SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5252 (Fleece Vest/Jackets)

19 more reviews
Viewed 708 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/4/09 11:47 AM
Last Updated:12/26/09 10:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Vests    
Available for sale on PR: $16.25 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.25 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gloria W said...
The zipper is indeed light-years better than your muslin. Thanks for the tip
12/4/09 12:09 PM
colorkitten said...
It's fantastic! I would keep it if I were you....you've got time to make another one for her!
12/4/09 12:28 PM
ggf2005 said...
Peter you are a stitch! I also made this, but I haven't done a review because i don't have a photo (it was a gift to my personal trainer who played college football). it is an easy pattern to use and i used the double sided stay tape that I got from Emma Seabrooke at the AMSE to do the zipper.
12/4/09 1:23 PM
Aixoise said...
Thanks for the zipper tip. I rarely use fleece except for the kids, but you've got me interested. There's some really nice faux-fur minkee out there. This version of your jacket looks great on you. Are you sure you really meant it for Dorcas? Fess up! I think you should keep it and get some more colorful fabric for hers. You have plenty of time to whip one up now that you're an expert at this pattern.
12/4/09 2:10 PM
Elemenopeo said...
looks really nice!
12/4/09 2:44 PM
marec said...
"...Rush Limbaugh on the radio." WTH? They don't even play him at the grange in my little podunk town! The fleece jacket for Dorcas turned out beautifully. I hope she gets it :-)
12/4/09 3:40 PM
SewRusty said...
I have some wonder tape, maybe I'll use it for an invisible zipper that I'm putting into a dress....thanks for the idea! :-)
12/4/09 3:53 PM
RLL said...
Beautiful job! Wonder tape is also really good when hemming knits to keep them from 'waving' .
12/4/09 4:42 PM
FreyaStark said...
A warm and irresistibly cuddly looking jacket. Thanks for the tip about the tape.
12/4/09 4:54 PM
birdmcfarland said...
I think the reason I stayed away from fleece was because it looked like pressed cotton candy - cheap and gross. But you really swayed me with these jackets. This might be the answer to my christmas gift dilemma this year.
12/4/09 5:36 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi Peter!! How about KEEPIN' this one for yourself!! Then you can downsize the pattern a bit & make another for Dorcas... Kwik Sew has 3678 that comes in XS (32-1/2) and S (35-1/2) bust... ;)
12/4/09 6:10 PM
thirteenstitches said...
Great job Peter. I also have this pattern for DH. Of course he picked out Steelers fabric. I don't have any of the Wonder Tape so will have to hand baste the zipper. I don't love to hand baste but have had a few root canals and personally would rahter hand baste a zipper than have another! Thanks for the review! Oh and very nice fabric. Maybe ask Michael if he would rather see it on you or his mom! If it is easy enough you probably do have time to whip up another for her.
12/4/09 7:45 PM
LynnRowe said...
Even for the world's best fleece, I just couldn't do the limbaugh thing. *shudder* If I gave you $ you could run in and grab some for me! :D Most excellent jacket; I vote KEEP IT...and resize another one down for Dorcas. Lots of time until Christmas!
12/4/09 7:56 PM
moushka said...
Great jacket and the zipper is perfect! You definitely need some of the violet fleece, it sounds awesome.
12/4/09 9:42 PM
HLT said...
Lol! Made me laugh! Hmm. Good zipper tip! Great color on you! And a great gift!
12/4/09 10:01 PM
ukdame said...
I am midst sewing a vest fleece for my DH using Simpicity 2480. He is tall and likes very loose jackets. The XL is coming out humongous ): I added another layer of coordinated fleece to line with, so this s.....is going to be very heavy..ha. Good tip on the zipper part. I wil try it.
12/4/09 10:02 PM
fourkid said...
Very nice - I have done two fleece hoodies for my kids - it is easy to work with for the most part (I always suffer angst at the collar/hood portion). I leave the seams raw - they will not ravel (except at the collar/hood portion - I cover that with twill tape.) Thanks for the zipper tip - I will have to try that for my next jacket! *What not to do - on the 1st hoodie I used a pretty satin to line the hood and pockets - mistake - looks great - butthey are not warm enough. Like you, I used flannel on the 2nd one and that worked great.
12/5/09 7:56 AM
Diane E said...
I sure did enjoy reading this review. Here are a few random thoughts: the jacket is wonderful and Dorcas will love it (assuming you give it up, and who could blame you if you didn't); maybe Metro blasts Limbaugh to keep the store traffic flowing (eek); Wonder Tape is the goddess's gift to sewists, along with Steam-a-Seam lite (no affiliation blah bah de blah blah).
12/5/09 11:30 AM
Peter in NYC said...
OK, here's the deal: I think I really do have to give this hoodie to Dorcas. I'll keep the penguin and snowflake version and maybe do something else with the 7+ leftover yards. Maybe a muff for Cathy?
12/5/09 11:48 AM
CynthiaSue said...
At first I thought you were kidding.. Making fun of sewing with fleece and using the name ,"Dorcas" .. Because you know it sounds like,well,"Dorcas". But after seeing the full photo shoot(love that it's all you and only one picture of "Dorcas" BTW) I can see this jacket is quite RTW and I so need workout jackets for the gym and I would love to have a use for the walls and walls of fleece on sale at Hancock fabrics all the time. That yoke line and your changes really make it sporty. So off I go to get pattern and....the F-word, Fleece!
12/27/09 0:32 AM
FreyaStark said...
It's fabulous. Lucky Dorcas.
12/27/09 2:34 AM
Paris75008 said...
Lovely!
12/27/09 6:18 AM
carolynw said...
Lucky Dorcas - it's lovely!!
12/27/09 9:49 AM
colorkitten said...
Thanks for the update! Dorcas looks great in it. With the pattern going on sale next week I think I've got no excuse for not trying it! Maybe I'll even try and take a day off to suffer through the Limbaugh at Metro and get some lovely fleece myself!
12/27/09 10:55 AM
Annette1 said...
YES IT DOES look great on her! A perfect fleecy fit, too. I know she'll really enjoy wearing this cozy little jacket.
12/27/09 3:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Simplicity 7236

photo
by: crazygrad

Review
Vogue Patterns 1317

photo
by: loti

Review
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now