Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
You Sew Girl: BO831 (Carry All) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 400 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Ripple Dandelion
photo
About Ripple Dandelionstar
NC USA
Member since: 9/23/06
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/8/09 5:15 PM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $22.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HLT said...
This is really great! The leather looks so rich and well sewed. I think that you went beyond the patterns expectaions! The great thing about a metallic bag is that it basically goes with everything. Glad your Juki made it through!
12/8/09 7:29 PM
jannw said...
I'm really sorry now that I didn't get some of that leather..beautiful bag..very now in the sizing
12/8/09 8:08 PM
marec said...
Really beautiful with its elephant lining and metallic leather. I love it.
12/8/09 9:13 PM
Leora said...
Perfect size bag for you. Yes, I like the metallic leather! Beautiful.
12/9/09 2:29 AM
FreyaStark said...
It certainly is a big bag, but it should be useful. The colour is wonderful, and will no doubt go with lots of things. Well done.
12/9/09 5:08 AM
voet said...
This is a great review. You did a wonderful job. The details (buckle and lining) really go well with the metalic leather. My guess is that you would pay several hundred dollars for this bag in a store. One suggestion if you ever decide to sew leather again, Kathryn Brenne has an excellent DVD that give tips for sewing with leather. I usually look at it before each leather project I tackle.
12/9/09 9:18 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW..I can't believe you made this - it is really nice. :) Good job.
12/9/09 10:40 AM
digs57 said...
I love this coppery leather, not surprising since I have two pieces of the same stuff waiting for my attention. I'm curious, how many pieces did you need to make this utterly gorgeous bag? Bravo on the very practical pockets inside.
12/9/09 12:36 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Thank you all so much! voet, thanks for the tip about Kathryn Brenne. I looked up her DVD and I'm thinking of ordering it. digs57, it took two and a half of the skins (remember how they were 2 for $20 or something?). I had bought six, I believe. Three had already been used on other projects. I had a small amount of goofs. Without those I probably could have gotten it out of two. The skins I had were quite usable, without a lot of blemishes in the central areas.
12/9/09 4:27 PM
j222b said...
Nice, I like the review, your metallic leather, your buckle idea and the lining. I think the bag would look a bit smaller, too.
12/11/09 4:20 PM
AmandaW said...
It's is a good feeling when something that you have been putting off for ages turns out so great. I love your version of this bag in leather.
12/18/09 3:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Kwik Sew sewing for toddlers
photo
Review by Karen Bowe... on 4/20/03
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3644 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3644 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8151 Pattern ( Size G-H-I-J )
Vogue 8151 Pattern ( Size G-H-I-J )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2938 Misses top
photo
Review by HawkeMorni... on 11/3/09
Read Review

Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Perfect Polo Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Perfect Polo Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Runaround Bag
Runaround Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us