Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2111 (Men and Boys Dress Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 486 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:fursey
photo
About fursey
NA IRELAND
Member since: 12/4/08
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/09 3:40 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moushka said...
I would say that devotion is definitely hand sewing half a dozen shirt buttonholes! The shirt looks terrific, so glad it was a success. Thanks for the heads up about the collar instructions.
12/5/09 3:49 PM
lynnewill said...
Nice shirt and I appreciate the back story. I also want to make my husband a shirt for our anniversary this year(Feb) and so your shirt was helpful inspiration.
12/5/09 7:10 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
Great job! Your perseverance paid off with a great shirt! Don't let a button-holer intimidate you. Try making your buttonholes on a scrap folded over enough times to mimic the thickness of your placket. Once you get a nice buttonhole on the scrap, you can graduate to the actual shirt. I love how uniform machined buttonholes are.
12/5/09 8:03 PM
Janie Viers said...
Make sure that the sewing machine foot you use is the correct one. You need to use the buttonhole or embroidery foot. My girlfriend always hated her machine for buttonholing until she changed to the correct foot!
12/6/09 0:27 AM
CynthiaSue said...
very sweet story. very professional shirt. does not look homemade at all!!
12/6/09 1:09 AM
Margie T said...
Nice shirt! Thanks for an enjoyable review and I'm glad there was a happy ending. You actually deserve a medal for handsewing all those buttonholes.
12/6/09 6:56 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Nice shirt! well done in the face of adversity. You may enjoy reading and learning about mens shirts in David P Coffin's Shirtmaking book... it is an older book and many out there at an easy to handle price. The details and how to's are excellent and the illustrations very good in my opinion.... Now, on to the next shirt!
12/6/09 11:14 AM
fursey said...
Thank you all for your helpful suggestions. I will definitely practise the buttonholes on scraps and make this shirt again. I will also look for that book.
12/7/09 7:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 5581
photo
Review by Larisa on 6/26/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7364 COORDINATES
photo
Review by nickelc624 on 6/22/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1900 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1900 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6960 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6960 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us