SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1027 (MISSES' DRESS)

76 more reviews
Viewed 858 times 
Reviewed by:Tailypo
photo

 
 
About Tailypostarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/6/03
Reviews written: 82
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 64
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:12/2/09 2:50 AM
Last Updated:12/2/09 2:34 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
NicholeMc said...
Love the review! Thanks for all the tips and smiles. Nicely done.
3/29/10 1:32 PM
Carolyn C said...
Tailypo, your description had me laughing. Excellent review, and thanks for the hints about ties, elastic, and edging the sleeves and bodice. As to the goofy things during construction, you must have been channeling me, because I do stuff like that all the time when I'm sewing. Sometimes I'm much better off ignoring the directions and flying by the seat of my pants. Thank you for an entertaining review.
1/10/10 11:56 AM
Kellie R. said...
You look a million bucks in your great dress! I'm a knit-aphobe and your great results make me want to try out this pattern!
12/7/09 8:58 AM
waltzqueen said...
Thank you for this terrific, informative and hilarious review!! I didn't even understand the whole pocket business but I think I got the point anyway. I've read so many good reviews that, even though knits and my hips don't get along, I just bought the pattern, and you have confirmed that that was the right decision. Regretably, I don't have a serger or a coverpro or I would gladly try your suggested method!! :)
12/3/09 4:58 PM
Tailypo said...
Thanks mom!
12/3/09 1:12 PM
Tanda said...
I love this dress. It looks great on you. I am so impressed that you find time to sew. "High end couture finishes," my sentiments exactly.
12/3/09 10:44 AM
becca a said...
Great dress! It is so flattering. Thank you for sharing all the mistakes--it takes me forever to sew because I have to redo my silly mistakes so many times. Thanks for a great review.
12/3/09 9:30 AM
marec said...
I'll start with a compliment on the dress-it's really, really nice. Thank you so much for your honest review. It not only made me laugh but it also made me think. I sometimes believe (mistakenly) that more advanced sewers never make "idiot" mistakes. Not true, I guess!!
12/2/09 6:02 PM
librarylady said...
Wonderful review... and dress.
12/2/09 5:50 PM
obsessed with sewing said...
"Idiot Proof" dress, sounds like this pattern belongs on my wish list! Seriously, you did a great job and your "mistakes" are not noticable at all - you turned out a very pretty, flattering dress. Thank you for your suggestions and making me laugh; I always wonder why pattern companies have to make the construction techniques more complicated than necessary.
12/2/09 5:27 PM
Leora said...
It's Alive!! hehe. Nice dress, fun visual of you at the serger wrangling said dress!
12/2/09 4:40 PM
Mermie said...
Very pretty dress and hilarious review. Helpful too! Great job.
12/2/09 4:06 PM
katlew03 said...
Very pretty dress. Looks nice on you. Great pattern.
12/2/09 3:40 PM
Aixoise said...
The dress looks terrific on you. Love the backstory (or the behind-the-scenes confessional). Good to see you sewing and reviewing again. Your reviews are always a treat (instructive, too).
12/2/09 1:27 PM
li'l miss muffett said...
ROFL! I want to try the whole 'throw the pattern and fabric at the sewing machine' technique! Sounds good to me.... I love the print and wish I was in the Bay area. I'd totally take some of that fabric off your hands! The dress look great on you as well.
12/2/09 11:37 AM
NC Carol said...
Great dress and very funny review. Thanks for brightening my morning!
12/2/09 9:28 AM
ladylola said...
Great review and great dress!
12/2/09 7:13 AM
Rebecca D said...
I always find it so comforting when someone confesses all their stupid mistakes as it makes me realize I am not alone in the stupid sewing mistake world. Great looking dress, I can't believe I don't have this pattern.
12/2/09 6:44 AM
BillieJean said...
Helpful and hilarious review. Oh, and by the way, the dress is lovely.
12/2/09 5:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

HotPatterns 1107

photo
by: Bleuette

Review
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

More Info
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

More Info