SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2111 (Men and Boys Dress Shirts)

7 more reviews
Viewed 486 times 
Reviewed by:fursey
photo

 
 
About fursey
NA IRELAND
Member since: 12/4/08
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/09 3:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fursey said...
Thank you all for your helpful suggestions. I will definitely practise the buttonholes on scraps and make this shirt again. I will also look for that book.
12/7/09 7:28 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Nice shirt! well done in the face of adversity. You may enjoy reading and learning about mens shirts in David P Coffin's Shirtmaking book... it is an older book and many out there at an easy to handle price. The details and how to's are excellent and the illustrations very good in my opinion.... Now, on to the next shirt!
12/6/09 11:14 AM
Margie T said...
Nice shirt! Thanks for an enjoyable review and I'm glad there was a happy ending. You actually deserve a medal for handsewing all those buttonholes.
12/6/09 6:56 AM
CynthiaSue said...
very sweet story. very professional shirt. does not look homemade at all!!
12/6/09 1:09 AM
Janie Viers said...
Make sure that the sewing machine foot you use is the correct one. You need to use the buttonhole or embroidery foot. My girlfriend always hated her machine for buttonholing until she changed to the correct foot!
12/6/09 0:27 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
Great job! Your perseverance paid off with a great shirt! Don't let a button-holer intimidate you. Try making your buttonholes on a scrap folded over enough times to mimic the thickness of your placket. Once you get a nice buttonhole on the scrap, you can graduate to the actual shirt. I love how uniform machined buttonholes are.
12/5/09 8:03 PM
lynnewill said...
Nice shirt and I appreciate the back story. I also want to make my husband a shirt for our anniversary this year(Feb) and so your shirt was helpful inspiration.
12/5/09 7:10 PM
moushka said...
I would say that devotion is definitely hand sewing half a dozen shirt buttonholes! The shirt looks terrific, so glad it was a success. Thanks for the heads up about the collar instructions.
12/5/09 3:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8835

photo
by: carrie1858...

Review
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

Buy Now