Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1409 (Madison Avenue Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2178 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Jackie M
photo
About Jackie Mstarstarstar
MN
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/24/04 9:40 PM
Last Updated:2/24/04 9:44 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jackie M said...
With every review I add, I keep hoping I'll get one of those yellow stars by my name. I know there's some secret algorithm that Deepika's developed for the star ratings, based on total reviews by other members and similar ratios, but I'm beginning to think I'll never earn a star. Sigh. I guess that means I'll have to keep sewing and buying fabric ... ;)
2/24/04 9:49 PM
Mollykat said...
You look great in the dress! Really like your technical comments.
2/24/04 10:14 PM
Ann Smith said...
It looks terrific. I think it's time for me to get this pattern out of the holding zone.
2/24/04 10:32 PM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Looks great!!! I should check into this pattern ...
2/24/04 10:43 PM
MaryBeth said...
Jackie, I like this dress on you better than the pattern photo. I had no, zip, ziltch interest in it until I saw your photo. So ladylike and pretty. I think the idea to just bind the neck sounds good, too. I'll give you a positive rating so that it will tally up to "stardom" for you, how's that?
2/25/04 1:51 AM
kathi s said...
Very classy looking dress! The perfect "little black dress" to have in your wardrobe! Looks great on you.
2/25/04 6:45 AM
Deepika said...
Jackie your dress is gorgeous! Thanks for reviewing it. The algorithm for stars depends on 3 things - a) How many of your reviews have been rated helpful and very helpful, b) How many people have you in their favorites list and c) The number of reviews you've written. I am pretty sure you'll get a star soon :)
2/25/04 7:06 AM
jlg said...
Very becoming on you. One of my favorite things about this pattern is how flattering the skirt falls. Like Mary Beth, I think that it is very ladylike.
2/25/04 7:27 AM
Doris Stewart said...
I, too, like your dress better than the pattern photo. I just may have to add it to my wish list. Thanks for the great review :-)
2/25/04 8:05 AM
LindaB said...
You look Fabulous ! I hope you enjoyed your special dinner, as you gave us a wonderful review. Thank you.
2/25/04 8:18 AM
Aunt Cathy said...
Jackie, your dress is very, very pretty on you. You did a fabulous job. Very nice work.
2/25/04 12:25 PM
AuntieShel said...
Jackie, What a beautiful dress--you look stunning in it. I've been sold on it by the other reviews, and your dress makes me want to start right away! Thank you.
2/25/04 12:25 PM
JDpenelope said...
3 Yellow stars from me! Love your basic "eggplant" dress. Have had my eye on this pattern, too, and will refer to this review for your helpful tips when/if I get it!
2/25/04 1:07 PM
Sammie said...
Absolutely Fabulous! You look like a million dollars in this dress.
2/25/04 2:56 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
I think I need this pattern! Your version of this dress is very flattering! Definitely a gold star dress!
2/25/04 3:47 PM
cindyann said...
That is sooo pretty. You look wonderful.
2/25/04 5:30 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I like your "sleeve" treatment better. I can't wait to see your spring and summer versions as this one is a knock-out. Of course, that cute figure of yours really helps! (Cute shoes too.)
2/25/04 10:24 PM
Tini said...
soo pretty!!
2/26/04 3:35 AM
sewingdemon said...
This looks stunning on you! Thanks for including a picture:)
2/29/04 5:04 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This is a great looking dress on you. Your review was very helpful. I've added this pattern to my wish list, but I am not slim and trim as you or the models and not sure the dress would come out the same. Hope you enjoyed your dinner and I am sure you got lots of compliments on your dress.
2/29/04 7:19 AM
chocobar said...
Where do you all find these Textile Studio patterns? Any online shops? I LOVE this pattern, and your dress is lovely on you.
3/16/04 10:33 PM
Jackie M said...
, I got this pattern from thesewingplace.com. Patternshowcase.com also sells it; I'm sure you could find more by Googling the name of the pattern ...
3/17/04 10:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Burda 8294
photo
Review by Jane S on 10/27/10
Read Review

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Home Sweet Home Pillow
photo
Review by Sew Nanny on 12/12/08
Read Review

Vogue 1240 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 1240 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4027 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4027 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us