Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: V8151 (Today\'s Fit Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 571 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:sewbluetiful
photo
About sewbluetifulstar
MO USA
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/09 11:13 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
stretch queen said...
Great job. I am interested in learning about the should forward adjustment. How did you know you needed it. I have this pattern and on a journey to find a TNT for a tshirt. Any insights would be helpful.
12/2/09 6:17 AM
j222b said...
The neck ribbing looks professional. Do you have a coverstitch machine or how did you manage this?
12/2/09 1:15 PM
katlew03 said...
Nice basic top in a pretty color.
12/2/09 3:57 PM
sewbluetiful said...
Stretch Queen, it is something I learned from Shannon Gifford in one of her classes,, you make a muslin, stand back and look at the "what I call the ear to arm line", if the shoulder seam is straight from the ear to the top of the arm, then youre seam is good,, if anywhere on the seam it is either forward or back, then you adjust accordinly,, Holly's was about 5/8 of and in to the back of her shoulder line,, basically it was good at the neck, but off at the arm...
12/2/09 7:12 PM
sewbluetiful said...
J22B, I do have a coverstitch machine,, but this material was too thick to go through the binder that I have,, so I did it the old fashion way, sectioning off the band and sewing oh the SM using a slight zigzag stitch for stretch,, then I used a twin needle to topstitch on the shirt side of the seam,,
12/2/09 7:21 PM
Peggy L said...
Very nice - this is one of my favorite patterns.
12/2/09 10:53 PM
Renren said...
Beautiful color and it looks like you have gotten the fit down to a "T" (or a tee?). I have this pattern . . . and one day I'll be reading this review again just prior to sewing it.
12/3/09 1:24 AM
Renren said...
I added you as a favorite reviewer so maybe you will get a star since you have patterns and good ranking/ratings and it looks like you are just missing the star because you have not been listed as a fav. I looked at your reviews and you've done some good work--you deserve a star. (I think it gets updated once a week--Mondays?, but good luck!) You also answered the questions commenters asked so in my book you are a favorite reviewer!
12/3/09 1:28 AM
j222b said...
Sewbluetiful: Thanks for the reply. Your old fashioned way with twin needles etc. worked so well here.
12/3/09 2:49 PM
sewbluetiful said...
Thank you ladies,, all of you, for you're comments,, like the age old saying, the more you do something the better you get at it... :-)
12/3/09 3:13 PM
sewrose said...
You've done a really nice job here. I'm making the same top, so I have a question: Did you straight stitch the neck binding with your twin needle, or use a slight zigzag? (Or maybe it's not really possible to use a zigzag with a twin needle? I don't know, I've never used one.)
3/25/10 4:58 PM
sewbluetiful said...
Sewrose, I am so sorry I didn't reply,, I haven't looked at the review in a while,, but to answer you're question,, I zigziged the neck binding first,, then straight stitched it with the twin needle, and yes you can use a twin needle to zigzag with as long as you're needle plate hole is wide enough... hth..
11/19/10 6:56 PM
aps place said...
This pattern has become one of my favorite patterns. I have a fitting problem due to a health problem and if I really need a new top this pattern works great for me. I found that I have the best luck with a cotton/rayon/spandex blend knit. I have sewn both versions of this pattern several times. I even purchased a second pattern. I found that a topstitching needle seemed to be helpful. It is easy to sew and assists me with my fitting need.
7/17/11 1:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Jalie 2561 Women's Pants
photo
Review by SewRusty on 3/17/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2470 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Simplicity 2470 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1389 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1389 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1078 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by AnnQ on 2/19/09
Read Review

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us