SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2111 (Men and Boys Dress Shirts)

7 more reviews
Viewed 486 times 
Reviewed by:fursey
photo

 
 
About fursey
NA IRELAND
Member since: 12/4/08
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/09 3:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moushka said...
I would say that devotion is definitely hand sewing half a dozen shirt buttonholes! The shirt looks terrific, so glad it was a success. Thanks for the heads up about the collar instructions.
12/5/09 3:49 PM
lynnewill said...
Nice shirt and I appreciate the back story. I also want to make my husband a shirt for our anniversary this year(Feb) and so your shirt was helpful inspiration.
12/5/09 7:10 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
Great job! Your perseverance paid off with a great shirt! Don't let a button-holer intimidate you. Try making your buttonholes on a scrap folded over enough times to mimic the thickness of your placket. Once you get a nice buttonhole on the scrap, you can graduate to the actual shirt. I love how uniform machined buttonholes are.
12/5/09 8:03 PM
Janie Viers said...
Make sure that the sewing machine foot you use is the correct one. You need to use the buttonhole or embroidery foot. My girlfriend always hated her machine for buttonholing until she changed to the correct foot!
12/6/09 0:27 AM
CynthiaSue said...
very sweet story. very professional shirt. does not look homemade at all!!
12/6/09 1:09 AM
Margie T said...
Nice shirt! Thanks for an enjoyable review and I'm glad there was a happy ending. You actually deserve a medal for handsewing all those buttonholes.
12/6/09 6:56 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Nice shirt! well done in the face of adversity. You may enjoy reading and learning about mens shirts in David P Coffin's Shirtmaking book... it is an older book and many out there at an easy to handle price. The details and how to's are excellent and the illustrations very good in my opinion.... Now, on to the next shirt!
12/6/09 11:14 AM
fursey said...
Thank you all for your helpful suggestions. I will definitely practise the buttonholes on scraps and make this shirt again. I will also look for that book.
12/7/09 7:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6167

photo
by: knitmachin...

Review