SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V8151 (Today's Fit Top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 576 times 
Reviewed by:sewbluetiful
photo

 
 
About sewbluetifulstar
MO USA
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/09 11:13 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
stretch queen said...
Great job. I am interested in learning about the should forward adjustment. How did you know you needed it. I have this pattern and on a journey to find a TNT for a tshirt. Any insights would be helpful.
12/2/09 6:17 AM
j222b said...
The neck ribbing looks professional. Do you have a coverstitch machine or how did you manage this?
12/2/09 1:15 PM
katlew03 said...
Nice basic top in a pretty color.
12/2/09 3:57 PM
sewbluetiful said...
Stretch Queen, it is something I learned from Shannon Gifford in one of her classes,, you make a muslin, stand back and look at the "what I call the ear to arm line", if the shoulder seam is straight from the ear to the top of the arm, then youre seam is good,, if anywhere on the seam it is either forward or back, then you adjust accordinly,, Holly's was about 5/8 of and in to the back of her shoulder line,, basically it was good at the neck, but off at the arm...
12/2/09 7:12 PM
sewbluetiful said...
J22B, I do have a coverstitch machine,, but this material was too thick to go through the binder that I have,, so I did it the old fashion way, sectioning off the band and sewing oh the SM using a slight zigzag stitch for stretch,, then I used a twin needle to topstitch on the shirt side of the seam,,
12/2/09 7:21 PM
Peggy L said...
Very nice - this is one of my favorite patterns.
12/2/09 10:53 PM
Renren said...
Beautiful color and it looks like you have gotten the fit down to a "T" (or a tee?). I have this pattern . . . and one day I'll be reading this review again just prior to sewing it.
12/3/09 1:24 AM
Renren said...
I added you as a favorite reviewer so maybe you will get a star since you have patterns and good ranking/ratings and it looks like you are just missing the star because you have not been listed as a fav. I looked at your reviews and you've done some good work--you deserve a star. (I think it gets updated once a week--Mondays?, but good luck!) You also answered the questions commenters asked so in my book you are a favorite reviewer!
12/3/09 1:28 AM
j222b said...
Sewbluetiful: Thanks for the reply. Your old fashioned way with twin needles etc. worked so well here.
12/3/09 2:49 PM
sewbluetiful said...
Thank you ladies,, all of you, for you're comments,, like the age old saying, the more you do something the better you get at it... :-)
12/3/09 3:13 PM
sewrose said...
You've done a really nice job here. I'm making the same top, so I have a question: Did you straight stitch the neck binding with your twin needle, or use a slight zigzag? (Or maybe it's not really possible to use a zigzag with a twin needle? I don't know, I've never used one.)
3/25/10 4:58 PM
sewbluetiful said...
Sewrose, I am so sorry I didn't reply,, I haven't looked at the review in a while,, but to answer you're question,, I zigziged the neck binding first,, then straight stitched it with the twin needle, and yes you can use a twin needle to zigzag with as long as you're needle plate hole is wide enough... hth..
11/19/10 6:56 PM
aps place said...
This pattern has become one of my favorite patterns. I have a fitting problem due to a health problem and if I really need a new top this pattern works great for me. I found that I have the best luck with a cotton/rayon/spandex blend knit. I have sewn both versions of this pattern several times. I even purchased a second pattern. I found that a topstitching needle seemed to be helpful. It is easy to sew and assists me with my fitting need.
7/17/11 1:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Other MIX 30 (Merchwaerdigh)

photo
by: treefrog

Review
Butterick 5600

photo
by: nickelc624

Review
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now