Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5145 (Misses Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 485 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:susiestitcher
photo
Friend of PR
About susiestitcherstar
GA USA
Member since: 1/25/08
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/7/09 7:15 AM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sara The Slayer said...
Lovin the coat, but now worrying that a coat is WAY beyond any future skill level I may achieve.
12/7/09 7:56 AM
Immelu said...
That is fantastic! I don't think it looks too young at all! In fact, I think it looks like it was made for you! ;)
12/7/09 8:13 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful coat! That pattern is perfect for your build too. Thanks for a very helpful and inspiring review.
12/7/09 8:13 AM
Christas said...
What a wonderful review! The coat is beautiful and definitely not too young of a style. You look great in it!
12/7/09 8:43 AM
RLL said...
Soooo attractive! I love it. Too young...no such thing! You did a wonderful job and what a great review. And you are right, we (I am in the Lawrenceville area) don't have a lot of very cold days, but there are a few and it is nice to have a beautiful warm coat.
12/7/09 8:53 AM
Elke said...
Lovely coat ... looks fabulous on you. Thanks for the terrific review!
12/7/09 8:54 AM
KarenJeanette said...
Keystone Kops!! HaHa. Love the coat and great review
12/7/09 9:44 AM
Patti B said...
What a magnificent coat! It is so elegant and timeless. I feel your pain on lining puzzlement -- that's how I usually feel about linings! Your review is terrific and the additional photos are very helpful.
12/7/09 10:08 AM
carolynw said...
I just love your coat - every second of time and thinking you put into producing this shows - it is just so lovely and eye catching. Too young - not at all - wear it lots!! Terrific review
12/7/09 10:18 AM
craftylady66 said...
It looks wonderful on you! I'm an Atlanta resident as well, so if I happen to spot this coat, I'll know that it's you and will be sure to let you know that I'm a fellow PR member! You wear it well!
12/7/09 11:26 AM
homejewel said...
I L.O.V.E. your new coat - the details, the buttons, and lining. It looks great with your beautiful silver hair. Great job and fun review!
12/7/09 12:25 PM
valerie sews said...
What a beautiful coat. I love the structure of this pattern and I love the colours you used to bring this out. It looks great on you.
12/7/09 2:42 PM
Elona said...
Marvelous, helpful review, and funny as heck! Thank you for all the terrific details.
12/7/09 3:09 PM
BJ1400 said...
Very good review & a beautiful coat!
12/7/09 3:54 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a beautiful coat! And I love the fun way you accessorized it! Looks great!!!
12/7/09 7:51 PM
sfshaza said...
LOL! You are TOO funny! What a great review, fun to read. I love this coat on you. It's classic, but snappy with the red detailing. It looks like a perfect fit and I love that lining. Kudos.
12/7/09 8:19 PM
lamstu said...
A charming review, a beautiful coat. Definitely not too young at all. Enjoy your coat and get some cedar balls for the closet to drive off the moths. :)
12/7/09 10:45 PM
susiestitcher said...
Thanks, everyone, for your encouraging comments. I am happy to hear that you don't think my coat is too young for me. My hair started turning silver at age 13, with a lovely skunk streak, progressing to all over silver in my 30's. So I sometimes forget how ridiculous I must look to others when I wear certain things. I never used to think about it but...when I see photos, oh my! The coat was a great adventure and I learned so much. Sara, don't be afraid. Just take the plunge because you never know what you can do until you try.
12/8/09 0:58 AM
Kayseri said...
Terrific looking coat.
12/8/09 2:36 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Most helpful review!!!!Lovely coat.
12/8/09 6:54 AM
tess said...
Wow what a beautiful tailored classic coat, really impressive and a great review, thank you!
12/8/09 7:36 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Susiestitcher, 30 years ago when I was in nursing school, we did wear a navy cape with red trim. However, your sharp coat looks nothing like my nursing cape. Your coat is classic with a modern surprise lining and I love it!
12/8/09 5:17 PM
DorothyK said...
You did a splendid job on this terrific coat. I love the red accents. It's a great style for you.
12/11/09 3:18 PM
Myllil said...
Stunning! Susie stitcher you're an inspiration. I've had this pattern for over a year now and break out into a sweat with fear and dread over my first lined coat but then the gorgeous lines of this coat and the successful reviews are enticing me. I will print out your review as a handy reference. Thank you.
1/28/10 3:15 PM
CPhT said...
Love the coat, and love the review even more. You put as much time into the pics and descriptions as you did the sewing. Excellent job on both, and thanks so much for sharing!
2/25/10 8:30 PM
Heatherrique said...
Magnificently gorgeous coat on you! Thanks for a very helpful review.
3/6/10 12:30 PM
Olivia Sews said...
I was looking for your jeans review and found this one! What a beautiful coat! It's great that you were able to make a long coat with that much yardage. The red trim and buttons really dress it up.
3/13/10 5:19 PM
Robin Denning said...
Your version of this pattern is spectacular. The fit is so nice, as are all the details and trim. Well done!
8/8/10 3:03 PM
MollyApple said...
I love the military styling and contrast piping, a beautiful piece of work! I've been reading the other reviews tempted to get this pattern, your coat just cinched the deal for me!
9/15/11 10:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-120 Zip-up top
photo
Review by meggipeg on 4/2/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2443
photo
Review by ImListenin... on 7/12/10
Read Review

McCalls 5721 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5721 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1787 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Simplicity 1787 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us