouble of fitting the jacket before you cut into the fashion fabric.
1/11/10 2:11 PM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful jacket! All your hard work did pay off and it looks great. I'd never heard of double tread in the bobbin so another tip learned. Thanks.
1/11/10 10:35 AM
busymomof3 said...
What a beautiful jacket you have made!!! All of you hard work paid off! It looks amazing on her!
1/11/10 0:12 AM
mylittlemorsel said...
Beautiful jacket! This is on my list to sew....thanks for all the detailed information!
1/10/10 11:31 PM
Catbird said...
She has every reason to be proud wearing this. She looks amazing in it! You've done a lovely job and given her an unforgettable gift.
1/10/10 8:36 PM
Christas said...
This jacket is SOOO nice! It looks absolutely perfect! I'll bet your daughter's tiny friend will wear this jacket very proudly.
1/10/10 7:42 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great jacket and I love the entire outfit!
1/10/10 7:02 PM
moushka said...
Beautiful jacket. What a lovely thing to do for dd's friend. Now you deserve one for yourself.
1/10/10 6:16 PM
Diane E said...
Patti, this is a beautiful jacket. What a wonderful gift for your DD's friend. The fabric is lovely and will be perfect for so many outfits -- casual and dressy.
12/5/09 11:04 AM
Jane S said...
What a thoughtful mother and caring friend you are to make such a lovely jacket. I love the angled pockets, great idea. I know what you mean about info overload sometimes. I too have every jacket book possible and find it hard to commit and just do it.
12/4/09 4:38 PM
Annette1 said...
This is beautiful! There may have been some bumps along the way, but you'd never know it to see this lovely jacket. I really like your idea of the double thread, top and bottom, for topstitching. :o)
12/3/09 0:47 AM
sew2little said...
This is beautiful, Patti, and I LOVE the button placement. I know she will love such a chic and timeless jacket.
12/2/09 11:14 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Whatever challenges you may have experienced, the final result is beautiful. A lovely jacket.
12/2/09 9:18 PM
beth5646 said...
Thanks for this review. I have this pattern to sew the jacket and pants for my daughter. I love your jacket. Beautiful.
12/2/09 7:32 PM
RuthieSews said...
What a lovely jacket. I hope she wears and wears it. What a fantastic job and you are a very lovely lady for making it.
12/2/09 7:04 PM
marec said...
Beautiful work Patti!! What a nice thing to do for your DD's friend.
12/2/09 6:21 PM
Patti B said...
Aixoise, I should have explained in the review that I filled one bobbin with thread and then threaded both threads on a new bobbin and wound them at the same time. I wondered if it would cause problems stitching but it worked just fine.
12/2/09 6:18 PM
Barbara V said...
I bet DD's friend will wear it often and since you now have the sizing worked out will commission, beg, bribe you to make more! Looks like a great job in every way.
12/2/09 6:01 PM
Mermie said...
I love this jacket. You did a beautiful job.
12/2/09 4:25 PM
katlew03 said...
The jacket turned out great. What a beautiful wardrobe addition for your friend's dd.
12/2/09 3:50 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your friend's jacket turned out extremely well. I know how hard you've worked on it, and it was well worth all the effort you put into it.
12/2/09 2:32 PM
Leora said...
Doll clothing for sure, size 0 -- that is so small! You are so thoughtful, and talented, to make her something so nice!
12/2/09 1:57 PM
Aixoise said...
Beautiful jacket. Your "design details" give it an edge and a uniqueness. How do you double the thread in the bobbin?
12/2/09 1:16 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fantastic result - all your hard work paid off because this jacket is classic!
12/2/09 12:29 PM
Renren said...
Beautiful on all counts--fabric, styling, workmanship. I hope she loves it and wears it for a long time! Great review, too.
12/2/09 10:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Simplicity 5100

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

Buy Now