Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5079 (Twist on the Twist Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 474 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/11/09 10:41 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
I'm not seeing saggy boobs or prominent tummy at all! I think the dress looks very fresh and summer-y. Love the print.
12/11/09 11:01 AM
Carolyndh said...
I agree with Pterion! I like the dress on you and think you look perky and sassy (in a good way). Great spring and summer frock...glasses are cute with it too.
12/11/09 11:16 AM
sewtime said...
Very cute!! And I agree with the above comments!
12/11/09 12:56 PM
Mufffet said...
This looks great. I too see no problems! If this is bad, I wish I looked this good! HAHAHHAA....you are a sewing whirlwind for sure.
12/11/09 2:35 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks cute!
12/11/09 2:38 PM
FreyaStark said...
I agree with Pterion, too. The dress looks pretty to me. I hope you keep wearing it. Remember, other people won't necessarily notice what you think of as faults.
12/11/09 3:49 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
I'm going to join the chorus and say that I think this looks cute on you! especially with the matching glasses.
12/11/09 4:08 PM
Em's Summer said...
I totally agree that this dress looks cute on you. I especially love the fabric!!! The print is TDF and that color looks really good on you.
12/11/09 6:31 PM
Christine B said...
I agree with the gang - the swirl design is bold and busy enough that the eye isn't drawn to your midsection, at least not long enough to register anything "off" - not that I can see, anyway. I think you are being a bit too critical about yourself. :-)

For what - maybe $10? - it looks pretty impressive to me. And your review (as usual!) is wonderfully detailed - always a pleasure and truly infomative to read.
12/11/09 10:11 PM

becca a said...
I agree with the other commenters--you look great in this dress. I don't see the saggy boobs or the belly emphasis in these photos. My first thought on seeing the picture was how flattering--it makes her waist look so small.
12/12/09 7:38 AM
Fran G said...
Very cute on you! You should start a line of "Nice Girl" patterns..you always find such flattering styles. Which dress do you think of as being your all time favorite/most flattering? I am in need of a bit of tummy disguising and always thought that fuller dresses accentuated..but certainly not on you. Love your LB birthday dress, but it may be a bit too bare for me. Any guidance?
12/12/09 9:16 AM
OP Gal said...
I think the dress is darling. I can't detect any saggy boobs or prominent tummy in the pictures, they must be visible in reality.
12/12/09 9:33 AM
Sic said...
I am so sorry this pattern didn't work out for you, but from the photos you look actually quite cute in your dress.
12/12/09 9:42 AM
sewnsewtoo said...
Sorry this didn't work for you. For what it's worth, Ithink it looks great on you.
12/12/09 4:16 PM
yummymummy38 said...
while I see nothing wrong with this dress, we are our own worst enemy. Why would we wanna wear anything that was less than flattering, if we can make something that makes us feel fantastic? We've all had that feeling that we'll just wear it a few times and get rid of it... btw I love your reviews, the way you put in tips and especially the photographs and styling. Your reviews are a highlight!
12/15/09 6:40 AM
strongnow said...
I think you are being too hard on yourself. However, I appreciate all the information you provide. I also followed the link to your Flickr site and got so inspired. Thank you.
1/10/10 4:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 2864
photo
Review by GoodbyeVal... on 6/26/13
Read Review

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7872
photo
Review by Lhan on 4/28/06
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1543 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 1543 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5872 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5872 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us