SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V8151 (Today's Fit Top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 577 times 
Reviewed by:sewbluetiful
photo

 
 
About sewbluetifulstar
MO USA
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/09 11:13 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
aps place said...
This pattern has become one of my favorite patterns. I have a fitting problem due to a health problem and if I really need a new top this pattern works great for me. I found that I have the best luck with a cotton/rayon/spandex blend knit. I have sewn both versions of this pattern several times. I even purchased a second pattern. I found that a topstitching needle seemed to be helpful. It is easy to sew and assists me with my fitting need.
7/17/11 1:29 PM
sewbluetiful said...
Sewrose, I am so sorry I didn't reply,, I haven't looked at the review in a while,, but to answer you're question,, I zigziged the neck binding first,, then straight stitched it with the twin needle, and yes you can use a twin needle to zigzag with as long as you're needle plate hole is wide enough... hth..
11/19/10 6:56 PM
sewrose said...
You've done a really nice job here. I'm making the same top, so I have a question: Did you straight stitch the neck binding with your twin needle, or use a slight zigzag? (Or maybe it's not really possible to use a zigzag with a twin needle? I don't know, I've never used one.)
3/25/10 4:58 PM
sewbluetiful said...
Thank you ladies,, all of you, for you're comments,, like the age old saying, the more you do something the better you get at it... :-)
12/3/09 3:13 PM
j222b said...
Sewbluetiful: Thanks for the reply. Your old fashioned way with twin needles etc. worked so well here.
12/3/09 2:49 PM
Renren said...
I added you as a favorite reviewer so maybe you will get a star since you have patterns and good ranking/ratings and it looks like you are just missing the star because you have not been listed as a fav. I looked at your reviews and you've done some good work--you deserve a star. (I think it gets updated once a week--Mondays?, but good luck!) You also answered the questions commenters asked so in my book you are a favorite reviewer!
12/3/09 1:28 AM
Renren said...
Beautiful color and it looks like you have gotten the fit down to a "T" (or a tee?). I have this pattern . . . and one day I'll be reading this review again just prior to sewing it.
12/3/09 1:24 AM
Peggy L said...
Very nice - this is one of my favorite patterns.
12/2/09 10:53 PM
sewbluetiful said...
J22B, I do have a coverstitch machine,, but this material was too thick to go through the binder that I have,, so I did it the old fashion way, sectioning off the band and sewing oh the SM using a slight zigzag stitch for stretch,, then I used a twin needle to topstitch on the shirt side of the seam,,
12/2/09 7:21 PM
sewbluetiful said...
Stretch Queen, it is something I learned from Shannon Gifford in one of her classes,, you make a muslin, stand back and look at the "what I call the ear to arm line", if the shoulder seam is straight from the ear to the top of the arm, then youre seam is good,, if anywhere on the seam it is either forward or back, then you adjust accordinly,, Holly's was about 5/8 of and in to the back of her shoulder line,, basically it was good at the neck, but off at the arm...
12/2/09 7:12 PM
katlew03 said...
Nice basic top in a pretty color.
12/2/09 3:57 PM
j222b said...
The neck ribbing looks professional. Do you have a coverstitch machine or how did you manage this?
12/2/09 1:15 PM
stretch queen said...
Great job. I am interested in learning about the should forward adjustment. How did you know you needed it. I have this pattern and on a journey to find a TNT for a tshirt. Any insights would be helpful.
12/2/09 6:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

No Pattern Used 2013-10

photo
by: katlew03

Review
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now